We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Galway base, great breakfast”
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
essex, uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Galway base, great breakfast”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Park House Hotel in October. Hotel is in a really good position, close to bars, restaurants, shops, and reasonably straightforward to get in and out of town in the car. Valet parking was well staffed.

Our standard room was very comfortable, had one king bed and one single, both comfy, also small sofa and well stocked tea tray! Plenty of room for 2 suitcases. Bathroom was ample size, only down side was the shower head was quite low for my partner (6ft 2"), and pressure a little weak, but really no big problem. Rooms were very clean, and we found ours very quiet.

Breakfast was amazing! Superb service, and excellent cold & hot food, a real pleasure, the highlight of our stay!

The bar was really lively - live music one night (bank holiday weekend). We found all staff very friendly.

A great base for Galway, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,829
    616
    164
    52
    21
See reviews for
568
1,321
81
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mantua, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I recently ran a group tour to Galway and on the recommendation of our coach driver we stayed at the Park House Hotel. This is the perfect example of a family-owned and operated hotel with the old fashioned standards of hospitality and professionalism. The rooms were lovely, large and very well-equipped. The lobby was warm and inviting. The desk staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The food was excellent! With a tour you are often given very limited choices for the dinners. Our choices were numerous with several choices for starters, entrees and desserts and everything was delicious and beautifully presented. Breakfasts were outstanding as well, with many choices, including eggs cooked several ways, not just the scrambled or fried options. I will be using the Park House Hotel for all future tours to Galway!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Very well run hotel, well managed, all staff well trained very conscientious and yet still friendly and welcoming. We were upgraded to a deluxe room and it was spacious and well equipped. The breakfast is probably the best hotel breakfast we have ever had, great variety and perfect croissants!. Great to have your breakfast served to you at your table and not have to cue for cold or overcooked food! Check in was so quick and easy, they will park your car for you too! Having wandered into other hotels in Galway, I am confident we picked the best! You get the warm glow feeling as soon as you walk in the door!

Room Tip: Try for deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_McC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We reserved an upgraded room and were happy with the size. The beds were very comfortable (best of the trip) and the included breakfast was terrific (the plaice was fantastic). Excellent service and great location. Had a great meal at McSwiggans pub, not far from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
285 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel in September while completing a driving holiday of Ireland. We stayed just one night but found the service and accommodation quite good.

As we were driving and parking at the hotel, we were instructed to enter via Fairgreen Street and the porter met us and parked our car for us. Parking is free. It was nice being able to walk virtually straight into the hotel after a long driving day ( We had driven Connemara during the day after leaving Doolin earlier in the morning - well worth the drive!).

Reception was helpful and friendly (with even an Aussie or two behind the desk!). Our room was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. We ate in the dining room and enjoyed our meal and again the service was good.

An easy stroll into town from the hotel,

Breakfast was included in our tariff and this was varied and pleasant - served in the same dining room as dinner the previous night.

Upon check out the valet brought our car to us which again was a nice touch (especially as it was raining). The smile at the end of our stay was very nice.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Galway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights while visiting her daughter. We had done quite a bit of searching, looking for a place that was close to everything that we could walk to and that was also close to the university. It was a 15 minute walk to the university and only a short walk to Quay street area where there is lots of shops, pubs. The hotel is lovely, and very well kept . The staff are exceptional, friendly (typical for Ireland) and very helpful. Considering how close this hotel is to everything, the hotel is very quiet. Rooms are clean and everything is well maintained.
There is a restaurant in the hotel but we opted to eat in the pubs and enjoy the Irish music. Although this was not my first time in Ireland, it was the first time in this area. I would definitely go back and absolutely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Wonderful location, warm welcoming decor. Room was lovely, very spacious and furniture was great quality. Breakfast in the moring had tasty food and good choice of pastries/juices. Service was polite and efficient. Overall a comfortably stylish hotel and we would be very happy to stay again.

Slight negative were the bathroom which was out of keeping with the quality of the hotel, the side was chipped wood and the sealant around the bath was a green colour in places (very clean bathroom, probably staining as a result of a cleaning product but very off-putting). Also holes in tiles where previous fittings had been.

I'm sure the hotel will take this on-board as they seem very professional and we look forward to staying there in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cofcof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Property: Park House Hotel
Address: Park House Hotel 18 Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galway
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#2 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Hotel, Galway is conveniently located in the heart of Galway's city centre, with private secure car-parking on the grounds of the hotel. The hotel blends the warmth and personality of a boutique hotel with the style and luxury of a contemporary 4 Star international hotel. Guest accommodation comprises of 84 rooms divided into superior & deluxe rooms, suites and serviced apartments. The award-winning Park Restaurant is a favourite with locals and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing