We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Style”
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Wonderful charming town centre hotel which has retained its character.

The staff are full of a warm Irish welcome from the moment you check in.

The reception curves round with plenty of sofas and tables to sit with friends.

The rooms are clean and have all the facilities you need.

Car parking is available

Breakfast is cooked to order with plenty of staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoomzoomboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,557 - 1,563 of 2,912 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

For my girlfriends birthday she wanted a weekend getaway. We hadn't been to Galway yet as a couple, so I began looking for hotels in Galway. Tripadvisor has served me well over the years, and seeing the Park House as the top ranked I figured I'd give it a shot. Initially though I was a little sceptical of my choice, because we're a late 20's couple and normally stay in modern hotels and the Park House looked a little too old worldly from its website. That said, we were going to Galway for the city, not in particular the hotel, so I stuck with the Park House.

Well I can only say great things about the Park House. From the free valet, to the warm welcome and the large rooms, the Park House is a hotel I'll be recommending to anyone who stays in Galway. I had booked a standard room, but when we get in the door I was nearly sure it was upgraded to a suite. Either that or rooms are some of the biggest in Ireland.

By chance we had friends staying in the G Hotel down the road, and they were not as impressed with their hotel as we were. Its been said in other reviews, but its the service that sets the Park House apart. That and the location! Keep up the good work Park House & Staff!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTypicalExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We went here for the gala dinner New Year's Eve. It was terrific. Meal was lovely and great choices. Crackers on the table. Tickets for spot prizes. There were drive of us and we all had a terrific night and said pg we will be there next year. Music and dancing very enjoyable. Plenty if spot prizes. We won four at our table. This was our first time here for New Year's Eve and I would highly recommend it. Unfortunately they were booked out to stay and we stayed in the Connacht. The park house hotel always give a lovely meal whether its during the day of at night. Any time we go to Galway we eat here. Well done to all the staff on New Year's Eve. They took part in the dancing to get the crowd up. Very friendly and good humoured staff and very helpful. Full marks to you all. Look forward to going there next time in Galway.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank alila60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived in Galway in the evening without a reservation and the Park was the first hotel I tried. I probably should have kept looking. I was told they only had a suite for 159 euros/night. The room had a double and two singles, which was not the optimal configuration for just my wife and I. To make matters worse, the room was jammed with a great deal of old, not very useful furnishings, such as two separate writing desks that together would accommodate three people writing at the same time. We did no writing while in the room, but spent some time trying to find space for our luggage. The hotel is a very old establishment and in its day, it was probably excellent. The public spaces are somewhat elegant and nice, but our room was very old and tired and due for refurbishing. The dining room in which breakfast was served was very spacious and nice and the breakfast itself was excellent. All in all, the Park provided a comfortable place to sleep, but the ambiance was lacking and it did not represent a good value. I suspect that are better hotel options in Galway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AkrontravelerAkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Have just returned from my first visit to The Park Hotel in Galway; am I sorry I didn't discover this gem sooner! Everything about this hotel is first class: on arrival I was offered tea/coffee / & cake; what a welcome after a long drive. My room was beautiful, warm & spotlessly clean. Each & every member of staff were so welcoming & friendly. The food was the best I have had in years; , beautifully cooked & presented on really hot plates. The menu was extensive , catering for even the most discerning customer! The whole atmosphere in the hotel was homely & such a lovely change from the usual impersonal one found in so many establishments. I will definitely return!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank DublinDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a suite with our two children. The room was lovely and clean however did 'store' a lot of unnecessary furniture, ie multiple chest of drawers from different collections and eras, an office desk right in front of the radiator and a writing desk in front of a full length mirror. It seemed odd, perhaps they had nowhere else to store the spare pieces! Despite the very strange decor it was very clean and lovely and warm. The restaurant was lovely and the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and interact with the children. They really do deserve a special mention for their attention to detail and friendly service. Overall i would recomment this hotel as a great place to stay on a shopping trip to Galway

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coug77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Trip advisor, I trust you! Great location and a good restaurant. Slight preference in terms of decor however it might just be me, somewhat dated and the beds aren't great nor the pillows. I do however believe that a person makes a difference, good or bad. Please take Martin off the floor, he doesn't want to be there and so you should take him off. My opinion however we spent about 600 Euro at the hotel during our meals for two days and he made us feel unwelcome. This is my opinion however I feel that you, as a hotel should pay very special attention to your people. Sam also was somewhat aloof.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,145 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,237 reviews
2 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Address: Park House Hotel 18 Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#1 Business Hotel in Galway
#2 Family Hotel in Galway
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £78 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Hotel, Galway is conveniently located in the heart of Galway's city centre, with private secure car-parking on the grounds of the hotel. The hotel blends the warmth and personality of a boutique hotel with the style and luxury of a contemporary 4 Star international hotel. Guest accommodation comprises of 84 rooms divided into superior & deluxe rooms, suites and serviced apartments. The award-winning Park Restaurant is a favourite with locals and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing