We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality is Above and Beyond!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey View

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Abbey View
Ranked #12 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hospitality is Above and Beyond!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Words cannot express how much we enjoyed our stay at Abbey View! It was a most incredible experience. I must say that the gem of this little B&B is Bernie herself. After a long day of touring on our way to Galway from Cork, my sister and I became lost (no thanks to the GPS we had rented), and so we gave Bernie a call. She was most friendly and very helpful in getting us back on course to the B&B. Because of our mishap, we didn't arrive until about 10:30pm, but Bernie was there ready to greet us and offer us a toasted sandwich along with some hot tea and coffee. Our room was very clean and boasted two twin beds with plush comforters and good mattresses, and the decor made me feel right at home. There was even a sink in the room, which I found convenient for preparing for bed in the evenings (even though the bathroom was straight across the hallway, and was very spacious and well kept also). Bernie took the time to speak with us and offer us many suggestions for our day travels from a local's point of view, and even drew out routes and circled destinations on a map for us to use. Our first day, she even gave us a few pieces of her homemade brown bread and some bananas to take with us to go with the meat and cheese we'd brought for our picnic lunch in Connemara Park. Her tips and suggestions were spot on and we loved exploring the areas she suggested. The Irish breakfast each morning was delicious and cooked to order, and I always left for the day stuffed from the large amount of food! I could go on and on...Bernie offers true Irish hospitality at her cozy, clean, and comfortable B&B. I highly recommend you pick this B&B for your stay in Galway, and I know I will be returning next time I'm in Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    31
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
89
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancleave, Mississippi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We arrived late in the afternoon after a 7:00a.m. arrival in Dublin and cross-country jaunt to Galway and were suffering severely from jet-lag. Bernie McTigue, the wonderful proprietess of Abbey View, plied us with coffee and tea, cookies and biscuits, and after many fun stories about her home city, added Harp beer and Irish whiskey to the menu. We kept her up quite late. She was so warm and we all enjoyed her witty stories - true Irish hospitality. She rose bright-eyed the next morning to feed us all the "Irish Fry Up". In Bernie's own words, our stay there was grand -- lovely!! We only wish we had planned to stay longer in her area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I can't express in words how happy we were with our stay at Abbey View! Bernie greeted us with coffee and tea, gave us maps and made recommendations for parking, dinner and live music. the house is within a very brief drive from a city center. Our room had a beautiful view of a garden - it reminded me of the Japanese gardens. the room and bathroom was very clean and cozy. we had a special request for Bernie and she very happily accommodated. in the morning we had a wonderful breakfast and Bernie gave us more ideas on how to spend the day in Galway and surrounding areas. She is an exceptional hostess and we were so lucky to pick this place to stay at! Highly recommend to others!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and could not have asked for a more warm and welcoming stay. Bernie and her daughter Maria were absolutely wonderful. Food was wonderful and the hospitality we received was outstanding. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend Abbey View. We cannot thank them enough for making our stay one of the most memorable!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

What a fantastic place.Wij are very satisfied about Abbey view .. not just the bed and breakfast was just fine, but Bernie is a great hostess, nothing was too much for her. Moreover, she bakes delicious bread itself, was fresh out of the oven.Het also very nice that there is a good restaurant across the road .., really easy if you do not want to drive a lot more if you'd had a tiring day so .
Bernie and daughter thank you for all the nice days we were with you,
All the best
Peter and Beli
Netherlands.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Bernie was a delightful hostess. She was very interested in our family and trip details. She also had helpful insider tips on how to see Galway's town center. Our room (last on the right) had one of the better showers of the three B&B's we stayed at but they are all cozy with room for only one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providenciales
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Mrs Bernie McTigue could not be warmer and more accommodating, and I doubt there's a better cook in Ireland! If Irish breakfasts are notorious, hers are unforgettable. Coincidentally we met the most fascinating fellow-travelers at her breakfast table. The room was comfortable and quiet and we plan on returning next year. One especially nice touch were the vases of Irish wild flowers throughout the house.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darbyoshaughnessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
1.5 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
7.6 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey View

Property: Abbey View
Address: Abbey View Abbey View Bushy Park | On N59, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey View 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Abbey View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing