We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value”
Review of Travelodge Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Galway
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very good value”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

stay here recently, room was what we expected for the price we paid, however found the staff incredibly friendly and accommodating, would certainly recommend this to a friend!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louk1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Travelodge Hotel Galway recently. Thank you also for taking the time to share your feedback.

Your positive feedback regarding, the location of the hotel, and your views of the courteous nature and helpfulness of our staff is most welcome and all on the team pass on their gratitude to you.

Thank you for recommending us to all and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,
Seamus McWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    202
    101
    50
    49
See reviews for
130
225
47
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I traveled to Galway late on Wednesday 4th July to attend the Volvo Ocean Racing event and tried to book a basic room in the Travelodge for a few hours sleep and choose this hotel expecting a good rate. They advertise rooms from €49.00 (and their website photo even shows this lower figure) which is ok for a no frills hotel. Unfortunately they wanted to charge me €500.00 for the night... I did not stay and will probably never will (never say never!!!)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Good Evening Ray.
It bemuses me somewhat to read your review. I do not understand how you can review a hotel you have not stayed in, and I have asked this review to taken down. In the event this does not happen I will respond in the following way. We do not charge €500 per room; we would not be allowed to do so. We have an agreed range of prices in which we abide by. The sign does state from € 49. The word from is clearly stated on the sign.
Please contact me personal if you require further clarity on this matter.

Regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleblayney, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Brillant location and price. Lovely brekkie, free parking which is a god send in Galway. Marius and Voitec, (not spelt right!) on reception were brilliant, Marius is great craic and gave 2 free breakfasts when we told him our car had broken down and it took us 8hrs to get to Galway, just a lovely man!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Good Afternoon Rachchic

Thank you for your positive feedback and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look forward to having you back to the Travelodge for your next visit to Galway. I will make sure to pass your feed back to the Team.

Warm Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The stay we had at Travelodge was pretty much as expected. It's located about a kilometre from Eyre Square, which isn't too far. However, the street that leads to the city centre wasn't great and looked a bit shady.

There is wifi at the hotel, but you have to pay for it. Breakfast isn't provided and I'm not entirely sure how much it cost, but we opted to skip it. A petrol station at the roundabout serves coffee, lattees and has some pastries, which was good enough for us and it was pretty cheap.

We booked a "family room", but all that means is a room with a double bed and a sofa. It wasn't what we expected, but we were ok with it.

Overall, it was an ok hotel, but with more research, you may find a better place at the same or better rate.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan8437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Good Afternoon

You are so kind to post your review and we really appreciate it. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure to have you with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. I will be sure to pass your positive comments to our staff.

Kindest Regards
Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

If you're in Galway and need just a bed, Travelodge is perfect. It's not far from the square. Not many dining option nearby though. We walked about a block to Subway for dinner. Beds were comfy. Everything is basic, but we only paid e49 so it was a good deal. Breakfast was pricey though but since there wasn't anything nearby we opted to go ahead and eat there. We spent more for 3 people to eat breakfast than it cost to stay in the room!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Jen
Thank you somemuch for writing this review. We pride ourselves in offering value and quailty service. Thank you for your comments

Regards

Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is a purely functional overnight stay budget accomodation option.
Room was very clean,receptionist very friendly & welcoming.
I did not have breakfast, so cannot comment on same.
Located on the fringe of the city, so taxi to centre would be necessary.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkcdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Good Evening

You are so kind to post your review and we really appreciate it. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure to have you with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. I will be sure to pass your positive comments to our staff.

Kindest Regards
Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Would highly recommend ,stayed 2 wks ago on a wednesday for 35 euro,comfy bed, spotless clean lovely white linen we all love.Just for feed back{not complining}only 1 pillow each but had no trouble getting 2 more when came home late from pub,the chap at the desk was very helpful,no iron or hairdryer but no big deal as the hotel is so cheap,bring your own if you need them.its about 15 minute walk to town.will go back for sure .1 more thing just for feedback there was only 2 small bath towels .

Room Tip: no iron or hairdryer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Good Evening
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look forward to having you back to the Travelodge for your next visit to Galway.

Warm Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.0 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.4 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#9 of 46 in Galway
489 reviews
4.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.6 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Galway

Property: Travelodge Galway
Address: Tuam Road | Joyce Roundabout, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Galway Hotel is situated on the Tuam road 1 mile from Galway City Centre. We are just minutes away from the main link road that services many of Galway's busiest industrial and retail parks, Galway Race Course and Galway Airport. Whether its business or leisure, our staff will ensure your stay is a pleasure. This modern property offers comfortable spacious accommodation and is an ideal base for your visit to this vibrant Galway city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Galway Hotel Galway
Travel Lodge Galway
Galway Travelodge
Galway Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing