We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

I would just like to say we had a fabulous holiday in Galway (8-7-2013)
This is a great family hotel, very friendly and helpful. The food is great n entertainment is also wonderful.
It's also very close to the city centre and about 10 mins to salt hill.
We will definitely go back to stay at this hotel again.
Thanks for a great stay. Xxx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    454
    281
    125
    52
See reviews for
512
343
40
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

rooms are fine, staff are nice, location is very handy. The pool is wonderful.
On the negative the food was not good. over an hour waiting for bar food and then it arrived either luke warm or cold. Loads of uncleared tables and people walking out. The breakfast was horrid overcooked and luke warm and at over 10 euro a head an absolute rip off
I have given it a 3 for the staff alone but catering need some serious work

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twhDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We were very sorry to read that you had less than satisfactory dining experiences with us during your last visit.. We very fortunate that so many of our guests choose to dine with us during their stay and we would usually receive positive comments on both the quality and presentation of our meals and our service. In saying this, we aapologise that we failed to meet your needs during your last visit to us.

It is always very important for us to hear from our Guest's, as whether we receive positive or negative comments from our guests, we use their feedback to re-focus our Team on rectifying any breakdowns in our service and offering re-training of Team members where necessary..

We would be grateful of an opportunity to welcome you back to us, please feel free to contact me directly, should plan to make a visit to Galway again.

Kindest regards,


Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights last week and will definitely return. Although it was extremely busy we were looked after very well by all staff. Food in the bar was of high standard considering the numbers, would recommend the fish and chips. Our room was bright and spacious and spotlessly clean, we even had a balcony which was an added bonus as Galway was basking in sunshine during our visit.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GavO44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone, General Manager and all the Team here at the Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are always delighted to receive our guests feedback which is very important to us.

It was wonderful to read that your stay with us was so enjoyable and that the Team were helpful and friendly and that our facilities were to your satisfaction.

We look forward welcoming back to us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wicklow
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a clean Hotel suitable for families, good sized leisure center . As there are a lot of rooms, it would be advisable to book dinner as it does get busy. Food reasonably priced and value for money, not fancy but a good meal all the same. Rooms spacious, our room accomodated 2 adults and 3 children. We used this Hotel in transit to another resort further out of the city.

Room Tip: There are three bedroom blocks, A, B, and C, Block A is nearest to reception. arrive just before the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robboWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone, General Manager and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. and particularly that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

We are always delighted to receive our guest’s feedback which is very important to us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We recently stayed in a one bedroom apartment with our young daughter and found our 3 night stay to be a joy from beginning to end.
Our apartment was clean and spacious and despite overlooking the car park was very quiet and allowed our daughter to sleep til 8 each morning :)
Our towels were replenished in less than 5 minutes after calling reception on return from the lesser pool each day and I was very impressed by this service, particularly since I had concerns afterdeck reading a review pervious to our arrival.
We made our own breakfast on all but one morning and when we ate in the breakfast buffet it was satisfactory to good. I would not say brilliant because in comparison to the amazing bar food we experienced in the hotel it was just good.
Overall cleanliness excellent, food excellent, kids club facilities and activities excellent (although I would not leave my daughter there on her own), service excellent!!!
We will definitely be returning :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fourstarpreferred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone, General Manager and all the Team here at the Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time share your experience by writing your review.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay us.

We are always delighted to receive our guest’s feedback which is very important to us.

It was wonderful to read that you were looking forward to a return visit to us and we look forward welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We recently stayed for a weekend in this hotel with 2 very young kids. We stayed in a one bed family suite. The suite was really lovely and was so spacious, it had a great kitchen and living room which was ideal for us. The pool area was really lovely. The staff were exceptionally helpful to us. If I were to be picky, I would say that the breakfast wasn't my cup of tea but we will certainly be back. I don't know why its a three star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ash760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone, General Manager and all the Team here at the Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and particularly that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We are very pleased that you were impressed with our Leisure Club Facilities

We are always delighted to receive our guest’s feedback which is very important to us.
We hope that we can look forward welcoming you and your family back to us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed in hotel for a 2 night break in galway travelling to galways for many years since a child but this had to be the best time I've been down. Between a friendly arrival, lovely room and amazing leisure facilities. Live music both nights we were there (noteably we were there during midweek). had dinner in the restaurant on one of the nights and at the bar the second, both gorgeous food and such friendly staff! Highly highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dearbhlax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone, General Manager and all the Team here at the Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and particularly that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

We are always delighted to receive our guest’s feedback which is very important to us and helps us to monitor how we are performing at meeting and hopefully exceeding our guests needs.
.
We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
3.7 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
4.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Property: The Connacht Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing