We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good busy hotel on edge of town”
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good busy hotel on edge of town”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed as part of a large group on a stag, however the hotel would cater to families as well, hotel is very big and set up well to cater many types of groups. The weekend was extremely busy so we had to queue for breakfast on the Sunday morning. Food in the bar was just ok but great for a few drinks, good atmosphere. The pool and spa are great also addition. The hotel is just outside the town so great base, would recommend for a trip to Galway

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawther2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    513
    305
    139
    59
See reviews for
570
389
42
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here last weekend with my husband and my 2 & 4 year old. We had a lovely stay hotel was extremely busy and they had rugby team staying with created a great atmosphere. We had drinks in the large foyer first night kids had loads of space to play around. Had dinner in restaurant as part of our deal which was only ok. Breakfast time is up till 11am which was great as we had a swim beforehand it was very busy but then again it was 10.30 so to be expected. We got a seat within minutes and everything was self service which suited us as we could feed kids first without getting asked about tea/coffee before we even get cereal. Overall very happy and will definetely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscrea, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Recently stayed here for two nights. Staff very friendly, bar food was very good. Steak was done to perfection. Leisure facilities were good. Although hotel is a bit outside the city it suited us perfectly as easy driving access to Galway Clinic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SharonKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have stayed here on many occasions and the service is second to none, always welcomed with a smile (a smile really goes a long way) I stay in hotels alot and you would be surprised how sour some receptionists can be. The food is always perfect and hot (unlike some hotels located close by. I hope to be coming back really soon and ill be bringing my wife and kids to take advantage of the great swimming pool and other facilities. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alexanderbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pettigo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just back from yet another enjoyable stay at the Connacht. This hotel is really buzzing and was packed over the Halloween break. There was live music in the bar every night last week and the kids club ran every evening from 6:00pm til 10:30pm, many thanks to Donna & team for keeping the boys entertained! The staff are so friendly & helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Sincerest thanks to Thomas & all the staff for making our stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing ye all again on New Year's Day :)

Room Tip: The hotel also has one & two bedroom suites/apartments with separate living area & kitchenet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donegal43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel's location was not as centrally located as I'd have liked, but could have overlooked that if the service, and accomodations had been better,. From the outside it looked like a beautiful hotel and the lobby was very nice. However the front desk staff were not very friendly or accomdating. There was no porter service at check in. THey did have luggage trollies though. Upon going to our room we had to dodge the obsticle course of cleaning ladies who had towels,sheets and God knows what all over the floors and were sitting on the floors as well taking a break. We had to ask them to move so we coudl pass and they acted as though we were inconveniencing them greatly. I am in a wheelchair and my husband had a walker., Upon entering our room we were very disappointed. Room needs to be updated and was very small and cramped for a room that is supposed to be wheelchair accessible. The bathroom started out ok ,very accessible and had a shower chair.However when you used the shower, the whole bathroom flooded due to slow drain . This was reported to the front desk upon check out. They seemed unconcerned by this. Don't think we will stay here again in future visits. However on a positive note it was a very wheelchair friendly hotel, plenty of handicapped parking spaces right up front close to front door of hotel and ramps and wide door ways.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the beginning of the midterm break , it was fantastic stay .
Food was excellent on both nights, the bar has been refurbished since our last stay and really makes an impression. As per usual the staff were top class , I have been going to this hotel for years and if their improvements continue I will be going for many more .

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Patjoe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,097 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
351 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
3.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Property: The Connacht Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing