We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fab spot”

The Quay Street Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 485 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Irish
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fab spot”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Recommended by a staff member of our hotel, ambiance food and staff were all fantastic, it was quirky and intimate! Priced reasonable-will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mags2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,181
    391
    72
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Homemade food, don't miss it!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We ordered the soup of the day which was tomatoe soup served with brown bread, a goat cheese salad and hake with vegetables and potatoes. As a dessert we had the apple pie with icecream, everything was delicious and the service was very polite and attentive. Don't miss it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barcelonaizmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Food & service here is excellent. Location in Galway City is really good too. Well worth a visit really.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cormacca87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“sooooooo gooood!!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Walking along Quay looking for somewhere to have dinner, and spotted Venison Stew on the outside board and couldn't resist it. Great ambiance, small and crowded, but somehow you just felt cozy, not cramped, and it was easy to tell that everyone was having a positive experience. We had Guinness with the Venison stew, which paired wonderfully. We also had the lemon tart with a latté, which was fantastic. It was so good that my partner had to go back the next day for more stew, this time I had the chowder, which was excellent. Excellent fresh real food, with a great chef and staff. Highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StopKickingMySeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We called one busy winters Sunday afternoon to this cosy little restaurant on Quay Street. The menu was somewhat unusual but very tempting and for someone like me, who is an 'animal eater' ,I was strangely taken by the Tofu fingers on the menu. They were terrific, served with a crisp salad and French fries. A very reasonably priced bottle of Sauvignon Blanc was an added bonus.
The service was exceptionally polite and efficient and I was simply taken by surprise. The standard of boutique style restaurants is exceptionally high in Galway and some really don't hit the mark, but the Quay Street Kitchen certainly does and it sets the bar very high indeed. This little place is definitely on any foodies map, not to be missed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Quay Street Kitchen also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Quay Street Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing