We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor customer service when things go wrong” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor customer service when things go wrong”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Myself and a friend bought vouchers for this hotel from a website for ourselves and our partners to go away for two nights, the deal was a really good one and seemed like great value. As all four of us work fulltime we bought it on the basis that the voucher came with limited weekend availability. We were not fussy what weekend we went and figured over the three month period it ran for we would get a weekend no problem. Three working days after we were allowed to call the hotel we telephoned to book a weekend. We were quickly told that there was no weekend availability whatsoever over that three month period. The hotel was in fact available to be booked both through their own website and other websites for all weekends so this was very strange. When it was pushed we were told that we couldnt possibly expect to get a weekend on such a cheap deal and from there the treatment we received was very poor and unpleasant to say the least. We took our case to the General Manager of the hotel who was firstly very difficult to get a call back from and turned out sadly have very poor customer service skills himself, he was equally as rude and unhelpful as the staff which makes sense as the culture of any business comes from the top. It seems from the other reviews that this hotel would have been a nice experience and we are very disappointed we wont get to go and see for ourselves. For those of you booking I hope nothing goes wrong that you have to complain about as it seems complaints are seen as a nuisance and not as a way of receiving feeback to improve each customers experience into the future. We eventually recevied a refund.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear JW,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you found our recent GrabOne offer to be great value, however, I was disappointed that we were unable to accommodate your reservation on this occasion. As you can imagine, we had a fantastic response to this offer, which sold out within 24 hours.

JW, as you acknowledged, the offer had “limited weekend availability”. Unfortunately, your friend first called us some twenty days after the offer went live. At this point I was not in a position to accommodate her request as we had reached our weekend deal allocation for this offer. I am sorry you now interpret this as “poor customer service when things go wrong”.

I hope that the above offers some clarity to your concerns. Should you wish to contact me directly to discuss this further I would be happy to speak with you.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    322
    86
    38
    8
See reviews for
110
404
35
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thurles, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The window in my room was so noisy I thought the traffic was going to come through it. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable, I liked the breakfast, pity about the noise. Restaurant staff were pleasant. gentleman on desk was nice and friendly. The lady who checked me out didn't' speak to me.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the front rooms I expect all the windows are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joe and Margar... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We are just back from a two night stay in the Forster Court and the first thing I have to say is that it was really excellent value for money. We travelled with our five month old baby so we decided to eat in the hotel on both evenings. There was a good selection on the menu and everything was very reasonably priced. The service from the bar staff was very friendly and warm. The breakfast buffet was great and it was so nice to be able to order a freshly cooked breakfast from the menu rather than selecting precooked food from a hot plate.

All the staff were very welcoming and helpful and in particular the receptionist, Lisa, who checked us in and made us feel like nothing was too much trouble which set the tone for the rest of our stay.

I love Galway anyway but it was especially fabulous this time and the Christmas market was magical. We hope to return very soon to Galway and the Forster Court.

Thanks to all.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank stephf96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The room was very nice and the bed was decent, the bathroom was clean. The hotel is close to the strip and local bars. Food in the hotel was good just not what I would choose. Friendly staff and helpful for and local info.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micg0v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel was really a nice surprise. It was walking distance to a wonderful tourist area of shopping, restaurants, bars, etc. It was near a park which we walked through to get there so we took our time. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfy. The absolute only comment I have is the front desk gentleman was a little preoccupied and not overly friendly however he did his job.
It was right next to the Tourist Information Center as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helpfultraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have stayed at the Forster Court several times and this past time was just as good at the rest. We had 27 family/friends traveling together and stayed for 2 nights with our Thanksgiving dinner together also. The staff is always very welcoming, the rooms are comfortable and bathrooms clean ad updated. They handled our large group without any issues and were ready for us at check in. The area is very convenient to shopping and pubs without being in a noisy area. I will definitely stay again the next time I'm in Galway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKB918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

It was an enjoyable stay, the room was comfortable, bathroom was ok, hotel in general was nicely decorated. All the staff were very friendly. However unfortunately the food isn't really up to standard although well presented didn't on occasion test great. Although the staff at breakfast are very nice they seemed to be a little frazzled and unorganised which meant orders not taken properly.. delays in foods arriving or even simply the tea.. toast not well toasted in some instances and just in general a little bit all over the place. But these are things that can be sorted easily and I would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PmcG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#26 of 47 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#28 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: Forster Court Hotel Forster Street, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Galway
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off Eyre Square, the hotel offers you the freedom to explore Galway’s many attractions and festivals including the Galway Races, Galway Arts Festival and the Galway Oyster Festival.With 50 luxurious bedrooms and our newly refurbished "Elwoods Bar & Grill". The Forster Court Hotel is the perfect location whether business or pleasure. It has everything you want from a city centre hotel.With every need anticipated and no detail overlooked, Forster Court Hotel in Galway city centre offers style, luxury, relaxation and above all else professional and attentive service from our dedicated team. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Forster Court Galway
Hotel Forster Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing