We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, ok room, poor staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Galway
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Good location, ok room, poor staff!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel last night! When I arrived I couldn't believe my luck when it came to the location as it couldn't be more central! Went to the room then and would say that this was only ok. Kettle was broken, towels were tiny and I could hear every bit of noise from the next room!
Massive downside was the staff! As it was the weekend before Christmas town was packed and so I decided to come back to utilize the residents bar! I stood patiently at this for 10-15 minutes only to be completely ignored by a barman whose only interest was chatting up two girls at the end of the bar! I could see a couple standing there also irritated and shortly after they gave up on him doing his job so did I! Next morning then cleaners were hoovering outside my door very early for a Sunday!
If you are looking for a location hotel in Galway then this is perfect, if you want comfort or to be treated like a valued paying customer go elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Derek M

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read about your experience in the residents bar. I have spoken to all of the bar staff about how important our customers are to us all. I hope you will accept this apology for the bad service you received as it is not normal practice of the Imperial Hotel.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and can I wish you and yours a Happy New Year.
Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    214
    157
    56
    38
See reviews for
81
221
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in this hotel. The location is great and the rooms are very good value for money. They are warm and comfortable and spacious. The one downside to my experience at the hotel was the barman working in the hotel bar that evening, late on a Saturday night. We had called in for one or two after a dinner in the city and after standing at the bar for about ten minutes while watching the barman blatantly ignore us and chat up two women we decided to give up and left the bar. Extremely unprofessional, poor service. Hotel itself is fine and would stay again but the experience in the bar was unsatisfactory and completely unprofessional and rude.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Ianey85

Thank you for your review. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Imperial Hotel. I have spoken to all bar staff about how important our customers are to the hotel. I do hope that you accept this apology for any inconvenience this may have caused you and your group.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in 2014
Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulla, Co. Clare
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed in the Imperial Hotel Galway on Dec 7th and was very disappointed - on arrival the room was cold I had to ring reception 3 times before the heat came on, I then decided to have a shower to warm up and to my disappointment the fixed soap dispenser in the shower was empty. I did email the hotel with my disappointment and to date I never heard back from them. It cost me 99 euro B&B which is difficult enough for me to gather and I really would expect to be treated with a little comfort.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wildrose21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Wildrose 21
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and to date I have not being able to find your email. We did have a hot water problem on the evening of the 7th December which we called in the plumbers who assured me that the problem had being fixed. I do apologise for any discomfort this may have caused.

Thank you again for your review

Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Just stayed for 1 night and thumbs up for friendly staff, nice breakfast and super location, ideal for shoppers ( to deposit bags during the day! ) and beside christmas markets and close to all restaurants and bars. Breakfast that included is continental is perfect with fruit,cereals, bagels, cold meats,eggs...
No the rooms arent brill and its a little old and could do with refurbishnent to bring everything to date. ..but its perfect for galway as there is so much to see and do very little time for hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Bedqueen

Thank you for your review delighted to read that you give the hotel the thumbs up. I would have to agree with you we have a great location right on Eyre Square in the heart of Galway City.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in 2014.

Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel located on Eyre Square in the centre of Galway, within walking distance of both train station and coach station.
Larger than average room, with good facilities. Breakfast was continental only, but there was adequate choice of pastries and cold meats etc.
Centrally located hotel at reasonable price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AntonyJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Anthony JS
Thank you for your review and I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and Galway City. It is always good to hear that you got value for money and that you found the breakfast to be satisfactory and the bedroom to be large and with good facilities.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you to the Imperial Hotel in 2014

Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTHERN IRELAND
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

First time we have gone to Galway and we and just managed to come when the christmas market had arrived. This was our first stay and would agree with all the positive reviews. We stayed in room 201 which had a full view of the square and at night the market christmas lights where an added bonus. I also believed there was no hot water but i found if you let the water run for a moment it will come to a sufficent tempature.I will return again but maybe when the weather is warmer when you can sit outside all the pubs and cafes. Stayed on 6th December

Room Tip: Try front rooms but these are always on demand
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear William B
Thank you for your review and I am delight that you enjoyed your stay with us and Galway City. It sure is a magical time when the Christmas Market comes to town. We hope to see you again in 2014.

Thanks again for your review

Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

There is no doubt the location of this hotel is its greatest asset. Right smack on Eyre Square it is perfectly located for exploring the sights of the city, its great nightlife an restaurants and the bay area and all the city has to offer.

However the hotel is very tired and in serious need of renovation. Its rooms are adequate and clean but the public areas look drab and very dreary. The bar is very badly laid out with little or no focus on atmosphere and with the bar tucked behind a pillar and a tv blaring in the middle. The staff are very helpful and polite despite the fact that when I asked where was good to eat the receptionist failed to mention the hotel's restaurant and its special offer of a meal and a drink.

The hotel has a lot going for it if the owners, whoever they may be, were prepared to spend a bit of money on much needed upgrades.

Room Tip: If you travel at the weekend make sure to get a room at the back as the noise on Eyre Square can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woosie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Wooise123
Thank you for your review I would agree with you we have a great location right in the heart of Galway City. Sorry for the delay in getting back to you as I was on holidays. I have taken your comments on board and have spoken to the reception staff about informing guests about our food service. From what I can make out on the night you were in the bar a football match was just over and that is why the TV was on.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in 2014
Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 45 in Galway
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 45 in Galway
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#29 of 45 in Galway
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#32 of 45 in Galway
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Galway

Property: Imperial Hotel Galway
Address: 35 Eyre Square | Galway City, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits all visitors to the Imperial Hotel, with it's impressive location on Eyre Square in the Heart of Galway City. Within walking distance of the Train/Bus Station and Galway University(NUIG).The Imperial Hotel Galway City is the height of modern comfort. Every care has been taken to ensure guests feel right at home. We are the gate way to all that the West of Ireland has to offer with day trips arranged from the reception of the hotel. We offer a great selection of Accommodation types to suit all of your needs from rooms to accommodate 2 to 4 people. Excellent food is served in our Bar/Restaurant from 10am till 9pm. A short walk from the Imperial Hotel will bring you down the winding streets of Galway City onto the water front of Spanish Arch and the Claddagh region with plenty of shops/pubs & Restaurants on the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Imperial Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing