We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In Need of Updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“In Need of Updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

It's been three years since my husband and I last stayed at the Park House and since my last review. Sadly, a couple of stars have been dropped from my rating. For me, the most important qualities in a great hotel are a friendly and helpful staff, a comfortable bed, quiet rooms, adequate lighting, and room temperature which can be adjusted to my comfort. I also enjoy updated amenities such as TV, iron, and hair dryer and a sufficient number of outlets to charge my electronic devices. The Park House still has a very friendly and helpful staff. We were welcomed warmly when we arrived and were served tea in the lobby. The bed was not very comfortable. I am including a photo of the hotel mattress - I would expect better quality from a nice hotel. Many of the people who stay at the Park House are older (at least this is what I observed in the breakfast room), so bed comfort is very important. The temperature was mild when we were in Galway (40s to 50s Fahrenheit), and we were warm most of the time in the room. We opened windows and were still too warm. There is "air conditioning" but it was too noisy for us to sleep. The room had adequate lighting and a good number of electrical outlets. The hair dryer (see my picture) is a joke. It works only slightly better than air drying your hair. The handle to the dryer kept falling apart in my hand, and the awkward tube attachment would get so hot it would burn my hand. As is the case with many Irish hotels, we had a trouser press but no iron. Breakfast is okay, but not as good as I remember it. We would order a hot breakfast each morning, but the portions are much smaller than what we have gotten from other Irish hotels and B&Bs. They generally serve only one egg with the breakfast. We ordered pancakes one day and received only one that was about 3 inches in diameter. We did find our room to be very quiet. There is no refrigerator in the room. The hotel is a short walk to the train/bus station and Eyre Square. Overall, I am sad to say that we will probably try a different hotel next time unless the Park House updates.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tarheeldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,809
    608
    161
    51
    21
See reviews for
557
1,303
81
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I compliment the staff in this hotel for their genuine (and not fake) friendliness that was all about "how can we help you". We arrived in their car park at the back entrance to the hotel and were quickly greeted by the bellboy who had our luggage in the hotel and the car taken to be parked in record time and very pleasantly. When we walked into the hotel you just get a warm feeling (not all to do with the heating system). The lighting is soft, it smells nice, its clean and there are nice seating areas in the lobby. We arrived early to get to the Christmas markets in Eyre Square so we knew we would not get to our room straight away but Sam (noticed his name tag) offered to call us as soon as the room was ready. I think at this point any hotel has had sufficient time to leave a good or bad impression on the guest and this was all good at The Park. We stayed in a junior suite and it was perfect for three with lovely space, quite, seating areas and a nice bathroom with the good quality Aveda products. Breakfast was busy the next morning but we didnt get the noise level that would normally go with that and we enjoyed a lovely cooked warm breakfast which included proper scrambled eggs (not the stuff that resembles a cake of mousse) and kippers, all that served by "good at their job" staff with a smile! This is great hotel and brilliant location for visiting Galway.

Room Tip: Junior suite is great option
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights here and was very pleased. Right beside Eyre square. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout. Although we didn't eat in the restaurant for lunch or dinner the breakfast was excellent. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeddyBertin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Cannot speak highly enough of this hotel.Always a pleasant experience to stay at the Park House - central location - great food - friendly staff. All-in-all the best hotel we have stayed in- better than some five star hotels of our experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offaly
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and i have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel, and we both agree it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in for a long time. The hotel is perfectly located only a stone's throw away from Eyre square and the main tourist area. The staff were very friendly and polite at all times. We did not have any meals during our stay at the hotel, but if the excellent breakfast is anything to go by, then you will not be disappointed. the room was very spacious and clean.
We will definitely come back to this hotel when back in Galway in the future.

Jim H.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

A fantastic hotel in the heart of Galway .... Great staff, great rooms and a fantastic breakfast ! Car parking is off site but car is ready to pick up out back when required. Will be staying again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishmike1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Every time we go to Galway we only stay at the Park House , wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else . From the moment one enters the hotel one feels welcome . The staff go beyond the call of duty ,friendliness abounds . The meals both in the bar and the restaurant are superb , beautifully presented and more than ample portions . Under the watchful eye of the ever present Miss Kitty this hotel is one of the most welcoming establishments I have had the pleasure of staying in again and again .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Property: Park House Hotel
Address: Park House Hotel 18 Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#1 Business Hotel in Galway
#2 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Hotel, Galway is conveniently located in the heart of Galway's city centre, with private secure car-parking on the grounds of the hotel. The hotel blends the warmth and personality of a boutique hotel with the style and luxury of a contemporary 4 Star international hotel. Guest accommodation comprises of 84 rooms divided into superior & deluxe rooms, suites and serviced apartments. The award-winning Park Restaurant is a favourite with locals and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing