We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T EAT HERE”
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stopped in for a bite to eat......big mistake,food was terrible. I ordered “KENTUCKY STYLE”
CHICKEN FILLET Sweet potato wedges & shaved fennel salad, BBQ sauce. First things first ....when it arrived to my table the plate was covered in balsamic vinegar and then the food placed on top. When i told the waiter it was balsamic vinegar and not barbeque sauce which is what it says on the menu......he asked me do i not like balsamic vinegar? Not sure he knew the menu properly.....Sent it back . My girlfriend ordered the GRILLED FILLET OF ATLANTIC SALMON Crushed potato of dillisk, sun-blushed tomato & sugar
snap, saffron & white wine veloute sauce. The fish was bland and boring .....not a lot happening on the plate, as soon as it was served she asked for a a side of vegetables. Apart from the salmon being tasteless ,the baby potatoes it came with were literally raw, hard as rocks....picked them out and sent them back. By now my chicken was back ,minus the balsamic vinegar and now served with bbq sauce as advertised. The chicken was tasteless , bland, no seasoning,breadcrumbs were a mess, it was served with 5 sweet potatoes , they were burnt , dry ,tasteless. The vegetables we ordered at the start arrived, broccoli was raw, carrots and parsnips...didnt taste great. My shaved fennel salad was a joke. By the time we were finished a portion of mashed potatoes arrived, bland tasteless , boring mashed potatoes, .....total price for the dining experience, €26.90. On top of that there are big tv screens with sports blaring on it , children running everywhere, the general noise in there is insane, sat in the restaurant are to get as far away from that noise as possible, bus load after bus load of tourists pile in and out of this are....after all this nothing offered off our bill at checkout, probably think we are just another tourist and wont be back,live down the road,wont be going back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank ZOOLMYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here for 2 nights.
The room was a good size & clean. Only problem was the toilet did not flush properly.
There is a great gym & lovely big pool. Great for families with young children.
On our 2nd night the people in the room directly above us started playing really loud music at around 4am & were very noisy. We rang reception to complain so they sent someone up to ask them to be quiet.
Bar area was nice but had a noisy crowd on the 2nd night - probably a hen or stag do.
I filled out a comment card when we were checking out & mentioned that the toilet wasn't working properly & about the noise during the night but nobody at the hotel contacted me to discuss which was a bit disappointing.
This is an inexpensive hotel. It's good but not great!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed with family members for three night break in this hotel. Got very good deal.
Weather was fabulous, hotel was packed and had a great buzz! Staff were friendly, food in bar and at breakfast were delicious and drinks reasonably priced. There were lots of families so we all fely very comfortable with children doing what children do! The children loved the pool - the sun shone in and it was really relaxing (although jacuzzi was out of order). We also used the Kid's Club one evening and the children really enjoyed this, although there is a 6 euros fee for one child and 10 euros for two.
Hotel is located outside the city centre but we drove in (5 minutes) and parked near Eyre Square and also spent a day at Salthill. Good location for family break.
Excellent wifi in hotel, a must nowadays. Enjoyed our stay and loved Galway!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyMcP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A group of 20 of us both family and friends stayed here for a milestone birthday.
The hotel was fully booked but as it was so big you really couldnt tell, even at breakfast.
We mainly spent our time in the leisure centre (Pool/Sauna) or the bar/restaurant.
The food was very tasty and there was a great selection of drinks (a few cocktails were had)
Toasted special was a great gap filler after a day around Barna and Spidal.
Will be staying there again in a few weeks following the Races.
Very happy all round.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank budzaer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was a budget hotel which I desired with a relatively good breakfast of a large scale.

I was shocked when I checked in as the hallways were overloaded with housekeeping leftovers, giving the hotel a chaotic type of feeling although it was in the late afternoon.

The room was large and had a nice bathroom.

It was a nice walk to downtown for me and bus service is about a block away but the area itself is not convenient to restaurants other than what is on site at the hotel.

Fortunately, the wifi was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seachickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I decided to stay in The Connacht Hotel because of the indoor swimming pool and training center. The price was quite ok for being a 4 star... but I wouldnt consider this hotel as a 4 star at all. I paid around 50 something € which is quite a common price to pay for a hotel night in Ireland, but when I arrived, the problems started. I stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of March, which means still being a quite wet and cold period in Ireland. The heating was not working. I called the reception so they could fix it, but they could not, so they promised me to move to another room next morning, but it was only an excuse to keep me quiet. It would have been ok to be without heating, but the window was broken and impossible to close... Next morning I had a meeting and the iron was neither working :( When I called the reception in order to get moved to another room, they said it was impossible as there were a lot of weddings and the hotel was fully booked. And so I spent my 4 nights, trying to get a proper room. Outside my door, someone throwed a bag of potato chips, which continued there until the day I left as nobody cleaned it. The bathtube was also damaged, so the water needed at least 2 hours to disappear. The toilet was dripping the whole night... So my conclusion is, I got the most damaged room in the whole hotel ;) but because of being fully booked I guess it was the only room I could get. The day of the check-out I was so unsatisfied, that I did not wanted to leave until I could speak to the hotel manager in order to inform that my case was not fair at all. So after 4 days trying to be attended correctly by the right person (nobody knew what to do cause it was not their responsability) and when I threatened by writing a formal complaint, the hotel manager did not charged my breakfast (10€ per day). Well in the end I got a good deal... but of course I would have preferred to pay my breakfast and have had a proper room...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I came here expecting pleasant and friendly service and nice food we got the opposite, we were greeted by a staff member that looked and acted as if she was literally just out of bed, we asked for the ceaser salad and a fish and chips, we also asked what was in the salad as my partner is illergic to nuts we was told just a basic salad and smoked chicken, when it came out it was covered in olives and sardines, the chicken tasted as if it was in the fridge for months and the whole dish was covered in the fish juices leaving it unedable, not just that but a side of chips was ordered and half of them was raw as was the chips with the fish, there was no salt or ketchup on the table, we was not offered any water like many tabels was. We was not asked if everthing was ok, terribe is the only word I can use to describe the place

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Wolvomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,172 reviews
3.7 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
2,027 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
952 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Address: The Connacht Hotel Dublin Road, Galway H91 K5DD, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#11 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £57 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main access route to Galway City, The Connacht Hotel prides itself on its valued customer service to wide variety of clientele. From family breaks to active retired and lots in between. The Connacht Hotel is a family friendly hotel and has all you need for a break away with the kids. Supervised kids club, leisure facilities, family rooms or self-catering apartments, we understand that it's not only a break for the family but also a break for you. The club opens most weekends and during all school holidays from 9.30am-1pm & 6pm-10pm. The Connacht Hotel offers a range of purpose built conference rooms, with capacities ranging from 120 delegates to smaller conference rooms, ideal for boardroom style meetings. Free WiFi, projector and screen, flip-charts, water, stationery and mints are included. Complimentary parking is also available for all visitors. Active Fitness Leisure Club has 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing