We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - give it a try”
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good hotel - give it a try”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Connacht Hotel. Like others, after reading the mixed reviews, I was nervous about the hotel - but honestly, I would 100% recommend this hotel. Our room was ready when we booked in - no problems with reception - we met a very nice receptionist - as were all the staff over our stay, from the leisure center, to the restaurant and bar - all very friendly and helpful. The leisure center & gym are fine - pool is small though. Good gym with plenty of equipment. It's abaout a 20 minute walk from Eyre Square - we walked in both nights and got a taxi back our for approx. €9.00. On our walk in, we called into the Huntsman - nice for a speciality beer - food looked good too though. Back to the Connacht - breakfast was fine - basic but food was good quality and plenty of it.. We got a meal in the bar which, again we had no complaints about. The room was very spacious and bright. The only minor issues, if I had to find some is that the tap in the bathroom sink was dripping and the toilet did not flush very well. Also, the noise, which we think came from next door neighbours shower woke us around 7am. These are only minor things - I would stay in The Connacht again and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    499
    299
    132
    58
See reviews for
552
378
42
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having stayed in many hotels for work, it's not often that I come across a truly impressive hotel. But the combination of The Connacht's facilities, service and the late deal we received really make this place a fabulous find. I wish we'd stayed longer.

The family room we booked was spacious, the kids' club was great and the pool rather glamorous. It's certainly an ideal place for families but, with meeting rooms and free wifi, it's equally suitable for business travellers.

Although the facilities are certainly worth the money, what sets The Connacht apart from many other hotels is the service. Both check-in and check-out were certainly very efficient and friendly. However, my son had the misfortune to lose his mobile phone while at the hotel, although he wasn't absolutely sure he had left it there. A quick email to the hotel confirmed the phone had been found and was in safe-keeping, and they quickly arranged for it to be air-mailed back to us in England. Many thanks to Lourdes and the hotel team for quickly sorting this out for us.

There are plenty of positives for The Connacht, but there are also a couple of points worth bearing in mind. As one or two other reviews have stated, the hotel is quite a large complex and some of the rooms are quite a walk (~5 mins) from the main reception and about 7-8 minutes from the pool. When you do get to the pool, swimming hats are mandatory (so bring some with you or be prepared to buy them here). The changing rooms are also open plan, which can be a little difficult for solo dads with young girls.

Minor niggles aside, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank storuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to share your experience following your last visit to us by writing your review.

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, we are grateful for your very positive feedback and comments.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate you staying that it is "our service" that sets us apart.

We are also delighted that we were able to reunite your son with his mobile phone. Thank you for the personal mention given to Lourdes our Accommodation Manager for assist you with this.

We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you and your family again in the very near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very comfortable and well run it is looking a bit tired but then I guess it is just so busy things can get worn out quite quickly we booked one of the double rooms/apartments which was quite a far walk away from the main hotel which meant it was quiet butte felt a little cut off the TV was very dated and there was no smart phone docking station as to play some music before the girly night out would have been nice but all in all it was an enjoyable stay :) we didn't get to the bar or restaurant as we were out most of the day and night but is smelled very good :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cork77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My friend and I had a GrabOne voucher and we're absolutely delighted we chose to stay.
The staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. Our room was spacious, comfortable and extremely clean.
Even though the hotel was very busy we had no issues with noise.
The food was gorgeous and I really pigged out at breakfast time! The service at dinner was a little slow but that didn't bother us because we were on a relaxing break anyway.
The leisure facilities were great and the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were just the ticket for relaxation. I loved the Roman Baths theme and the wet area was very clean and we were provided with towels.
The Hotel is quite close to the city centre and there's a taxi area outside which is quite clever.
I will use this hotel again when I return to Galway. There's no better recommendation than that.
Well done to Management and staff on such a lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate you say that you found our staff to be friendly, helpful and professional.

Our Leisure Club is a great facility and we are delighted that so many of our guests enjoy their experience there as a you did,

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

an absolutely fantastic hotel to stay in, the staff were so friendly and helpful and i really wish i had more time here, the rooms were lovely and clean and beds were comfy, loved it completely more than happy to stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to share your experience following your last visit to us by writing your review.

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, we are grateful for your very positive feedback and comments.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the very near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I have to say from the minute we arrived to the minute we left we loved this place!

Great food good for families busy bar. Rooms are basic but clean!

I can't wait to go back again for another family break!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Careypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to share your experience following your last visit to us by writing your review.
On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, we are grateful for your very positive feedback and comments.
It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.
We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the very near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
downatrick
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Just back from a short break over Sunday and Monday. Got a special deal with Living Social which was great value. The hotel staff were all friendly and the place was clean. Used the spa both days and it was great but bring a swim hat with us otherwise you will have to buy one. The room was fine but when booking again (which I will) will ask for one which has been refurbished and looked really nice. Ours was a bit dated and had no cushions or throw on the bed just a plain white/slightly grey duvet. The hotel is very warm and they could definitely save money by turning down the heating and adjusting the water temp as it was hard to get cold water from the taps. The hotel was very busy and yet the restaurant service was a bit slow but the food was lovely. The location is great and I would go back. Has recommended it to a number of friends who also visited it recently and everyone was very pleased.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the block which has been refurbished. We were in room 3085 which was at the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trish b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to share your experience following your last visit to us by writing your review.

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the very near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,899 reviews
4.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Property: The Connacht Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing