We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Galway
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Tulla, Co. Clare
2 reviews
“Very disappointing stay”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed in the Imperial Hotel Galway on Dec 7th and was very disappointed - on arrival the room was cold I had to ring reception 3 times before the heat came on, I then decided to have a shower to warm up and to my disappointment the fixed soap dispenser in the shower was empty. I did email the hotel with my disappointment and to date I never heard back from them. It cost me 99 euro B&B which is difficult enough for me to gather and I really would expect to be treated with a little comfort.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wildrose21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Wildrose 21
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and to date I have not being able to find your email. We did have a hot water problem on the evening of the 7th December which we called in the plumbers who assured me that the problem had being fixed. I do apologise for any discomfort this may have caused.

Thank you again for your review

Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    211
    153
    56
    37
See reviews for
78
217
36
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Just stayed for 1 night and thumbs up for friendly staff, nice breakfast and super location, ideal for shoppers ( to deposit bags during the day! ) and beside christmas markets and close to all restaurants and bars. Breakfast that included is continental is perfect with fruit,cereals, bagels, cold meats,eggs...
No the rooms arent brill and its a little old and could do with refurbishnent to bring everything to date. ..but its perfect for galway as there is so much to see and do very little time for hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Bedqueen

Thank you for your review delighted to read that you give the hotel the thumbs up. I would have to agree with you we have a great location right on Eyre Square in the heart of Galway City.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in 2014.

Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel located on Eyre Square in the centre of Galway, within walking distance of both train station and coach station.
Larger than average room, with good facilities. Breakfast was continental only, but there was adequate choice of pastries and cold meats etc.
Centrally located hotel at reasonable price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AntonyJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Anthony JS
Thank you for your review and I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and Galway City. It is always good to hear that you got value for money and that you found the breakfast to be satisfactory and the bedroom to be large and with good facilities.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you to the Imperial Hotel in 2014

Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTHERN IRELAND
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

First time we have gone to Galway and we and just managed to come when the christmas market had arrived. This was our first stay and would agree with all the positive reviews. We stayed in room 201 which had a full view of the square and at night the market christmas lights where an added bonus. I also believed there was no hot water but i found if you let the water run for a moment it will come to a sufficent tempature.I will return again but maybe when the weather is warmer when you can sit outside all the pubs and cafes. Stayed on 6th December

Room Tip: Try front rooms but these are always on demand
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear William B
Thank you for your review and I am delight that you enjoyed your stay with us and Galway City. It sure is a magical time when the Christmas Market comes to town. We hope to see you again in 2014.

Thanks again for your review

Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

There is no doubt the location of this hotel is its greatest asset. Right smack on Eyre Square it is perfectly located for exploring the sights of the city, its great nightlife an restaurants and the bay area and all the city has to offer.

However the hotel is very tired and in serious need of renovation. Its rooms are adequate and clean but the public areas look drab and very dreary. The bar is very badly laid out with little or no focus on atmosphere and with the bar tucked behind a pillar and a tv blaring in the middle. The staff are very helpful and polite despite the fact that when I asked where was good to eat the receptionist failed to mention the hotel's restaurant and its special offer of a meal and a drink.

The hotel has a lot going for it if the owners, whoever they may be, were prepared to spend a bit of money on much needed upgrades.

Room Tip: If you travel at the weekend make sure to get a room at the back as the noise on Eyre Square can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woosie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Wooise123
Thank you for your review I would agree with you we have a great location right in the heart of Galway City. Sorry for the delay in getting back to you as I was on holidays. I have taken your comments on board and have spoken to the reception staff about informing guests about our food service. From what I can make out on the night you were in the bar a football match was just over and that is why the TV was on.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in 2014
Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in this hotel 5 times this year while in Galway on business, but my last 2 stays were disastrous with only Luke warm water both in my shower and the sinks, i let it go on the first occasion but 2 in a row??.. I love the hotel, the rooms are excellent and staff very efficient also the location is fantastic, so maybe no harm to look into this water issue ? It won't stop me staying again ..Derek Murphy -- Dublin

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Derekd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Mr. Murphy

Thank you for your review and can I say sorry for not responding to you sooner. I have being on holidays. I have asked our maintenance man to look into the problem with the hot water and there was a problem with one of the pumps, but he has assured me that it has being replaced and this problem should not happen again.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you to the Imperial Hotel in 2014.
John Gannon
The Manager
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night, the two of us and our 11 year old son, the room was clean and lovely and warm, the staff were very friendly and helpfull, I had been warned when booking that it may be noisey as they had hen and stag staying the same night but we all slept soundly and heard nothing (we were at the back of the hotel), The contential breakfast was fine, we could have easily upgraded to cooked breakfast for 5 euro extra but were happy with what we had, no complaints here, for 99 euro for the three of us it was great value, I will definetly be staying here again :D

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Roisie

Thank you for your review I was glad to read that you found our bedrooms clean and warm and that our staff were helpful and friendly. It was also good to read that there were no complaints with the Continental Breakfast.

As always with all reviews this will be posted on our staff notice board and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel, Galway City.

Best regards
John Gannon
The Manager
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#30 of 45 in Galway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Galway

Property: Imperial Hotel Galway
Address: 35 Eyre Square | Galway City, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits all visitors to the Imperial Hotel, with it's impressive location on Eyre Square in the Heart of Galway City. Within walking distance of the Train/Bus Station and Galway University(NUIG).The Imperial Hotel Galway City is the height of modern comfort. Every care has been taken to ensure guests feel right at home. We are the gate way to all that the West of Ireland has to offer with day trips arranged from the reception of the hotel. We offer a great selection of Accommodation types to suit all of your needs from rooms to accommodate 2 to 4 people. Excellent food is served in our Bar/Restaurant from 10am till 9pm. A short walk from the Imperial Hotel will bring you down the winding streets of Galway City onto the water front of Spanish Arch and the Claddagh region with plenty of shops/pubs & Restaurants on the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing