We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Ardawn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardawn House
Ranked #16 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
779 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,306 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Mike and Breda Guilfoyle are the ideal hosts and their B&B is truly exceptional. From the moment my son and I arrived to the time we checked out (and even beyond check out) Mike and Breda were friendly, hospitable and helpful. My son and I used Galway as a home base for exploring the West of Ireland and Ardawn House was a great pick.

We selected this B&B on the strength of a recommendation in Rick Steves' book and the recommendation is worth it. I usually stay in hotels and when I have tried a B&B in North America I have found that I crave personal space. The Ardawn House has just the right mix of hominess and personal space.

There is a coffee/tea room available on the first floor for all guests to use at anytime. You are also welcome to use the fridge for food that you bring back for your room. The breakfast is great and the food is pleantiful. You are invited to order hot food from a menu and then to help yourself to a cold buffet. The breakfast room itself is roomy and bright.

Our room was on the top floor and my son needed to duck to avoid hitting his head on the last flight of stairs. I was just under the ducking height. The room we had had two beds, an en suite and a neat view of the greyhound racing track of Galway. We watched a couple of races one night.

Mike gave us a map and some excellent recommendations for things to see and do about town. We were especially interested in sessions and there are some great pubs to hear sessions in within walking distance. Tig Coili had them starting at 7:30pm and Taaffe's had them starting at 5:30pm. they are right across from each other on the man pedestrianized street downtown. Also, a good spot for fish is McDonagh's (just down from Taaffe's). Mike gave a great suggestion for a restaurant by the harour named Bar * (well worth a try) and indeed there is a good one called Elwood's grill about 5-10 minutes walk from the Ardawn House.

You are just a short walk to the bus station where you can grab coach tours to various places like Kylemore Abbey or the Cliffs of Moher. There are plenty of them and it didn't appear there would have been any trouble booking one without a reservation (we had pre-booked with Failte Tours).

We had planned to walk to the train to head back to Dublin to finish off our trip but Mike wouldn't hear of it so he packed our bags in his car and drove us to the station.

Ask Mike about his Antarctic adventure to re-enact Shackleton's expedition. He tells a great story with a tragic ending for a couple of his friends on a subsequent trip they made to K2.

I can't recommend the Ardawn House highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JamesII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    72
    32
    15
    10
See reviews for
136
195
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Ardawn House was the best B&B we stayed at during our vacation to Ireland. Mr. and Mrs. Guilfoyle were fantastic hosts, and kept their B&B very clean and hospitable. Mr. Guilfoyle even went out of his way to give us a ride to the train station, so that we would not miss our train as we were running late. A delicious breakfast was provided each morning, free Wi-Fi was also provided. The B&B was walking distance to the town, but still located in a quiet neighborhood. The Ardawn House created a truly memorable Irish experience for us, and we would highly recommend it to anybody traveling to Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Galway was our first stop after arriving at Shannon airport for a 12-day vacation in Ireland in September 2011. Ardawn House was a great introduction to the people and the culture. Mike and Breda were wonderful hosts, gave us recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants. The breakfasts were delightful, filling, and as typical as we wanted. Breda gave us her recipe for Irish brown bread, which was outstanding! We definitely hope to go back someday!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phylis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Spent one night there early May 2012. Host was accommodating and very friendly. House is nice: not the most beautiful but tastefully done. Room was plain and bed was comfortable. Bathroom was small but clean and useful. Water pressure was excellent. Breakfast was very good - the full Irish if you want it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quail84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We arrived in Galway after 6 without reservations. Mike from the travel agency on Forster Street not only helped us find Ardawn but called for us and made reservations. We got excellent recommendations where to have dinner. Breakfast was awesome. Mike and Breda were tremendous hosts. Very friendly. Not only found us a golf course but called and got us an all in deal to play. Rooms were very clean. Rates very reasonable. Location is short distance from the city center. Bit of a hike to the Claddaugh and Salthill. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Lovely B&B - even lovelier hosts. Mike and Breda were so welcoming and made us regret we only had 1 night's stay with them. Gave us TERRIFIC dinner recommendation - one of the best meals we had while in Ireland - Bar8. I could see being friends with these 2 - if only we lived in Ireland!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We were amazed to find a room right next to the Connaught ground. The greeting was friendly, the room was great, we couldn't ask for much more. We had time to spare so we went in to Galway for a dinner/snack and a pint before the game. We chose a burger shop, Supermacs, a common chain in Ireland but awful burger, never again. We made our way to the game which was great and close, unfortunately Munster clinched it in the last 10 mins or so. Back to Ardawns for a great sleep and the best breakfast we've had so far in Ireland. The Owners tried their hardest to help us find a local hurling or football match to see and we set off, hopeful. Slight downside is that wooden flooring meant you could hear some of the late night revellers returning.
Room 8/10 - a good size
Bed 9/10 lovely bed
Shower 7/10
Breakfast 9/10

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSarah1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,887 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,749 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
2.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardawn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardawn House

Property: Ardawn House
Address: Ardawn House 31 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ardawn House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardawn House is a family run city centre bed and breakfast. We are located close to the tourist office and the coach station where all the day tour buses depart from. We have 8 very comfortable rooms all en-suite. We have free car parking and WiFi.In 2011 we completely refurbished all our room. We have a huge choice of breakfast and most of our produce is local and organic. Your hosts and owners are Mike and Breda Guilfoyle who have vast experience in the hospitality sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ardawn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardawn House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing