We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly host”
Review of Abbey View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbey View
Ranked #12 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The main attraction of this place is the welcoming hostess. She met us with tea in the common room. We enjoyed our time by the warm fire and conversation. There is a nice hotel restaurant across the street if you would rather not drive back into town. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are ensuite and some are not. Perhaps confirm which room you will be occupying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

From the moment we arrived, Bernie's Irish hospitality was the "stand out" of all the places we stayed in Ireland. She was so lovely and authentic and we could not have felt any more at home. The breakfast was delicious and fresh and Bernie couldn't do enough to make our stay a memorable one --- we just wished we had a bit longer than 3 nights. Perfect location -- around ten minutes from the centre of town (we felt like locals) and on the way to Connemarra. When we return to Galway (hopefully!!) we will definitely be back to Abbey View.....no question!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Amazing experience at this B&B. Bernie went out of her way to make sure we had a perfect stay at her home. The breakfast was excellent and filling......seriously she would keep bring food out to you. A++++++ If I come back to Galway I will be staying at Abby View. Thank you Bernie!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We arrived on a cold wet evening to the welcome of a big coal fire and a mug of tea. Bernie keeps a homely B&B with fresh flowers everywhere, we even had a sprig of lavender on our pillows. We didn't want to take the car out again so she told us to go to the Abbey Hotel across the road, where we had a very good meal in the cellar bar. Breakfast was well cooked and kept us going for the rest of the day. The only complaint was the poor shower in our room, it may have been a pressure problem but needs sorting.

Room Tip: So far off the road that noise isn't an issue. All rooms are nice and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milldweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed here with my teenage daughter who was delighted with wifi. Bernie the owner was so welcoming lovely person we were asked if we wanted tea or coffee on arrival. Taken to our room which was lovely fresh flowers in vase nice little touch room was cosy electric blankets on beds. Host has great Knowledge of area and suggested a few good restaurants for dinner. When we returned in evening the fire was lit and we watched telly in big living room and were accomadated with drinks again and had a good chat with bernie. Breakfast was excellent. All in all we throughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay again. Home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zxvvbnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Our visit to Galway started off rocky as our car broke down right outside the city. We weren't able to get in touch with the rental company, but after calling Bernie, she was able to get through. After an hour and a half we finally made it to Abbey View. We were welcomed by her son who gave us the option of one of two rooms. It was fairly late so he suggested we ate dinner at the Oak Cellar bar across to road at the hotel.

The next morning we had a delicious Irish breakfast. Bernie was very welcoming and we really felt like we were at home. Her sister in law even drove us into town to pick up our new rental. She gave us a little history if the city. It was such a relief to have that help being out of towners. We stayed in the city for a couple hours and came back to the B&B for a nap. Our nap ran long, but Bernie had thankfully made us reservations across the street. She also hung out my shorts which I had washed to dry.

Overall, an incredibly homely place to stay. We really enjoyed it. We did have to share a bathroom but we didn't mind. It was like staying with family. I will definitely recommend Abbey View to any friends or family that come this way.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nhmejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great location in Galway- easy/close drive to the city. Bar and restaurant within walking distance. Bernie was an excellent host! She makes a great breakfast and was more than willing to share areas to tour and directions on how to get there. Bernie treated us like her own family- very warm welcome. Rooms are clean and cozy! My husband and I traveled Europe for 2 weeks and this was our favorite bed and breakfast. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McEvoy712011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
7.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
832 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 189 in Galway
100 reviews
7.6 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 189 in Galway
299 reviews
2.8 mi away
Asgard Guesthouse
Asgard Guesthouse
#10 of 189 in Galway
474 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#18 of 189 in Galway
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey View

Address: Abbey View Bushy Park | On N59, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £52 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey View 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Abbey View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing