We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for any occasion”
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Youghal, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A great hotel for any occasion”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Irelands biggest hotel with all you need, great personal, great bar and an excellent pool area with Steam Room and Sauna facilities. Also Kids corners. A really great hotel that can cater for any occasion. Personally I stayed there for a stag but will come back with the family at some stage as it has something for everyone. Nice spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donal_buistear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    509
    303
    138
    59
See reviews for
566
387
42
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

this was a disaster from the start.
a weekend of golf for a family of 4 we booked a family apartment. we tried to book in early on Saturday afternoon but we told our room wont be ready til 3.30. so after golf, at around 7.45pm our room still wasn't ready.
as an apology we got not 4 but 2 complimentary drinks vouchers which would have been great if you wanted a soft drink on a Saturday night whilst the other half of you family watched you with envy as you guzzled down 7up out off a 1 litre bottle of white no brand lemonade!!!!!!
other problems were,
cups and saucers with no spoons
smokey rooms
furniture with rips in it
breakfast with no scrambled/fried egg
no air conditioning on in the restaurant.
family of 4 being asked to sit at 2 tables for 2.

but worst of all was the lack of staff interest. at breakfast everyone i know has either tea or coffee. so why do the staff stand around and wait to be hailed over to take an order.

not a good experience and ill not be back.
and, i kept the free drinks vouchers as a reminder that a free drink is no replacement for good service.

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the reception. i felt that we had a long corridor walk from room to lift and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby , UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stopped for one night on a business trip and found the hotel very good. It is a large hotel but it has good facilities and decent size rooms which are well equipped and clean. the staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is tasty and well presented. The rooms are a decent size, well equipped and clean plus the WiFi works well.
There are good leisure facilities so it is ideal for families and as a base for touring the surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThePottsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to share your experience following your last visit to us by writing your review.

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the very near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Offaly, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights couple getaway was a lovely hotel to be in, the atmospher of the place was really enjoyable, alot of tour buses on arrival but was checked in straight away, staff is very nice, breakfast on the first morning was ok but the 2nd morning was nice the waitress even went and got me some mushrooms (as it is not part of their breakfast)with no problem of doing so, had dinner from the bar first night was lovely and had dinner from the restaurant the 2nd night was absolutely gorgeous! Id recommend the salmon!! Room was lovely especially as we had a balcony .. taxis outside the front door so no need to order one prices between 6-8euro for 2 to eyre square, overall we enjoyed our stay and will certainly be staying again in the future!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Aleavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

One night stay while motorcycling in Ireland. This si a large hotel and there were 4 to 5 full coaches of tourists but this did not affect the service and quality of stay. The rooms are large and well maintained with a super large bed for comfort. I can't fault this place at all. We ate off the bar menu in the evening. Food was good and service was quick and pleasant. We enjoyed our stay and will return at some time soon I hope.

Room Tip: Try the rooms on the front as the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to share your experience following your last visit to us by writing your review.

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the very near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed one night at the end of 19 day trip through UK and France. All of our previous Accommodations were at private apartments.

This hotel was clean, checkin was fast and efficient, the room was very nice and already set up with a 3rd rollaway bed, which was requested at reservation.

We also ate at the bar/restaurant. I agree they needed more staff as we often had to grab our waitresses attention for additional drinks, deserts, and the check. However, the food was good and delivered quickly, the staff was very nice, and the price was reasonable for hotel food.

I used the hot tub only, but the fitness facilities looked very good. Pool, steam room, sauna, and work out equipment.

Lastly, the place is easy access for transportation. The city bus (lines 402, 409) is easy and quick access to downtown and the stops are less than 1/4 mile west from the front door. Also, Bus Eireann has a drop off for arriving Galway visitors at GMIT which is a little over 1/2 mile east. They also pick up there for buses going to Shannon airport. Make sure you check schedule times and be 10 mins early as they don't wait.

This hotel is a great value, and a nice place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHXLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to share your experience following your last visit to us by writing your review.

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the very near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel has great potential, on arrival the reception area was full of tour bus clients checking in, it looked terrible but having pushed my way to reception we were checked in straight away.
The room(2006) was fine, it is a family room of two bedrooms one of which was locked at the front of the hotel, for a 3 star hotel I was happy with the room, bed and facilities, it was clean and larger than expected.
The Hotel is let down by the chaos of the Restaurant, on check in I asked if we needed to make a dinner reservation we were told no it was not required, became down the restaurant was full any only being used for bus tour clients, that we could have dinner in the bar area, after 3 requests for menu's, complaining at the bar and then at reception and an hour later we finally got seated, then having to ask twice again for our order to be taken, this I blame on management who have 3 times as many staff behind the bar and only two girls working on the floor serving about 20 tables, the 2nd night we were told in the bar to eat in the restaurant and the restaurant told us to go to the bar!!! thankfully an older member of staff sorted a table in the bar for us, if we had not been in galway on a family medical emergency and exhausted I would have not eaten in the restaurant on the 2nd night and may not have stayed in the venue the other night, The F&B manager needs to work out if they want to sell food or not and staff the premises as needed.
People have mentioned the location it is actually very close to galway city(5 minutes) access to the Dublin/Limrick/Cork motorway and for visiting the Dublin Clinic, Merlin Park Hospital and UCG.
Check out was a breeze and health club a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,093 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
344 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.0 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#9 of 46 in Galway
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Property: The Connacht Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing