We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Years experience”
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Galway
kerry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great New Years experience”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My girlfriends and I stayed here for New Years and it didn't disappoint. We had dinner in the restaurant, where we got fresh fish and steak (very nice and generous portion) followed by cocktails in the bar, since I stayed here nearly 1 year ago the bar has been completely revamped, we loved it. The bedrooms were clean and plenty of towels. I would highly recommend

Room Tip: The staff are very friendly and helpful so don't be afraid to ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank car0linesarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone, General Manager and all the Team here at the Connacht Hotel, I wish to express our thanks to you for sharing your experience by writing this review.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and that you like the refurbishments we have made to our Bar since your last visit.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Connacht Hotel, we appreciate your custom.

We look forward to looking after you again in a very near future.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    501
    299
    132
    58
See reviews for
554
379
42
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed in the hotel over the new year and found it ideal. Great atmosphere in the bar to get the night started and there was a taxi rank outside for when we were ready to hit the town. Rooms were very comfortable and although the corridors were long and there are a few different wings, we were well directed by the staff. Hotel was very busy but seemed well able to cope with the crowd. Breakfast was good too. Will definitely be returning.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mird2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone, General Manager and all the Team here at the Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your experience with us.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your last visit with us. We are very fortunate to be such a popular destination Hotel in such great city as Galway.

Our Buffet Breakfast is always a big attraction with our guests and I am glad you enjoyed it.

We look forward welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel last month, it was fab!! The staff were very helpfull and friendly, the room was very modern with all the facilities. I asked for a late check out which was no problem. The hotel is also very well located, with easy access to the city center. I would highly recommended this hotel if you are going to galway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of Shay Livingstone, General Manager and all the Team here at the Connacht Hotel, I wish to express our thanks to you for sharing your experience by writing this review.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful. It is great that you were able to enjoy a late check -out and we were delighted to be able to assist you with your request.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Connacht Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again in a very near future.

Kind regards,


Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Three of us, a group of close friends took in a stay in the Connacht Hotel in Galway for the New Year's festivities.

We booked at late notice with the hotel almost completely full but got a good price on a triple room which was large, well kept and very clean. We had an absolutely first-class stay in every way - the place was packed to say the least but everything ran very smoothly and the staff seemed to be used to dealing with the big crowds.

Service for food and drinks and breakfast etc was brilliant, there was a buzzing atmosphere in the bar with live music on both the 30th and 31st and the pool, spa, jacuzzi helped soothe the hangovers after both mornings.

Galway what a city - highly recommended!

TIP - Highly recommend the pizzas in the bar/restaurant - 14 inch would feed two of you and only €14

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivnarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of Shay Livingstone, General Manager and all the Team here at the Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are always delighted to receive our guest’s feedback which is very important to us.

It was great to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed and have recommended our Pizza’s and that you were able enjoy the relaxing facilities of the Leisure Club over your New Year's break away.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Spent last night in the Connacht Hotel Galway. It was a last minute decision. We availed of a very good room rate for a double bedroom at €98. The room itself was spacious and in good order. However our night sleep was interrupted by a constant low droning noise. We believed this to be the bathroom extractor which could not be turned off. We used the excellent leisure centre, large pool, and a nice Jacuzzi. We decided to try the hotel restaurant which is right beside the bar area. We figured the restaurant would be a bit quieter to enjoy our meal. However the furniture is tired and jaded and visibly dirty, the chairs are sagging and uncomfortable. The meal of fresh fish and chips + steak was good. But the house French Red was quite undrinkable. This was replaced without quibble. Highlight of the stay was getting BOD's photo with Mary after the Connacht / Leinster game. Breakfast orange juice thin tasteless. With a few small improvements this hotel could be a much better place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9Hostages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guests,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to share their experience and give us their opinions and suggestions.

We are sorry that there were some negative aspects to your last visit to us and we will certainly use your feedback to address the areas you have highlighted as less than satisfactory.

We do hope that you will consider returning to us at some point in the future, as we would be grateful of the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Connaught for 4 nights over new year with my wife and daughter. The room was uncomfortably warm with no thermostat control so we had to leave the window open day and night. The windows by the way were so dirty you really couldn't see out of them.

Also the beds were by far the most uncomfortable I have ever experienced badly in need of renewal. But that's only the beginning of it.

The staff were nice but the hotel is the worst managed I have seen in over 20 years of traveling. The lobby and corridors of the hotel was full of screaming kids completely unsupervised or controlled in any way by either parents or management. It was basically an overcrowded creche with the kids running up and down the corridors until 2am and even later whilst the parents got drunk in the bar. The parents then would be just as noisy on their return also.

We got very little sleep during our stay due to paper thin walls and returned home feeling exhausted.

The clientele also leave a lot to be desired with mobs of people consuming their own alcohol in the bar and reception areas and you just had a feeling that something was going to kick off at any time.

Don't get me wrong , I am no snob, I am from a rough part of Dublin but wouldn't have experienced anything like what I seen here in the Connaught anywhere in Dublin.
The management clearly have a lot of learning to do in the art of crowd control.

In conversation with one resident they said they had no heating in their room but couldn't complain to reception because there was 16 of them staying in the room.

Overall our worst hotel experience ever and will never recommend this hotel to anyone. What a waste of money.

Avoid !!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Robbietaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

I am very sorry that your last stay with us was a you described in your e-mail. It is unfortunate that I did not have the opportunity to speak with you either during your stay or prior to your departure regarding your dissatisfaction.

I would be grateful if you would be so kind as to contact me directly on my e-mail lpettit@theconnacht.ie or by calling 091 381200 and I will respond to you in person..

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Just back from 3 day trip with family to The Connacht Hotel. The facilities are very good and the children loved the swimming pool (once we coaxed them in) as there was a problem with pool heating which meant the pool was a few degrees colder than "normal". Our rooms were also very cold the first 36 hours but seemed to be OK after that (not sure if this was a related problem)

The star were also very helpful - when we pointed out the dishwasher in our Family suite was not working they did take the dishes away and replace then with clean ones (a pity we had to remind them each day as the family apartment suites are only cleaned once a week)

Our biggest disappointment was the general appearance/cleanliness of the hotel - I have stayed in many 3 and 4 star hotels and this was poorest yet. The chairs in the restaurant are worn and stained, the carpets in the hallway (at least of wing D) and the bedrooms are badly stained in places. Also for the three days we were the same litter (sweets papers, cokes cans etc) were on the stair wells and corridors. The toilets and changing rooms also show sign of wear with darkened grouting etc.

If you are looking for somewhere for the children to enjoy themselves then this is ok but a face lift of the general appearance of the hotel would just make it so much more appealing!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,903 reviews
4.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
328 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Property: The Connacht Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing