We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Imperial Hotel Galway
Nearby Hotels
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Connacht Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clayton Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Menlo Park Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Flannery's Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maldron Hotel Galway(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
159
242
182
62
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
242
182
62
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfasteyre squaregreat locationcold meatstrain stationcentral hotelyour doorstepfirst floorroom was largecar parkarts festivalbit datedhen partya lovely staylovely hotelyogurtpubs
Filter
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

While the staff was REALLY helpful and nice, the hotel itself was just so-so. The restaurant/bar downstairs looked dingy and dirty and the hotel lobby seemed more like a hostel. The rooms were clean enough, but the walls were paper thin. If your neighbor so much as whispered, you could probably hear it. Would not recommend it if you intend to get any sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one (if there is a such a thing?!)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MN_Traveler_3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Mn_Traveler_3333

Thank you for your review I was glad to read that our staff were really nice and helpful. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy our restaurant & Bar but we can't please everyone we have over 200 people both drinking and dining in our Bar / Restaurant every day.
Thank you again for your review as always it will be displayed on our staff notice board.

John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is at a great location in the centre of everything in Galway, try and book a room with the front window view, you see life on the square all night, its a lovely experience and especially I am told at and around Christmas. The hotel is tired but this is well made up for with the lovely staff they are very friendly and very obliging. A hotel for a business trip or a nice non expensive stay in the heart of Galway.

Room Tip: Seek a room with a view in the front of the hotel, if you prefer it quieter ask for a room not at the front
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susancc737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Susancc737
Thank you for your review I would have to agree with you our location is excellent right in the heart of Eyre Square and it is wonderful at Christmas time as we have the Christmas Market to look onto which runs from November 22nd till December 22nd. I was delighted to read that our staff were so friendly and obliging.
Thanks again and as always your review will be posted on our staff notice board.
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our room was very spacious and clean. The scenery from our room was not very appealing, however, because it was quieter than the rooms that had a view to the street. This hotel is right in the heart of the city and close to shopping and the train.

Room Tip: Rooms without a view are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Monica j
Thank you for your review I was glad to read that you found our bedrooms to be spacious and clean. As with all city center hotels it is hard to get a room with a view that is the price you pay for being a stones through away from all of the attractions that Galway City has to offer.

Thanks again for your review it will be displayed as always on our staff notice board.
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Had an excellent stay here, the hotel was conveniently located on eyre square, staff were nice, food was good, bar was good. We had one issues where our door stopped working (key card) however management fully resolved this. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to get-away to Galway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Dara G
Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the problem with your room key was resolved quickly.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel again.

John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great location. Friendly staff and good food. Stayed here with family, location couldn't be more central, a stone's throw from all the bars. Great continental breakfast, plenty to choose from. It can be noisy late at night but if you get a room to the back of the hotel you should be fine.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank MacPro145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear MacPro145 thank you for your review I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great I would have to agree with you and I am very glad that you found our staff and food to be so good.
As always your review will be displayed on our staff notice board.

Thanks again
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews