We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This one's a puzzle....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Porcupine Plain
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“This one's a puzzle....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I will echo the reviews I read before booking this Hotel....Parking - Great....Reception - Great....Hallways and guest laundry - Disgustingly dirty....Room - Okay (Bedroom was fine, clean and fresh smelling...Bathroom was clean and recently remodelled...Kitchen/living room, cleannish, the carpet has seen better days, all the dining chairs were stained, the kitchen counter and floor were sticky, the dishwasher inside was full of soggy cooked food that had rinsed off dishes and did not smell so good...while kitchen supplies were adequate (dishes etc.), there were no towels or dish detergent....when we requested some, a man was at our door in minutes....he brought us one tea towel, a torn piece of sheet and a bathmat, (so obviously they have a sense of humour)....since we stayed 5 days we bought our own dish detergent and cleaned the kitchen....if you are planning to do laundry there, prepare to take at least half a day...the machines are the washer/dryer combo and either we misread the instructions or they are not working very well...don't use the one on the right end as it leaks....So all this being said....we came on a Saturday and left on Wednesday....never were disturbed by noise at all....there were families there on the weekend and they seemed to be enjoying themselves....on a final note I would not recommend this place for elderly or those with trouble walking....the building seems to be made up of several additions....while there were lifts in our block, to get to the front of the hotel you either had to walk all the way around the outside, or thru a warren of corridors and flights of stairs....it wasn't GREAT.... but it wasn't BAD....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    445
    278
    122
    52
See reviews for
501
335
38
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Nothing is to much for the staff at The Connacht Hotel. Caroline and her staff at reception are always on hand to help with a very friendly smile.The restaurant is efficient and provides a wide range at great value. It is an ideal location for young travelling couples as well as being family friendly. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We just spent the May weekend here, and I cannot praise it enough.
The staff were very accommodating and extremely friendly and courteous to us as Adults, but also to our young children . Our impression from the moment we pulled into the car park of The Connacht to our leaving can only be described as total relaxation . The rooms were very spacious and spotless. Breakfast was fantastic. Great variety and all hot food WAS actually hot.
The kids really enjoyed the pool too. We will definitely be booking in here again during the summer. Many thanks to the staff of The Connacht for treating us so well, and giving us a very enjoyable and relaxing break away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for writing your review.

We are so delighted to read that your stay was so enjoyable and relaxing. Yes, children really do enjoy the pool. It was also great to read that you found our staff were such a big part of making your experience so enjoyable. We appreciate your very positive feedback.

Great to hear that you will be back as we look forward to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Connacht Hotel. Like others, after reading the mixed reviews, I was nervous about the hotel - but honestly, I would 100% recommend this hotel. Our room was ready when we booked in - no problems with reception - we met a very nice receptionist - as were all the staff over our stay, from the leisure center, to the restaurant and bar - all very friendly and helpful. The leisure center & gym are fine - pool is small though. Good gym with plenty of equipment. It's abaout a 20 minute walk from Eyre Square - we walked in both nights and got a taxi back our for approx. €9.00. On our walk in, we called into the Huntsman - nice for a speciality beer - food looked good too though. Back to the Connacht - breakfast was fine - basic but food was good quality and plenty of it.. We got a meal in the bar which, again we had no complaints about. The room was very spacious and bright. The only minor issues, if I had to find some is that the tap in the bathroom sink was dripping and the toilet did not flush very well. Also, the noise, which we think came from next door neighbours shower woke us around 7am. These are only minor things - I would stay in The Connacht again and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having stayed in many hotels for work, it's not often that I come across a truly impressive hotel. But the combination of The Connacht's facilities, service and the late deal we received really make this place a fabulous find. I wish we'd stayed longer.

The family room we booked was spacious, the kids' club was great and the pool rather glamorous. It's certainly an ideal place for families but, with meeting rooms and free wifi, it's equally suitable for business travellers.

Although the facilities are certainly worth the money, what sets The Connacht apart from many other hotels is the service. Both check-in and check-out were certainly very efficient and friendly. However, my son had the misfortune to lose his mobile phone while at the hotel, although he wasn't absolutely sure he had left it there. A quick email to the hotel confirmed the phone had been found and was in safe-keeping, and they quickly arranged for it to be air-mailed back to us in England. Many thanks to Lourdes and the hotel team for quickly sorting this out for us.

There are plenty of positives for The Connacht, but there are also a couple of points worth bearing in mind. As one or two other reviews have stated, the hotel is quite a large complex and some of the rooms are quite a walk (~5 mins) from the main reception and about 7-8 minutes from the pool. When you do get to the pool, swimming hats are mandatory (so bring some with you or be prepared to buy them here). The changing rooms are also open plan, which can be a little difficult for solo dads with young girls.

Minor niggles aside, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank storuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to share your experience following your last visit to us by writing your review.

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, we are grateful for your very positive feedback and comments.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate you staying that it is "our service" that sets us apart.

We are also delighted that we were able to reunite your son with his mobile phone. Thank you for the personal mention given to Lourdes our Accommodation Manager for assist you with this.

We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you and your family again in the very near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very comfortable and well run it is looking a bit tired but then I guess it is just so busy things can get worn out quite quickly we booked one of the double rooms/apartments which was quite a far walk away from the main hotel which meant it was quiet butte felt a little cut off the TV was very dated and there was no smart phone docking station as to play some music before the girly night out would have been nice but all in all it was an enjoyable stay :) we didn't get to the bar or restaurant as we were out most of the day and night but is smelled very good :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cork77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My friend and I had a GrabOne voucher and we're absolutely delighted we chose to stay.
The staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. Our room was spacious, comfortable and extremely clean.
Even though the hotel was very busy we had no issues with noise.
The food was gorgeous and I really pigged out at breakfast time! The service at dinner was a little slow but that didn't bother us because we were on a relaxing break anyway.
The leisure facilities were great and the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were just the ticket for relaxation. I loved the Roman Baths theme and the wet area was very clean and we were provided with towels.
The Hotel is quite close to the city centre and there's a taxi area outside which is quite clever.
I will use this hotel again when I return to Galway. There's no better recommendation than that.
Well done to Management and staff on such a lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate you say that you found our staff to be friendly, helpful and professional.

Our Leisure Club is a great facility and we are delighted that so many of our guests enjoy their experience there as a you did,

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#10 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Property: The Connacht Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing