We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Ardawn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardawn House
Ranked #16 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Mike and Breda were wonderful hosts. Their B&B is clean, inviting, well-located. Breakfast was tasty and convenient. If you're going to Galway (which, of course, you should), the Ardawn House is a superb choice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have stayed at Ardawn House for one night with a friend. This was an excellent place to stay over. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The same is true for the bathroom in our room. Breakfast and breakfast service was overwhelmingly good, but that's perhaps because I come from Europe and am not used to a full Irish breakfast. In short, I recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Ardawn House is a lovely, unpretentious place with warm, charming hosts. We stayed for 5 nights in mid-September. The house is beautifully kept and the beds very comfortable. We had no car but were able to walk everywhere from this B&B. Breda is an excellent cook; her breakfasts were delicious. Mike and Breda also recommended two very good restaurants that we wouldn't have found on our own.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank brabra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ardawn House for one night in September. The hostess was very friendly and provided a map of Galway, suggested some restaurants and really encouraged us to walk around so that we could fully appreciate Galway. Ardawn house had a great location, it was only a short walk to the main part of town where the shops and restaurants were. Our room was just average, no special touches to make it feel cozy and it reminded me of a college dormitory. The bathroom was very small and awkwardly laid out. There was a ledge along the floor of the bathroom, which I assumed housed the plumbing. It was very close to the toilet, which made that area feel a little cramped. Neither my husband or I are particularly tall or large people, but we both found the shower to be nearly too small to be functional. Bathroom could have used a little more attention during cleaning, as the wall tiles and trim pieces were extremely dusty, suggesting that they hadn't been wiped down for several weeks.

Overall, Ardawn House was just average. The host and hostess were friendly, but the rooms didn't have the special touches that we noticed at several of the other B&Bs we stayed at during the course of our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princesspepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We arrived late (7ish) after doing the Connemara Loop that day. Our quiet room was very clean and cozy. They recommended the most superb restaurant too! (Artisan). Breda makes an awesome breakfast, is delightful to talk to and Mike is wonderful with the advice. We would highly recommend, both the place and the restaurant!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackenzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Ardawn for 6 days in August, 2013. My daughter had stayed there previously and was so happy to return. We were greeted in a wonderful Irish welcome and felt at home immediately. During our stay, everything was immaculately clean, our breakfast was first rate everyday and anytime we had a question or needed help we were met with a "no trouble at all" response. We would love to return to Ireland one day and look forward to staying at Ardawn again. It is everything a Band B should be.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the room on the top floor with a view of the Greyhound Stadium. Some may not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely B&B! Cozy, comfortable, and very clean rooms. Our family reserved 3 rooms and we all enjoyed the stay. Easy walk to the city center. Delicious breakfast, Breda & Mike were wonderful hosts and were very accommodating.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank smokeycleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,896 reviews
5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0 mi away
Asgard Guesthouse
Asgard Guesthouse
#10 of 189 in Galway
475 reviews
0 mi away
Balcony House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardawn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardawn House

Address: Ardawn 31 College Road, Galway H91 P2N2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £88 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ardawn House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardawn House is a family run city centre bed and breakfast. We are located close to the tourist office and the coach station where all the day tour buses depart from. We have 8 very comfortable rooms all en-suite. We have free car parking and WiFi.In 2011 we completely refurbished all our room. We have a huge choice of breakfast and most of our produce is local and organic. Your hosts and owners are Mike and Breda Guilfoyle who have vast experience in the hospitality sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ardawn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardawn House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing