We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Enough Great Staff”
Review of Travelodge Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Galway
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Hotel was nice, nothing special. Great staff, had a Guinness with Michael who also told us about the sights around Gallway. The rooms were clean and roomy. Easy check in and out . Nice breakfast and a good nights rest. Will stay here again when in Gallway

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Tommyharris,

Thank you for your great review.
Our staff here are dedicated to providing the highest levels of customer service so it's fantastic to hear you were treated as such. I hope we can see you back at our hotel somewhere down the line!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Its one of the best place to stay while you visit in galway. beautiful hotel nice location . close to all amenities. decent parking ( free) space. was with friends and family. every one was impressed with the quality of of space and place.love to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Deepmead,

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel.
Customer satisfaction is extremely important for us so I am delighted to hear you had a good stay.
I hope we can welcome you back sometime in the future!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just arrived back to the states from Ireland yesterday and felt I needed to leave another great review for travel lodge and their stellar staff. Upon arrival our paramore receptionist gave us a great warm welcome. Our room was very clean. The night staff (Ali) was very nice and helpful when we arrived late at night. I can't say enough about the staff. They made sure we got to see all the attractions we wanted to and really went above and beyond to help us get there. Michael and Vil/Phil/Bill will always have a special place in our hearts. I have never meant anyone as genuine and helpful as them. Seamus was a great conversationalist and has shaped was is clearly a great close knit community of staffers. Props to Seamus. Miss you all already. See you next year. -Ellie and Nellie

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Ellie and Nellie,

Thank you so much for your complimentary review.
You both were fantastic guests and were a pleasure to serve. Mike and Vil send their regards! Thank you for staying at our hotel and I do hope we can welcome you back through our doors sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Dude working the night shift on security was on a real power trip and wouldn't let us go to sleep until he saw our room cards, receipts for the night and our id. I mean come on who does that?!! Jeez!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ciaran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Ciaran L,

Thank you for posting a review.
I regret you had such issues during your stay. I must comment that it sounds as security were doing their job. We take the safety of our guests extremely seriously here at Travelodge and if security think they have reason to be suspicious, they must follow a direct line of inquiry. Their procedures are in place not to annoy, but to protect the welfare of those staying with us.
If you would like to speak to me directly, please message my account here at TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed for one night and from the moment we booked in the staff were pleasant and kind and the rooms were in excellent condition. Even though we booked two rooms for six people which were all male we were given a double bed and a hard couch which we presumed was the ''third bed''and two people had to sleep in the double bed.

Getting over this and not complaining as we really only needed the rooms to throw ourselves down after the night out. On returning from the night out we were ''greeted'' by a member of security who was letting us in but when he realised that one of the names wasn't correct on the list to a corresponding person immediately had a my way or the highway attitude!With myself being the non drinker of the group I decided to go with the security guard to the receptionist and explain that we made a mix up putting down the names as the person that wrote them wasn't sure of the full group (as we booked in separately). Neither of the two night clerks were entertaining this so to again try and bring some light to the situation I proved that the person that had his name mixed up was also the person that paid in full for one of the rooms, still the two night clerks were being of the blatantly ignorant attitude and basically saying the sixth person had to sleep on the street as the names didn't match up.

Eventually we got them around as we all just wanted to go to bed but still we were called down to reception again to bring our ID's with us (which was never explained to us that we needed before). In the end we got to bed and had a decent enough sleep.

I have stayed in many Travelodge's in both Ireland and England and never have I witnessed such ignorance and disregard for making a customers stay as relaxing a possible. It will be a long time before I go to a Travelodge again.

There is a lot of things I can't stand but ignorance is simply inexcusable!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Culshane,

Thank you for your comments.
I am sorry you had a negative experience during your stay.
However, I must point out that it sounds like security were doing what is expected of them.
It is always made extremely clear the importance of guests assigning their names correctly on our guest list. They are warned on check-in of the consequences of not doing so. The situation you described makes it apparent that an individual whose name was not on our guest list or registration cards was trying to gain entry to the hotel after 8:30pm. This is strictly against hotel policy. your I.Ds where checked by our security team because they felt they had reason to suspect they were being deceived after what occurred on the door.
I am sorry once again that this was an inconvenience for you but our rules are in place purely for the security of those staying with us, not to hassle anyone unnecessarily.
If you feel the need to discuss the matter further do not hesitate to message me directly here at TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Myself and four friends stayed in the Travelodge on a three day trip to Galway. We chose the Travelodge as, after much price comparison, it was the best value hotel in central Galway at only £44 each for a 3 night stay! The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us, particularly Seamus the (very proud!) owner who kindly treated us to tea and hot scones on the house when we were too hungover to make the 10am cut off for breakfast. Twice. The rooms had plenty of space, the beds were really comfortable and everything was immaculate. The location was great too, just a short ten minute walk into the town itself. We will definitely be back in Galway and we will definitely be back in the Travelodge!

Room Tip: Not a tip for rooms but if you're ordering a taxi, the front desk has an automated phone but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darragh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Darragh,

I am very grateful for your positive comments.
A sincere thank you for choosing our hotel.
We remember your group fondly and look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The rooms where spacious, very clean, and the staff were very friendly and very helpful. Some of the girls were staying on for another night and we asked if we could swap the rooms as the one of the rooms had a sofa bed to sleep the third person and the other room had a single bed this was sorted out straight away no hassle at all. Seamus was very friendly to us. There was an American couple staying also and Seamus spent the time to go through a map of Galway and tell them the top tourist places to go. We were on a budget so that's why we booked Travelodge and it was great value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noddy_d_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you kindly for your compliments!
I'm delighted that your group enjoyed their stay. We are grateful that you chose Travelodge Galway and do hope we can welcome you back through our doors sometime soon!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
4.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,172 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.8 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
693 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Galway

Address: Tuam Road | Joyce Roundabout, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £45 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Galway Hotel is situated on the Tuam road 1 mile from Galway City Centre. We are just minutes away from the main link road that services many of Galway's busiest industrial and retail parks, Galway Race Course and Galway Airport. Whether its business or leisure, our staff will ensure your stay is a pleasure. This modern property offers comfortable spacious accommodation and is an ideal base for your visit to this vibrant Galway city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Galway Hotel Galway
Travel Lodge Galway
Galway Travel Lodge
Galway Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing