We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food, fab staff, economical prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of An Tobar Nua

An Tobar Nua
Ranked #124 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: An Tobar Nua is an Irish and American cafe and coffee shop in a great location, one street away from the historic Claddagh and overlooking the canal in Galway City's popular West end. The delightful ambience inside the cafe is complemented by the original stonework, beautiful seating facing the water and reflective quiet in the atrium. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The fare is a mix of cafe favourites with Irish, American and south-west style food, as well as An Tobar Nua's speciality: delicious homemade desserts and scones baked fresh on-site. The extensive menu contains a full-range of made fresh sandwiches, paninis, homemade soups, salads, wraps, rolls and bagels. Breakfast is served all day. The cooked breakfast options include the mega breakfast, breakfast rolls and omelettes. Visitors can also choose something hot off the grill such as hotdogs, burgers and 'Tex Mex' favourites. It also offers great value meal deals. A full range of hot & iced coffees, teas, sodas, speciality drinks and more provide refreshment any time of the day! An Tobar Nua's superb customer service is a highlight and the friendly staff members are always welcoming and ready to chat. The hospitable atmosphere has made it a local favourite among adults, students and tourists alike. Stop in for a cuppa and a chat!
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, fab staff, economical prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is one of my favourite places to eat in Galway. The food is always excellent, the staff are always friendly, courteous and just wonderful. There's never a rush to get you out the door, you can relax as long as you like. The prices are excellent and the food is prepared fresh for each order. Also homemade cookies that are just yummy. It's child friendly and had wifi...what more could you ask for? Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, cozy environment, affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I first visited An Tobar Nua on a trip to Ireland four years ago, and just returned last week. It was just as great as I remembered! The staff are super friendly, and the food is top quality, especially considering the reasonable prices. I look forward to going again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great visit!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I really enjoyed visiting An Tobar Nua. It has a fantastic view of the canal and isn't far from anything you could want in Galway. The food and drink are cheap and delicious (a rare combination in Ireland for Americans using the Euro!) and there is free, open wifi. It's a cozy, comfortable spot that more people should know about!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnMark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I always stop here....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I frequently travel to Galway, and I always stop in An Tobar Nua to have a bite or a hot cup of coffee. The service is outstanding, the workers seem appreciative for the business, and the view of the canal is wonderful and relaxing. May well be the most reasonably priced cafe in Galway. I will always go back...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank splatoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I had to come back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I visited this cafe about 3 years ago when traveling. I found it so relaxing to sit in the room by the river and sip a cup of tea. My friends and I would travel around town and seemed to always find ourselves back at An Tobar Nua. It is such a treasure. Even after being gone my friends and I would day dream about being back at this coffee shop. I have returned and it is just as perfect as I remember.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed An Tobar Nua also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to An Tobar Nua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing