We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit is on the cards!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Return visit is on the cards!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here last week with a group of friends and was very happy with our room and the service from the staff.Located in a prime location and expected it to be noisy but we had no complaints at all.Will recommend

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel. We hope to see you back with us again.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    153
    46
    32
    43
See reviews for
53
194
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I have yet to arrive at the Skeffington Arms and I already believe I have made a wise choice. They have answered every one of my emails promptly and with great satisfaction. I look forward to my stay.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mtnmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Skeffington Arms Hotel. We hope that you will enjoy your stay in our hotel; we are coming to our busy season with festival so you will be spoiled for choice on entertainment in our wonderful city.

Warm regards from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Although I stayed here over a year ago,I swore I wouldnt again,but am heading there this weekend on a hen party.I am hoping that what greets me this time is better.I have been reading past reviews,as I didnt before,as I thought it was a great hotel,hearing from other people.We arrived late in the evening,reception staff were nice,but had to park in car park about 10min walk,with bags.The smell that meet me on the stairs was of sewage and not very pleasant.room quiet small.We went to bar,left to eat and came back to residents bar,not able to get serve,staff not very pleaant.THe smell carried on for the weekend.THe same thing happened in bar oin following night.for what we paid for the hotel,diffenatley not worht the money,as breakfast wasnt great either.having worked in this industry for a long time,I was quiet surprised by the stanards.Had to also pay carpark,almost 20e for 2 nights.we didnt complain on leaving as I was so dissapionted by the hotel.would not reccomend it .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank berthaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

had an excellant time in galway ,16 of us styed there on fri 24 st 25 june .we were really looked after by a very attentive staffe ach and every one of them were a credit to the hotel from paula on reception to karl our breakfast waiter , there was a great atmosphere in the hotle lovely and clean too food ,very very good .will go again for sure

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Skeffington Arms Hotel. Such a positive review is greatly appreciated and your comments will surely be passed on to all the staff here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2012

A group of 10 of us stayed here for a hen weekend last week. I highly recommend this hotel. The staff were friendly and very eager to do anything to make our stay more pleasant. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was lovely, much better than a lot of hotels I've stayed in. The location was brilliant. We had booked Cocktail making classes here too and i must say they were well worth the money. Our start time for this was delayed but to make up for this all 10 of us got a drink voucher, which was much appreciated.Once the class did start we were entertained from start to finish and most of us left a little tipsy. It's a great way to start your night out. Tom our cocktail 'Guru' was fun and entertaining and made amazing cocktails.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleTravelingMatt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Skeffington Arms Hotel. Such a positive review is greatly appreciated and your comments will surely be passed on to all the staff here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

The whole atmosphere in the hotel and with the personnel was amazing!Really nice place.Great food, nice staff and very welcoming one. Rooms clean, great location, continental breakfast served into such a lovely hall for such average price for this category hotel. Really the perfect frame in a lovely central square as the Eyre one. A place defo to go and visit again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Miss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Skeffington Arms Hotel. Such a positive review is greatly appreciated and your comments will surely be passed on to all the staff here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

If you are on a short visit to Galway and need a centrally located hotel, then the Skeff is a good option.

We stayed there for one night at the end of May through Lidl breaks. We stayed on a b&b basis for around €70.

The check-in was friendly and efficient, and we got a room in a quiet part of the hotel. Breakfast choice was excellent, and served part buffet and part waiter service.

I parked my car in Dyke Rd long-term car park but in hindsight I could have used the hotel offer of €9 for 24 hours in one of the near-by car parks.

We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishwhite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Skeffington Arms Hotel. Such a positive review is greatly appreciated and your comments will surely be passed on to all the staff here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 46 in Galway
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#32 of 46 in Galway
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#33 of 46 in Galway
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#22 of 46 in Galway
1,424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeffington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Property: Skeffington Arms Hotel
Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing