We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay”
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Hi folks stayed at this hotel i wrote a review but it seems to have gone missing. I really liked all my stays in this hotel their was a problem with breakfast sittings but my last stay there in the summer they had made great changes. I really loved the changes and made our stay very stress free, defo will be here again. Lots to do in the area and not to far from the city. lesuire centre was very good and very clean staff very friendly only porblem that i found, that you have to bring towel from your room to the pool and then ring reception for more towels, dont see why the lesuire cant hold the towels. Cinema close by and go-kart track 5 mins away.
Keep up the good work folks great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Damobut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone General Manager and all the Team at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank for giving us your feedback.

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us and are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future

Kind regards

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    468
    289
    125
    53
See reviews for
518
357
40
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I recently stayed in the Connacht with my wife and young child. I can't help but admire the hospitality and professionalism of the staff. Its not often the manager welcomes you personally as you check-in. Shay Livingstone (The Manager) told us of the many delights in Galway we should visit while taking into account we had a young child.
Rooms excellent and food, both breakfast and dinner were of the highest quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niall T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone General Manager and all the Team at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We just got back from a trip around Ireland, just the two of us and a rental car. We arrived on a Friday at 3:20pm at the Connacht Hotel with reservations for 4 nights. Check-in wasn't until 3:30pm and apparently, no rooms were ready for us. We waited in the lobby as a group of 6 children screamed and ran around playing hide and seek. For about an hour. We then checked in, saw the room, left for dinner, came back and the kids were still screaming in the lobby. Yeah, not for us. It's not the hotel, it's the clientele and it just wasn't for us.

The hotel location is close enough to the city to be almost convenient but is really too far without a car or walk to downtown or restaurants. On the plus side, parking is plentiful and we never had a problem getting a choice spot.

The room we were in on the ground floor and the WIFI was a little touch and go but when we had it, it was fast enough to stream netflix. The shower had good water pressure, the beds comfy, and we didn't hear any neighbors.

The 2nd day we returned to the room after a long day of driving that started at 8am and we got back to an unmade room at 4pm. Twenty minutes later, the maid knocked on the door. It seemed that housekeeping was just overwhelmed or understaffed. The next day was the same as it seemed that the housekeeping carts were just parked in the hallways all day long.

We ended up checking out a day early and driving to Athlone and staying there for the night instead of the room we had pre-paid for here. The hotel isn't that bad, it just needs some management.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stpauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time your write your review. I am sorry that there were aspects of your stay that were not to your satisfaction.

Our Accommodation Team work each day between either 9 am and 5 pm or 10 am and 6 pm.. Each Accommodation Assistant services their allocation of rooms between those times, giving each room their time and attention to ensure that room is cleaned to a high standard. It would therefore be part of a regular working day to finish cleaning rooms between 4 pm and 5 pm.

Our hotel is a family hotel, however, we are very fortunate to be one of the busiest hotel in the West of Ireland and we consider ourselves to be very lucky to be able to look after the needs of many different guests from our Corporate Clients, Honeymoon Couples, Large Groups to Families. I wish to apologise that you were disturbed by children playing in the lobby during your stay.

Either myself or any of the Team at the Hotel, would have been delighted to have spoken with you in person during your visit or at your departure regarding your feedback..

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and again we appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bray ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great hotel for all age groups, the food was good and reasonable price wise, the bar lounge was ideal for get togethers and was very cosy and lively , rooms were also very good and very helpful staff all over, will be back

Room Tip: Ask and you will be helped , we were
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dufdufBrayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone General Manager and all the Team at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank for giving us your feedback.

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your trip to our Leisure Club and I have sent your feedback with regard to your experience of the Leisure Club Team to the attention of the Leisure Club Operations Manager.

We hope that you will consider returning to us at some point in the future as we would be delighted to have the opportunity to demonstrate our high level of Customer Care throughout the hotel including the Leisure Club.

Kind regards,


Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I recently stayed in the newly refurbished Connacht Hotel, Galway and found the quality and service excellent. Its a great location for a business stay & with the lovely welcoming lobby and bar areas it provides a great location as a meeting point for clients. Located close to the city centre with ample parking and leisure facilities it ticked all the boxes for me. Breakfast provided plenty of choices and I will definitely stay in this location again and recommend to colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mooneyhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone General Manager and all the Team at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank for giving us your feedback.

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us and are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is not a 5 star Hotel. I would probably rate it a pretty solid three. The reason we stayed here was price, and for the money we came away satisfied. You get what you pay for, and in this case maybe a little bit more.

There is very good bus service into and out of the city so the location worked well for us.
The room as a little worn, but very clean. The only negatives were a heating system without a thermostat so you had to turn off the radiator and open a window if you didn't want to roast all night and paper thin towels (and very few of them as well).

Everyone at the front desk was very nice. Everyone in the Leisure Center and Pool thought guests were an inconvenience and clearly wished you didn't use it. Apparently they let locals use the facility for a fee and they considered them the paying customers not the hotel guests. Just when you begin thinking everyone in Ireland is very nice, you run into these exceptions to the rule.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomL_Philadelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone General Manager and all the Team at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank for giving us your feedback

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us and are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A fine decent standard hotel. No problems at all. Nothing exceptional either. Taxis from hotel to town centre cost approx €6 which is not bad at all. There is ample on site parking which is free for guests. A decent place to stay if you need somewhere in Galway.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank afternewflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone General Manager and all the Team at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank for giving us your feedback.

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us.

We hope that you will consider returning to us again in the near future.
.
Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
3.7 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
4.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Property: The Connacht Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing