We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay.”
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Ballinasloe, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend stay.”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Connacht, and enjoyed everything about the place. The food was excellent, and later we sojourned to the bar where there was an excellent band, with a great crowd and a fine atmosphere. There was a barman shaking cocktails and he was nothing short of brilliant. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tuam90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    511
    305
    138
    59
See reviews for
568
389
42
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel twice with our young family. It caters very well for families with a leisure centre and kids club. It is a huge hotel and they seem to do a good job of keeping young singles/ hens etc away from the family rooms. They were very busy during our last stay and our dining experience in the bar was a bit of a disaster, there were very long delays but to add to this our order seemed to go awol as people who ordered after us were getting served before us! This was a nuisance with young children in tow. However we were not charged for the meal in the end. I would stay here again, but would prefer to dine in the city. We got taxis in & out to city centre as it is a bit of a walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Funmummy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Westmeath
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our second time staying here (once when it was a days hotel) . The check was fast and friendly, the room lovely - though personally my eyesight is poor so the lighting was not strong enough, the hotel a bit too warm though. The weekend we staye dth Galway Rally was on so the hotel was packed with alot of young people so a good athmosphere but made it noisy and crowded - I think it was just cos the crowd that one time though. Food was great and majority of staff lovely, though the bar staff had alot of people doing very little and when I asked to be served I was told they were busy - not the case as I was at the front of 4 people waiting to be served 10 mins! However... all staff were friendly and helpful. There was a party on the floor above us on the first night we rang reception cos we have small children and it was sorted in a about 15 mins. The Leisure facilities are great, we spent about 2 hrs a day in the hotel pool with all 3 kids... just lovely. The hotel is convient and close to walk to town but the bus stop is just at the gate and loads of Taxi too... Overall a lovely place just a busy weekend in Galway with events,

Room Tip: Ask to be in a quiet part with famalies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Got an email from Living Social about a voucher for €99 for two nights stay for two people, breakfast each morning, free main course each on one evening and late 2pm check out, bought the voucher and checked in the next day :) Our stay was brilliant, all staff are friendly, rooms are clean and the bed was soooo comfy :) On arrival we got room 1033, we had a problem with the window and the room was very cold so my boyfriend went to reception who was so professional and friendly, he changed our room straight away. Breakfast was disappointing, its a buffet served from 7.30 till 11, on our first morning we went down at 10.30, the food was dry and all the bread was hard so we went down after 9 on our last morning thinking it would make a difference but it didn't, nothing tasted nice. If staying in this hotel again we will skip breakfast :( On our first night we went to the bar for some drinks, at 2 minutes gone 9.30 I asked if I could order a sandwich as everyone was eating and the food looked delicious, lady serving said no as food stops at 9.30 but we could get it for room service, instead we went to reception where you can get the names of each Take Away that deliver to the hotel, got Jack Jordan's it was lovely. We decided to have our free main course on the second night in the hotel and that was YUMMY :) We had dessert and that was also YUMMY :) Food in the hotel bar is worth a try, it wont disappoint :) Hope to return to this hotel soon x

Room Tip: Our room was 1037, it was on the ground floor, very quiet and bed was so comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahHMoran87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

we decided to take a few day break and came across the hotel online and loved the look of it so we booked for 3 nites well I must say it was nice from the outside but inside was even nicer the bar is huge lots of setting and tables for ur meal if ur having bar food which I mite add was simply wonderful the rooms were nice comfortable bed and everything u needed the pool was good nice enuf size and the gym well everything u could ask for. It was only 5 min drive from the centre of galway and salthill beach was close by also. best hotel we stayed in cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dar265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We are just back from our weekend in de connaght hotel , there wer14 of us Inc the children and there was something for everyone kids club ,pool,gym and live music. We had a problem with the window in our room we sent for the manger she was prompt and very professional she changed our room and gave us an upgrade to a deluxe room which was fabulous. We later received chocolates and drink vouchers which was a lovely touch. I have to say the staff and manager were excellent and I will definitely be recommening this hotel to friends and family . Overall experience was great and the way our complaint was delt with was second to none , I did not get the mangers name but she was of foreign origin and was working the weekend of the 1st of February.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline Cazz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Thank you to all the staff at the Connacht Hotel, Louise was an outstanding added bonus to our stay. Nothing was too small or too big - she went beyond to accomodate us. The price was fab, the staff were fab, the food was scrumptous- would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,094 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
347 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.0 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#9 of 46 in Galway
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Property: The Connacht Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing