We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Downpatrick, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Hotel is located within walking distance of all the pubs, restaurants and shops you could want. Our delux room was top notch, staff were excellent, really helpful, breakfast was mighty, didn't need another bite until dinner that night, car park at the back door was handy. The whole place was spotless and very comfortable, I would rate this hotel better than 4*, and would recommend it highly

Room Tip: Delux rooms are nice, get one to the back for extra peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulmccartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,806
    604
    161
    51
    21
See reviews for
556
1,299
81
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Three friends were meeting for a rendevous after a six month interval, and needed to stay somewhere within

walking distance of Galway city centre, and we were delighted to get accomodation in The Park Hotel near Eyre Square.

We were delighted with the accomodation in every way. Being able to book a parking space for the car was a great plus and we found the staff very welcoming, courteous and accomodating. Being offered a welcoming cup of tea was a refreshing delight which we couldn't resist! We found the rooms spacious, airy ,looking out on pleasant surrounds, and noise free.

Tea/coffee making facilities made it very homely ,and for the weary traveller , a varied menu
suggested that food could be ordered from the room.

Hotel has excellent dining facilities, and extensive bar and lobby space, for prolonged chats with friends, and again very good service.

We enjoyed a really good breakfast which set us up for the day, and vowed that we would repeat the experience again within the near future.
Our only regret was that our visit was such a short one but that can be rectified next time.

We would highly recommend Park Hotel to anyone who wold like a delightful experience
of Galway and the West of Ireland.

Joan Gleeson

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Brilliant stay. The hotel is in a perfect location close to bus and train and also eyre square and I loved the hotel. Got a delux room I think it is called with the little extras. Good was really tasty. Staff very friendly as well.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jewel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moville, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend in the Park House Hotel recently. It is located just off Eyre Square and is very convenient to all amenities. All the staff were so friendly and helpful and did their utmost to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We love Galway for a weekend away and have stayed in other hotels there but the Park House is our favourite and we love coming back to it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just returned from a golden break ..3 nights.. eight in our party The only way I can describe the whole experience was wonderful from start to finish.. we do not have one complaint The staff were out standing, from the reception/ bar and Resturant
the rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean
The food was really great,with a lot of choice We could recommend this Hotel
and we will consider returning
Pamela Evans

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evansewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at the Park House for two nights at the beginning of a 6 night vacation in Ireland from the US. The hotel is well located in the main area of Galway with shopping and other tourist areas very near by and access to public transportion also nearby. The hotel is a traditional place with a spacious lobby and free parking. There are 3 separate eating areas with complimentary breakfast served each day in the main dining room. Staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was very nice. Roomy, comfortable and quiet. We really enjoyed the towel warmer in the bathroom where the fixtures were all white marbel. After a long transatlantic flight, we wanted a comfortable hotel with all of conveniences and this hotel fully met our expectations. Enjoyed it very much and would return.

The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of options to suit any taste or preference.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 401, which had a large bed and 2 smaller beds. The room was quiet and would be fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pxisright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had stayed at the Meyrick Hotel on Eyre Square during past visits to Galway. The Meyrick is an excellent hotel and we planned on staying there again this year. We were staying longer and needed two rooms so we were a little more cost conscious. Based on Trip Advisor reviews (and price) we decided to give the Park House Hotel a try.

It was a great decision - our entire experience was truly exceptional.

The Park House is only steps away from Eyre Square and the center of Galway. It is conveniently located and a comfortable walk to all Galway has to offer. While the location is ideal, and the hotel is beautifully appointed and meticulously maintained, it was the warm and personal service that impressed us most.

This is a privately owned hotel (not a corporate chain). You'll notice the owners' commitment to excellence and exceptional service from the moment you arrive. In our case, we were greeted by Patrick English as we parked our car a few steps from the reception desk. Since two college-age sons were traveling with us, we didn't need any help with our luggage, but Mr. English assured us that he and his colleagues would be available and pleased to assist us if we needed anything to make our stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible.

What an understatement! Irish hospitality is legendary, but the service and personal attention we received at the Park House Hotel exceeded the best 5-star standard. I can honestly say I have never experienced the level of personal and professional service Mr. English and his colleagues provided during our stay.

The reception and lobby area are perfectly appointed, comfortable and inviting. Our rooms were large, quiet, beautifully furnished, equipped and maintained. The service, food and drink in the restaurants and pub was also exceptional - and reasonably priced (particularly in light of the painful euro to dollar exchange rate).

There are too many specific examples to mention about the quality of the service, but one typical example will tell you why it's difficult to imagine a more exceptional experience.

We were visiting Galway to drop off our youngest son for a semester of studying abroad at the National University. There were many details and we were still getting him settled as we prepared to depart for Dublin. I decided to skip the wonderful Irish breakfast and take care of a few last minute errands while my family enjoyed a last meal at the Park House Hotel. The car was packed and ready to go. As my family left the hotel I noticed they were joined by Kitty Carr who had taken exceptional care of us during our visit. During breakfast, she had asked where I was and my wife explained about the last minute errands. Without saying a word to anyone, Kitty left to prepare and pack me a wonderful breakfast to go which she and Patrick hand-delivered to me as they thanked us for staying and said good-bye.

While that was was typical of the outstanding service we received, what I learned after returning home was even more exceptional - Ms. Carr is the co-owner of the Park House Hotel. We had no idea she was the owner. Every member of the staff displayed the same warmth, attention and concern for our comfort and enjoyment throughout - but her (and Patrick's) personal commitment to excellence was truly exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMCurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Property: Park House Hotel
Address: Park House Hotel 18 Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galway
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#2 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Hotel, Galway is conveniently located in the heart of Galway's city centre, with private secure car-parking on the grounds of the hotel. The hotel blends the warmth and personality of a boutique hotel with the style and luxury of a contemporary 4 Star international hotel. Guest accommodation comprises of 84 rooms divided into superior & deluxe rooms, suites and serviced apartments. The award-winning Park Restaurant is a favourite with locals and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing