We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I attended a wedding in the hotel on the 9th of May
2014 .

The staff were very friendly and welcoming , reception was quick and efficient .

I had been in contact via email before my stay and all queries were answered on the same day , the customer service is excellent .

The hotel is spacious and the rooms were very clean and comfortable , our room had a small seating area which was nice to sit and relax in .

The wedding ceremony and reception took place in the hotel .

The garden at the front of the hotel was ideal for photos to be taken.

The reception space was beautifully decorated, the staff were very friendly and Louise in particular was lovely to deal with .

The food was excellent in the restaurant and breakfast is buffet style with many options available.

This was my second stay at the hotel this year and I thoroughly enjoyed both visits .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leabhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your glowing review and we certainly appreciate that you took that time to share your feedback.

It was a pleasure and an honor for all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, to be part of such a Joyful and Wonderful event and we wish the Lovely Couple, many, many years of Health and Happiness.

We are also so delighted to read that your own stay with us was so enjoyable.

We look forward to a return visit from you in the near future.


Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,642)
There are newer reviews for The Connacht Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent two days in the Connacht while we were up in Galway for a family wedding. We found the facilities good, and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Caroline and the rest of the staff at the front desk were always pleasant and obliging, getting our baby bottles sterilised for us as we did not have a microwave in our room.

The pool was ideal for children with a number of areas where they could play while in view from the observation deck. There were also areas for adults segregated by swimming ability, which meant I was not in the way of stronger swimmers. As we were guests the pool was free and towels were provided, an added bonus!

Bridget and the bar staff kept us well supplied with tea and minerals during the day, and with beer and tea later. The live music in the bar was great, lively ballads without being too loud.

We would also like to thank Louise for her help with the function room where the wedding ceremony was carried out.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room in Block A which was convenient to the underground carpark for getting al...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eam0nM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your last visit to us and thank you for posting your review.

It is always nice to read our guests positive comments and our Team here at The Connacht Hotel are always delighted to hear that our guests have had an enjoyable experience.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.


Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Room was clean, was as described on web for price agreed to. Particularly pleased with excellent service from Cyril and his sage advice on where to go for dinner. I must also compliment the young lady and the front desk who was also very helpful... Misplaced her name sorry

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluetank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

It was great to read your very positive comments following your last stay and we appreciate that you took the time to share it.

We especially appreciate your special mentions of members of our Team who helped make your stay such a positive experience. We are very proud of each member of our Team here at The Connacht Hote, for their contribution to making our guests stay as enjoyable a possible.

We hope we have the pleasure of looking after you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I will echo the reviews I read before booking this Hotel....Parking - Great....Reception - Great....Hallways and guest laundry - Disgustingly dirty....Room - Okay (Bedroom was fine, clean and fresh smelling...Bathroom was clean and recently remodelled...Kitchen/living room, cleannish, the carpet has seen better days, all the dining chairs were stained, the kitchen counter and floor were sticky, the dishwasher inside was full of soggy cooked food that had rinsed off dishes and did not smell so good...while kitchen supplies were adequate (dishes etc.), there were no towels or dish detergent....when we requested some, a man was at our door in minutes....he brought us one tea towel, a torn piece of sheet and a bathmat, (so obviously they have a sense of humour)....since we stayed 5 days we bought our own dish detergent and cleaned the kitchen....if you are planning to do laundry there, prepare to take at least half a day...the machines are the washer/dryer combo and either we misread the instructions or they are not working very well...don't use the one on the right end as it leaks....So all this being said....we came on a Saturday and left on Wednesday....never were disturbed by noise at all....there were families there on the weekend and they seemed to be enjoying themselves....on a final note I would not recommend this place for elderly or those with trouble walking....the building seems to be made up of several additions....while there were lifts in our block, to get to the front of the hotel you either had to walk all the way around the outside, or thru a warren of corridors and flights of stairs....it wasn't GREAT.... but it wasn't BAD....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Nothing is to much for the staff at The Connacht Hotel. Caroline and her staff at reception are always on hand to help with a very friendly smile.The restaurant is efficient and provides a wide range at great value. It is an ideal location for young travelling couples as well as being family friendly. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We just spent the May weekend here, and I cannot praise it enough.
The staff were very accommodating and extremely friendly and courteous to us as Adults, but also to our young children . Our impression from the moment we pulled into the car park of The Connacht to our leaving can only be described as total relaxation . The rooms were very spacious and spotless. Breakfast was fantastic. Great variety and all hot food WAS actually hot.
The kids really enjoyed the pool too. We will definitely be booking in here again during the summer. Many thanks to the staff of The Connacht for treating us so well, and giving us a very enjoyable and relaxing break away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitzy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for writing your review.

We are so delighted to read that your stay was so enjoyable and relaxing. Yes, children really do enjoy the pool. It was also great to read that you found our staff were such a big part of making your experience so enjoyable. We appreciate your very positive feedback.

Great to hear that you will be back as we look forward to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Connacht Hotel. Like others, after reading the mixed reviews, I was nervous about the hotel - but honestly, I would 100% recommend this hotel. Our room was ready when we booked in - no problems with reception - we met a very nice receptionist - as were all the staff over our stay, from the leisure center, to the restaurant and bar - all very friendly and helpful. The leisure center & gym are fine - pool is small though. Good gym with plenty of equipment. It's abaout a 20 minute walk from Eyre Square - we walked in both nights and got a taxi back our for approx. €9.00. On our walk in, we called into the Huntsman - nice for a speciality beer - food looked good too though. Back to the Connacht - breakfast was fine - basic but food was good quality and plenty of it.. We got a meal in the bar which, again we had no complaints about. The room was very spacious and bright. The only minor issues, if I had to find some is that the tap in the bathroom sink was dripping and the toilet did not flush very well. Also, the noise, which we think came from next door neighbours shower woke us around 7am. These are only minor things - I would stay in The Connacht again and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MagCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,986 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#9 of 46 in Galway
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £63 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main access route to Galway City, The Connacht Hotel prides itself on its valued customer service to wide variety of clientele. From family breaks to active retired and lots in between. The Connacht Hotel is a family friendly hotel and has all you need for a break away with the kids. Supervised kids club, leisure facilities, family rooms or self-catering apartments, we understand that it's not only a break for the family but also a break for you. The club opens most weekends and during all school holidays from 9.30am-1pm & 6pm-10pm. The Connacht Hotel offers a range of purpose built conference rooms, with capacities ranging from 120 delegates to smaller conference rooms, ideal for boardroom style meetings. Free WiFi, projector and screen, flip-charts, water, stationery and mints are included. Complimentary parking is also available for all visitors. Active Fitness Leisure Club has 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing