We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge Galway
Nearby Hotels
Clayton Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flannery's Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
US$235
Radisson Galway
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Menlo Park Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$158
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$243
US$217
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maldron Hotel Galway(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
US$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Connacht Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Twelve Hotel(Barna)
US$270
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ardilaun Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (729)
Filter reviews
729 results
Traveller rating
297
221
108
53
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
221
108
53
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel lodgecity centrebudget hotelminute walkwould stay againeyre squareone night staycomfy bedpleasant staynext morninghen partyfamily roomseamusvilirelandroundabouteuro
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
518 - 523 of 729 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

With trepidation we booked Travel Lodge, having not used the chain before.

For those looking for value, clean good sized rooms and really expect no more-you are in for a pleasant at check-in:

There is a Galway Inn Keeper-Seamus,
Who makes Irish charm most famous!
For with a twinkle in his eye,
you will regret time going by,
for he was the grandest entertainment for us!


Sorry couldn't resist this pseudo-limerick, but he also covers Limerick venues-and you may have catch him in the act there.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Good Morning ,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Travelodge Hotel last weekend and thank you also for your super feedback. All on the team are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here.

Your positive feedback regarding the hotel, our location, the quality of Service you received and indeed the team is most encouraging and all on the team have requested that I pass on to you a vey heartfelt thank you.

Regards

Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We were attending a wedding in Galway on Friday 14th September, We arrived at the travel lodge early 12 noon as the wedding was on the Friday. The room was ready for us - we were delighted. The receptionist was extremely friendly, chatty and well presented. The night porter was really friendly too. The room and bathroom was spotless, we got free parking as in most of the hotels in Galway you have to pay for parking. I have read some of the reviews and was surprised by the bad feedback on this Travel Lodge, I would recommend this we had great night sleep, it was clean and the staff were extremely friendly and with free parking. We walked into the city centre and home on Saturday, its a straight road in and it took 10-15 mins to walk in. The value was great, you are only 2 mins in a car away from the city centre or a short walk I will defo go back here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy-June2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Good Afternoon

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on you positive comments to our staff. We will look forward to welcoming you back again. I thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Kind Regards

Seamus McWilliams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights during Galway Festival. Very basic rooms clean. Guy on reception friendly. Handy for the town but nothing around the hotel apart from business park. Small basic bar area. Breakfast experience was bad. Breakfast was supposed to start at 7.30 but saw staff strolling in at 7.30 so unfortunately didn't have time to have the cooked breakfast as by the time they actually wandered over to our table we had no time to eat a cooked as had to be at Galway Races for a meeting. We asked for poached eggs instead of the "Full Irish" but the member of staff did not understand English very well and we ended up with boiled eggs. We were very much left to find our way round the breakfast area, staff spent more time in kitchen than out front so guests just wandered about trying to find food. Definately wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelagh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Public Relations Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear clanfraser

Thank you for your post. We aim to provide a high level of service at all times, and I am sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Was looking forward to Galway so much and couldnt believe it when we arrived at the Travelodge which is basically in the middle of what I can only describe as an industrial park! No descrption of this when I booked, I could have lived with this, but, worse was to come! When we opened the door to the room, which I do have to say was spotless, we couldnt believe it.....only 1 word to describe it, GRIM! I have seen better hostels. As a former travel agent I have seen and stayed in some bad properties and it really takes a lot for me to feel compelled to give any property a bad review. We had booked 2 nights and stayed 20 mins! The only good point was the very friendly and helpfull guy in reception when we checked in!

Room Tip: Top tip to choose a good room! Yeah, choose a room NOT in this hotel!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LibOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Betty,

We are very disturbed to read your review. It is confusing as you praise the hotel for cleanliness of the room and friendliness of the staff. On the other hand you criticise the location. Whereas the hotel is situated 10 minutes walk from the Eyre Square and 5 minutes from Atalia Lake – a great walking spot.
What is more, we have no record of anyone checking in and checking out after 20 minutes. If you would like to discuss the issue further please contact the hotel directly.

Kind Regards,
Seamus McWilliams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

we stayed here for two nights and were so disappointed with our experience. the man on reception was so rude and not welcoming at all. not a great start to what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend away. the rooms were fine however very clean. what really annoyed us was a letter we received saying we were "too loud". We were barely even in the rooms as we were exploring the town yet we got this very rude letter? despite a number of hens and stags along our corridor shouting at all hours of the morning. Very badly run, hardly any staff around if you need help. most definitely would not return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravel i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Good Afternoon,

Travelodge Hotels have Sleep Tight Policy. Letters are issued fairly; only to the guests causing disturbance. We praise ourselves in taking care of our guests equally. Should you feel you were mistreated please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews