We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too congested” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galway's Latin Quarter

Galway's Latin Quarter
Ranked #5 of 133 things to do in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Too congested”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Not our kind of place I'm afraid, very very congested and full of tourist tat. It was a Saturday when we visited and it is a main thoroughfare but we were glad to get out of it and experience the relative calmness of the areas around the Spanish Arch

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Harpo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    202
    25
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very lively, bars and restaurants abound. Also took the opoirtunity to visit the Irish Language theatre. Great performance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Malachy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vibrant town centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great place to wander. Many musicians out as well as numerous pubs and restaurants to choose, many with bands playing Irish music from 5.30 onwards although some didn't start until after 9.30. Felt safe and a fun place to be in the evening

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“coffee shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

the cellar bar for a fry was great though i don't know about chips for breakfast.
patisserie for coffee and snack was excellent.
great vibe, buskers giving it their all. shops colourful and varied

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Loved the atmosphere , this is a place where you couldn't but enjoy , such a change from my Sunday afternoon we found friendliness and helpfulness in all our dealings ,some great bars and we ended up in front door whilst busy was really nice with a great buzz , will defy return and this time we will stay in town which has so much to offer

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 19755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galway's Latin Quarter also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Galway's Latin Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing