We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anywhere But Here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Toms River, NJ
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Anywhere But Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here in July of 2014. First I must say that we arrived hours prior to check in time (due to our flight time) and requested early check in. They did get us a room over 3 hours earlier than expected. However, it was possibly the worst room we have ever had the misfortune of inhabiting. On the surface it was simply a bares bone kind of place but it turned out to have an extremely uncomfortable bed and two very uncomfortable chairs. There was no air conditioning though that's not unusual in Ireland but there was no top sheet on the bed, only an overly warm comforter. The bedside lamps were so short they were useless except as possibly a night light. Could not read by them. Our room overlooked the trash dumpsters which were used it seemed constantly to toss bottles into a metal container. There were trucks coming and going which involved that wonderful back-up beeping sound. Additionally it was where the staff came to smoke and TALK. Sadly for us my husband did not feel well so we spent an unusually large chunk of time in the room. The staff were very friendly but that didn't make the room any better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    445
    278
    122
    52
See reviews for
501
335
38
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for the Galway Races 2014. Had a great experience from the moment we checked in to the day we departed. The hotel is close to the racecourse and a bus was provided to transport guests to Ballybrit. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and obliging at all times. As it was race week the hotel was very busy, with a great buzz and atmosphere. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The hotel is so convenient for getting into the city of Galway and it was no problem getting a taxi to and from the town centre. We will certainly be booking into the same hotel for Galway Races 2015 and would highly recommend it. Well done all at The Connacht Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mairead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

My family and I had a two night break away at your hotel. Everything was superb. Loved the leisure centre and restaurant. The staff is fantastic and very accommodating to your needs. I would definitely recommend it. Thanks for a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lavenderblue52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Connacht for my stag weekend. The hotel was perfect for what we were after. The leisure facilities are great, including a pool, steam room and sauna.
The restaurant was very good for breakfast and we also ate a lovely evening meal there on the first night.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Also it was a really nice touch from the manager giving us some freebies on arrival. The bedrooms are a little warm but it was the middle of summer.
The hotel had a good mix of families, couples and larger groups.
Taxi's to the city center are about 10euro and their is a rank outside the hotel.
All in all its a really great hotel, I will be back when I am in Galway next time.
Thanks Shay and all the staff for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmci12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here with my wife and two children for a summer break. The hotel is big and has plenty of free parking out front. There is a good sized pool which we used every day. The pool was pretty busy at times but the children loved it. The hotel was very busy when we stayed with the vast majority families with children and a number of bus tours. The restaurant and bar was very busy each evening so booking was essential. The food in the bar was ok, nothing to write home about just ok. The staff in the hotel were very nice and helpful. The hotel is located just outside the center of the city but there was always taxis waiting outside. Overall I would recommend the hotel for couples with children especially during school holidays. I wouldn't stay here for a romantic break just because it's very popular with young families.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the lifts for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IntoTheWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you are going to the Races this Hotel is a great place to stay. Near to the course and only a walk to the great City of Galway.
Food was of a very good standard,staff very friendly and room clean. The downside was the location of the room-D Wing! The room overlooked the recycling area of the Hotel and tended to be noisy in the mornings, if we returned again would not like to stay in this area.
Bottom line----Would we stay at this Hotel again?---Yes

Room Tip: Stay away from D Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowtonabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great hotel, stayed in a suite and it was perfect for a girls weekend away! Leisure center was great and we made good use of it!
The only negative was that we were in a ground floor suite and there was no key to the patio door (we had smokers in our group) and despite ringing reception numerous times and been told each time someone was on their way up to open door, they never arrived.. it was only the following morning that the fantastic porter Seamus told us that the key could not be located, that honesty would have been appreciated the night before. In saying that meeting Seamus really brightened up our weekend, what a fantastic character and an asset to the hotel!
We will definitely stay in the hotel again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Eileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#10 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Property: The Connacht Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing