We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Galway
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Orange, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal location, great rooms”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Nice, large rooms with comfy beds, spacious bathrooms w/really good showers. Excellent location, close to pedestrian shopping street and other Galway highlights. Second visit to this hotel (first was 2009) and both times it was a great stay. Dinner at the hotel was average but the Irish breakfast was very good.
The scene in Galway kept me out late and had me off & running early so I didn't get to enjoy the bed long enough and can't say I spent enough time in the hotel proper to experience many services but I like this hotel and would choose it again on future visits to Galway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Aberdeen HS
Thank you for your review and your kind words, It was good to see you stay with us again. Yes with our location in Galway City and being so close to Quay Street you would nearly need a holiday afterwards there is so much to see and do in Galway. I hope your trip back to California was a good and safe one.
Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel for a third time.
Best regards
John Gannon
The Manager
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    226
    162
    56
    38
See reviews for
84
227
44
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were booked here as part of a package. It's a great location. You do have to pay for parking which is unfortunate but they have worked out a deal with a public garage that is about 5-7 min. walk from the hotel and charges guests 10 euros a day. The beds are hard for my taste so know that if you have back issues. BUT, the service is good, the continental breakfast is just that and serves just fine. Overall this was a much better hotel than I expected when we first pulled up. There is even a visitor center right across the street in the park.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bschoenherz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear bschoenherz
Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Parking in Galway City is a problem for all hotels in the City Center and there are two car parks that we all use which offer the discount rate of €10 for 24 hours. I was impressed to read that you felt we had exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our Continental Breakfast and good service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel soon.

Best regards
John Gannon
The Manager
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

we stayed at the imperial for three nights, this is a lovely hotel the rooms are big as are the beds and the bathrooms, as we had a room overlooking the square the view was wonderful, galway is a lovely city and the imperial is a lovely hotel so we hope to return as soon as we can,

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking eyer square,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noreen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Noreen K
Thank you for your review I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a great location right on Eyre Square and I am glad you enjoyed the view of it from your bedroom.
Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel.

Best regards
John Gannon
The Manager
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel in August 2013. Great central location. It was great value for the peak season with some guesthouses charging double the amount. The rooms were clean and very spacious, they were a little outdated. The breakfast was not great, average, they charged extra for a cooked breakfast. There is a lovely seating area looking directly down on Eyre square. The bar area is really nice. The carvery food is lovely. I would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa05_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Lisa 05_12
Thank you for your review I was delighted to read that you found us great value and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great right on Eyre Square with all that Galway City has to offer on our doorstep. I was also delighted to read that you found our rooms to be clean and very spacious and how you enjoyed the residents lounge on the first floor. I will pass on your comments to the Head Chef with regards the Carvery and I was also glad to let the bar manager know that you enjoyed the bar area.
Thank you again for your feedback as always your review will be posted on our staff notice board and we look forward to welcoming you to the Imperial Hotel again soon.
Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level 6 Contributor
483 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed for one night at the Imperial Hotel in Galway (a Thursday)

It's about a five minute walk to the railway and bus stations and less than a minute to walk to the main shopping street.

A continental breakfast is provided free of charge or you can pay 5 Euros for a hot breakfast.

The room was very large with an ensuite bathroom, free wifi and tea / coffee facilities.

We found the rooms to be clean but may be a little tatty around the edges - but generally good.

The sleep quality depends upon which member of our group you speak to.

Personally I slept really well and never heard a thing. Another person's hearing aid broke and they slept on their good ear and also never heard anything.
My wife heard the dripping cistern in the toilet all night and some sort of faint alarm.
The final member of the party (in another room) was entertained by some sort of nightclub very close to the hotel with people partying and making a noise all night. When the revellers finally decided to go home the bin men and cleaners arrived outside and they never slept a wink all night. So it's hit and miss as to which room you are allocated.

Room Tip: Nothing overlooking the road with the post office on
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Skeldergate
Thank you for your review and as always it will be posted on our staff notice board. I was delighted to read that you found our location ideal we have a great location right on Eyre Square and that you found our rooms very large and clean. I was also glad to read that you had a good night sleep with regards to the final member of your party if they had contacted reception we might of being able to move them to another room.
Thank you again for your feed back it is always welcome.
Best regards
John Gannon
The Manager
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location on Eyre Square really in the heart of town so ideal to explore the town from. The hotel has an old, rather tired feel to it with dated furnishings and gloomy lighting but is clean and the staff are friendly and efficient. The room was a good size and the bathroom was ok except for the shower which really sprayed in every direction. You had to pay extra for a cooked breakfast (the continental one was good enough though), the bar was reasonably priced even if the rooms seemed expensive for what was on offer

Room Tip: Higher up is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ric399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Ric 399
Thank you for your review and yes I would agree with you we have a great location right on Eyre Square. As regards the shower if you had rang reception we could of got someone to have a look at the shower for you. Because the building dates back to 1810 we are restricted as to what we can do with regards lighting but I appreciate the feedback. I was glad to read that you enjoyed our continental breakfast and that it was substantial.
Thank you again for your review and as always it will be posted on our staff notice board.
Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Booked two rooms here for five girls, our rooms were very spacious and spotless, as i am a light sleeper i had requested a room away from the front of the hotel which is noisey, our rooms were to the back and very quite.Continental breakfast was lovely.This hotel is perfect as its right in Eyre's Sq, and every thing you need is in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Seanine 5
Thank you for your review I was delighted to read that you and your 4 girl friends enjoyed your stay with us. It is always great to read that you found our rooms spacious and spotless and I have conveyed this to our Housekeeping team. Good also to read that you thought our Continental Breakfast was lovely and as regards our location I don't think you would get better right on Eyre Square.
Thank you again for your review and as always it will be posted on our staff notice board.
Best regards
John Gannon
The Manager
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 46 in Galway
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#33 of 46 in Galway
570 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#34 of 46 in Galway
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Galway

Property: Imperial Hotel Galway
Address: 35 Eyre Square | Galway City, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits all visitors to the Imperial Hotel, with it's impressive location on Eyre Square in the Heart of Galway City. Within walking distance of the Train/Bus Station and Galway University(NUIG).The Imperial Hotel Galway City is the height of modern comfort. Every care has been taken to ensure guests feel right at home. We are the gate way to all that the West of Ireland has to offer with day trips arranged from the reception of the hotel. We offer a great selection of Accommodation types to suit all of your needs from rooms to accommodate 2 to 4 people. Excellent food is served in our Bar/Restaurant from 10am till 9pm. A short walk from the Imperial Hotel will bring you down the winding streets of Galway City onto the water front of Spanish Arch and the Claddagh region with plenty of shops/pubs & Restaurants on the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing