We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B-very friendly owners”
Review of Ardawn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardawn House
Ranked #15 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Great B&B-very friendly owners”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in Ardwan House for 3nights in sept 2013. This B&B is only a 20 minutes walk away from the centre of Galway. Upon arrival very warm welcome and plenty of explanations to discover Galway. The room, under the roof, was large, modern and perfect, the bathroom very clean. The breakfast was with a buffet and a daily choice of eggs, salmon or bacon nicely cooked by the man of the house. His wife is a warm and friendly person giving good advice regarding nice places to see and to eat,.. Free coffee, thee and biscuits were available in the living room.We enjoyed our stay very much and recommend Ardawn House to anyone travelling to Galway ! Luc and Fabienne - Belgium

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    73
    33
    15
    10
See reviews for
139
197
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent one night at the Ardawn House near the end of our week in Ireland. We had just dropped a rental car off after touring western Ireland. Ardawn House is a 15 minute walk to the train and bus station--you just do not need a car in Galway or for the Ardawn House. Even though we were early, Mike welcomed us warmly and immedatly gave us suggestions for a late lunch. Our room was nice with a very old world European feel. The pillows and beds were very comfortable!
Make sure to follow the map as you head down to city center. College Road runs on a bit of a diagonal and it took us a bit to get oriented.
We had a fantastic breakfast the following morning! Breda handled a rush of nearly all the guests at the same time with poise and a smile. The fresh eggs and local bacon were a treat. She even shared her wonderful bread recipe with us!
This was a nice spot, lovely hospitality. I would stay there again if we were coming through Galway!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMeredithP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Mike and Breda were great hosts. They were very helpful with restaurants, exploring the area and helping us to navigate to our next stop. We had 3 beds, for the 3 of us and we were comfortable with the size of the room. The location was convenient, as we did not have to drive in the city, but merely walked. The breakfast was super and we felt very welcome. Mike helped us get our car radio working correctly. I would stay with them again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Galway was the last stop for us before heading back to Dublin to fly home. We were approaching travel-weary stage...Ardawn House was the perfect antidote! Mike and Breda are friendly, helpful, welcoming...we were sorry to leave! Our room was comfortable, the location was convenient, and our breakfast was the best one I had in all of Ireland. Breda even shared her recipe for brown soda bread, which I can't wait to try! I would recommend Ardawn House with no hesitation whatsoever!

Room Tip: Only saw room 2--it was perfectly fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Mike and Breda were wonderful hosts. Their B&B is clean, inviting, well-located. Breakfast was tasty and convenient. If you're going to Galway (which, of course, you should), the Ardawn House is a superb choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-niklaas, Oost-vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have stayed at Ardawn House for one night with a friend. This was an excellent place to stay over. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The same is true for the bathroom in our room. Breakfast and breakfast service was overwhelmingly good, but that's perhaps because I come from Europe and am not used to a full Irish breakfast. In short, I recommend it to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Ardawn House is a lovely, unpretentious place with warm, charming hosts. We stayed for 5 nights in mid-September. The house is beautifully kept and the beds very comfortable. We had no car but were able to walk everywhere from this B&B. Breda is an excellent cook; her breakfasts were delicious. Mike and Breda also recommended two very good restaurants that we wouldn't have found on our own.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank brabra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,922 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,782 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 188 in Galway
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardawn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardawn House

Property: Ardawn House
Address: Ardawn House 31 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ardawn House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardawn House is a family run city centre bed and breakfast. We are located close to the tourist office and the coach station where all the day tour buses depart from. We have 8 very comfortable rooms all en-suite. We have free car parking and WiFi.In 2011 we completely refurbished all our room. We have a huge choice of breakfast and most of our produce is local and organic. Your hosts and owners are Mike and Breda Guilfoyle who have vast experience in the hospitality sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ardawn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardawn House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing