We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hens week end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 26 June 2012

had an excellant time in galway ,16 of us styed there on fri 24 st 25 june .we were really looked after by a very attentive staffe ach and every one of them were a credit to the hotel from paula on reception to karl our breakfast waiter , there was a great atmosphere in the hotle lovely and clean too food ,very very good .will go again for sure

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Skeffington Arms Hotel. Such a positive review is greatly appreciated and your comments will surely be passed on to all the staff here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

A group of 10 of us stayed here for a hen weekend last week. I highly recommend this hotel. The staff were friendly and very eager to do anything to make our stay more pleasant. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was lovely, much better than a lot of hotels I've stayed in. The location was brilliant. We had booked Cocktail making classes here too and i must say they were well worth the money. Our start time for this was delayed but to make up for this all 10 of us got a drink voucher, which was much appreciated.Once the class did start we were entertained from start to finish and most of us left a little tipsy. It's a great way to start your night out. Tom our cocktail 'Guru' was fun and entertaining and made amazing cocktails.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleTravelingMatt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Skeffington Arms Hotel. Such a positive review is greatly appreciated and your comments will surely be passed on to all the staff here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The whole atmosphere in the hotel and with the personnel was amazing!Really nice place.Great food, nice staff and very welcoming one. Rooms clean, great location, continental breakfast served into such a lovely hall for such average price for this category hotel. Really the perfect frame in a lovely central square as the Eyre one. A place defo to go and visit again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Miss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Skeffington Arms Hotel. Such a positive review is greatly appreciated and your comments will surely be passed on to all the staff here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

If you are on a short visit to Galway and need a centrally located hotel, then the Skeff is a good option.

We stayed there for one night at the end of May through Lidl breaks. We stayed on a b&b basis for around €70.

The check-in was friendly and efficient, and we got a room in a quiet part of the hotel. Breakfast choice was excellent, and served part buffet and part waiter service.

I parked my car in Dyke Rd long-term car park but in hindsight I could have used the hotel offer of €9 for 24 hours in one of the near-by car parks.

We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishwhite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Skeffington Arms Hotel. Such a positive review is greatly appreciated and your comments will surely be passed on to all the staff here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Very central hotel, great for being within walking distance of the city centre. Food was fantastic. Hotel was on special offer so only paid €65 ish which is just about its worth.

Room Tip: Need to ask for a room away from the noise of the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda8287334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor and taking the time to let us know your thoughts of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and will be sure to pass on your comments to the team here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you both back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just home from a 2night break and had a great time! Was checked into our rooms by a fellow donegal man and made us feel so welcomed. room was clean and well kept and loved the 2bars of crunchies on table. we had breakfast in bar twice as its served up till 12noon,and the bar menu is also great.and not forgeting a great cocktail menu. Bar staff were fab! so nice and welcoming...overall great hotel great food and great staff. look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amtd101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor and taking the time to let us know your thoughts of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and will be sure to pass on your comments to the team here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you both back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

If you're planning to stay in Galway (which is a tourist trap and absolutely not like anything described in the guide books) avoid this place like the plague. Nothing works from the TV to the A/C, I'm surprised there is water coming out of the faucets. And the pub next door has a disco going almost every night with earthshaking music until 2am, followed by drunks yelling and shouting for another hour outside the place. Do yourself a favor and bypass Galway in general and this hotel in particular. Stay in a nice place in the country and enjoy Ireland for what it is. This town is nothing more than a huge frat party and a tourist trap living on past memories....

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernieindallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Skeffington Arms Hotel. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time in Galway City, it is a busy city and its coming to tourist season so there is a few more festival happening in the City. When making a booking and also again on check in we inform every one that we are city centre and we do have a pub next door. We have live Irish music from Monday to Friday and a Dj on weekends.

If you could email me on your details and I’ll check into your booking as no guest has complained about TV or air con not working while staying with us Lisa@skeffington.ie


Warm regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Forster Court Hotel
Forster Court Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
941 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#27 of 46 in Galway
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeffington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £64 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing