We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific family welcomes you!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #65 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a night in June 2014 and we had a great time. The family here were terrific and made you feel like you were at home. Breakfast was terrific. The B&B is walking distance to the downtown area -- perhaps 10 minutes away. Our room was small but cute. Everything was clean and it was pretty charming all around. We'd stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dicor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

All else not supporting high ratings received. There are many B & B within walking distance to the center find another. Out of date furniture, unhygienic fitted carpet, no table and chair but otherwise furniture cluttered room. Tiny, cramped, bathroom, toilet and shower as good as non accessible, water: temperature practically non-adjustable and pressure far too low. Most basic breakfast during my stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arachova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

As many other B & B undeserved high ratings. The shower box with doors fully open does not allow a sidewise squeeze in without touching the doors with both body ends. The shower temperature adjustment was inoperative and the water pressure far from sufficient. As in most places the ventilation needs cleaning. Annoying also the toilet paper holder which disturbs when sitting on on the toilet and does not allow the usage of the paper from a sitting position. Due to too a hot spell (27-30C) no air condition, the windows needed to be kept open at night to ventilate the room and the traffic noise disturbed the sleep. The fitted dust collecting carpet, the purposeless cluttering sofa and two low tables ought to be replaced by a working desk/table and at least one chair. A less basic Irish breakfast would be desirable. The average rating can be maintained thanks to the rack for the luggage, the cracked bidet in the tiny bathroom, functional WiFi, the lovely breakfast area, the front yard parking, reasonable walking distance to the center and friendly service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsay_bocuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Super sweet, young family runs this B&B. They could not be anymore friendly and helpful. We got the last room that they had on the top floor. The room was small, but clean, the bathroom too. It is in a great location, just a 10 minute walk from all the shopping, restaurants and pubs you could ask for. The ONLY problem which was minor, was the strong smell of food in the hallway and in our room. When we opened our window, it was ok, but when we closed it at night, in the morning that is what woke us up. Not a huge problem, but.......... we would stay here again for sure!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niloofar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We arrived in Galway late, in the rain, to find our reserved room was unavailable due to a guest emergency, but a place had been found for us at Anchor Lodge just down the street. Edwina and baby Kyle welcomed us warmly and sympathetically, even offering to toast a sandwich as I didn't want to go out. The room was spotless, the breakfast next day delicious in the conservatory, and the location perfect, a pretty five-minute walk from the center of town. A pleasant and comfortable three-day stay for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Anchor Lodge is perfectly located on College Road, just a several minute walk down the hill to Eyre Square, the shopping/pedestrian street, and the TI. The breakfast was excellent and the price was right. Maybe the best thing about the Anchor is Edwina, the manager--so very friendly, informative, and hard-working. She gave us directions, made reccommendations for placest to go and places to dine, made a reservation for us for a trip to the Cliffs of Moher, allowed us to stash our luggage for a couple hours after we had checked out...such a kind and accommodating B&B manager. The room was fine--basic and small, but my partner and I don't travel to spend a lot of time in our room...all we need is a place that's quiet, clean, and conveniently located, three criteria that the Anchor Lodge met. It's a good choice...enjoy Galway!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yodelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were tired from driving and found Galway traffic to be congestive and the city terribly busy. We were welcomed and allowed to get right to our room to rest up and gather ourselves after a hectic travel time. The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast the next morning was excellent! It was served in a glassed-in patio with a view of beautiful flowers. Very good place to stay, some old world charm with some modernization.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,167 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,805 reviews
2.9 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Guesthouse

Address: Anchor Lodge 13 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £43 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing