We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mini break”
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 27 February 2014

my girlfriend and i stayed at the connacht hotel on monday 24th feb for two nights, we had purchased a voucher on living social so it was a much needed mini break for both of us. all i can say was it was great value for money. the room was comfortable and clean. very nice restaurant and bar. it was busy for a monday and tuesday night. the bar staff were kept going. we had breakfast each morning and an evening meal on one night. great choice for breakfast. the leisure facilities were excellent..good gym, pool, sauna and steam room. the perfect job. only a few minutes drive into town. however go by bus as taxi prices are high. would stay again..no problem

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone, General Manager and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to express our thanks to you for sharing your experience by writing your review.

It was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found our hotel great value. We appreciate your positive comments.

We look forward welcoming back to us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have stayed here a few times with our 2 kids and have nothing but great things to say about the hotel. The family suites are excellent - very spacious with everything you need for a few days stay.

The kids love the kids club and the staff there are always very friendly, making a real effort to make sure the kids enjoy themselves. The only problem is convincing the kids to leave. The pool facilities are also top class with areas suitable for swimmers and beginners.

Breakfast is very good, but make sure you get down early (pre 9.30am) if you want to avoid the crowds at the weekend.

All in all - The Connacht Hotel is the perfect location for a visit to Galway and surrounding areas and all the staff make a real effort to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlatesXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for the mid-term school holidays so it was very busy, the hotel was clean and well maintained, the family room was very spacious which was great as we has 3 kids with us. It wasn't noisy at night which you would have expected but the familys seemed to be in one wing and the party goers in another. The kids loved the hotel as there was plenty for them to do. It's also very convenient to the town. The only downside to the hotel was the restaurant, was very busy, the first evenin we waited over an hour to be seated and only got the bar, the food was ok but nothing to write home about! We asked could we make reservations for the second night and couldn't the staff just told us to come down earlier and we'd get seated quicker! Again the food was ok! Overall the hotel was good just the restaurant needs attention and i would have gave it top marks.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Gc0982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have just come back from a 3 night stay in the apartments in the hotel. We stayed from Thursday the 20th.
First impressions, nice enough lobby, but it seemed so busy. Trying to check in was an event. It took over half an hour.
Then we reached our apartment, we were pleasantly surprised.
Clean, spacious, ideal for our two toddlers and my parents who also joined us.
Found the layout of hotel, and how to get to our apartment a bit of a trek. Especially with two toddlers and dad in wheelchair.
The main problem we had though, the water went off, there was no pressure, we could not flush toilet, no water coming out of taps.
We rang down to reception and notified them of the problem. A man came up and said he dealt with matter.
Fifteen minutes later, the same thing again, to which we rang down.
Then a lovely man came up, and said it was the boiler, that we would have no hot water for two hours next day.
We were offered to move, but with two toddlers, everything unpacked, a parent in a wheelchair it's not as easy as just moving.
We left the room next morning for the two hours as they were working outside on the matter.
Another problem we had The electrics kept tripping, especially in kitchenette area.

It is such a pity, and really took the shine of the place for us.
Considering my daughter had asked to go back for her birthday in April.

Maybe we were just really unlucky!!!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank orlamc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was surprised at how much I liked this place. Stayed for 2 nights. Used the leisure centre (gym) which was really clean and had great equipment compared to other places I have stayed lately. Bit out of town which would be annoying if you didn't have a car - but there is a bus stop right out front. Staff were friendly. Bar/restaurant has good food and always seemed busy with a good atmosphere. Lots of families and kids running around. Great value if you can get a last minute or alike deal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caitlin_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the Connaught Hotel at the beginning of February. The hotel is clean, spacious and staff were very welcoming. The guy in the bar who mixes cocktails is amazing. The pool and proximity to the city are also a great advantage. However, our evening was ruined by a crowd of drunken noisy stag do's which were allowed to literally take over the hotel, thus spoiling the enjoyment and disturbing the peace for other hotel users. A television was on all day turned up at full volume for the benefit of this group and was still blaring at 11.30pm. The noise was so bad, we were unable to eat in the restaurant which is adjacent to the bar. The Connaught really does need to remember it is a four star hotel and should not compromise other guests for the sake of a few quid from a group of drunken louts.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us by posting your review.

We wish to thank you for your positive feedback on many aspects of your stay with us which we appreciate.

We were very sorry to hear that your full enjoyment of your stay was disrupted due to noise from other guests in the hotel. Our staff do make every effort to monitor and address any noise or standards of behaviour which may impact on other guests.

We are always very happy to speak with our guests personally either during their stay or on their departure regarding their feedback.

If you wish to contact me directly regarding your comments, I would be delighted to hear from you. I can be contacted by e-mail on lpettit@theconnacht.ie.

We wish to thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you will consider returning to us at some point in the future.

Kind regards,


Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I purchased a voucher on Living Social for the Connacht Hotel, as a gift, I realised a few hours later that the voucher did not include a Saturday, I contacted the Hotel to see if I could purchase a Supplement to include a Saturday, the Reservation Clerk was not very helpful. In fact I was answered with a straight forward NO, I would say that this person was extremely rude, when I tried to say that the person I was purchasing the voucher for worked during the week, she then said “that's not my problem and that plenty of people have used the voucher mid-week” and she hung up the phone.
If the clerk had been a bit more helpful and more customer friendly I would in fact have paid the full Hotel price per room, as it was a special birthday present!!
In my professional capacity as a Tutor I would strongly recommend that this person needs a lesson in CUSTOMER SERVICE along with a lesson in Communications, as she is not doing your business any favours…

Kind regards

A Very Disappointed Customer

Room Tip: If you contact the reservations clerk and encounter the same problems I would advise you ask to spea...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us by posting your review.

I would very much appreciate if you would contact me directly either by e-mail on lpettit@theconnacht.ie or by contacting the hotel on 091-381200 and I will respond to you personally regarding your complaint.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,153 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
947 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,147 reviews
1 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Address: The Connacht Hotel Dublin Road, Galway H91 K5DD, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#11 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £51 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main access route to Galway City, The Connacht Hotel prides itself on its valued customer service to wide variety of clientele. From family breaks to active retired and lots in between. The Connacht Hotel is a family friendly hotel and has all you need for a break away with the kids. Supervised kids club, leisure facilities, family rooms or self-catering apartments, we understand that it's not only a break for the family but also a break for you. The club opens most weekends and during all school holidays from 9.30am-1pm & 6pm-10pm. The Connacht Hotel offers a range of purpose built conference rooms, with capacities ranging from 120 delegates to smaller conference rooms, ideal for boardroom style meetings. Free WiFi, projector and screen, flip-charts, water, stationery and mints are included. Complimentary parking is also available for all visitors. Active Fitness Leisure Club has 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing