We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Petra House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Frank and Joan go the extra step to welcome guests into their wonderful B & B. The breakfast is outstanding. The rooms are very well equipped with comfort in mind. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this wonderful place to anyone lucky enough to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCW32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    49
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
103
412
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brigantine, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed on our honeymoon here in April and it was incredible. Frank was so very friendly and helpful. His wife made such delicious scones and breakfast was fit for a king. Very nice house, very clean and cozy. Great views on a pretty yard and the stadium to catch a match. Would 100% recommend to stay here in Galway!! Many thanks!!! Our favorite stay on our honeymoon!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Courtney Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I had a great stay at the Petra House. The hosts were so nice and friendly. The room was very nice and comfortable. The breakfast was fabulous....one of the best I have ever had!! The location was great as it was about a 15 minute walk to the main street with shops and restaurants. It was easy to find and had plenty of parking so we were able to leave our car there for the two nights we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColumbusJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Frank was super, from helping us navigate our way to the house via cell phone to advice about happenings in Galway. The house is nicely decorated, our room was nice, clean, and had a cross breeze (third floor). The food was good. It is a short walk to the town center.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights in late September. Arrived quite jet lagged and Frank made accommodations to get us into a room as soon as he could. Morning breakfasts were a delight. Location is a 10-15 minute walk to main shopping/sites district of Galway. Highly recommend. Extremely clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luuluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Along the row of B&B's on College Street, Petra House was the only one with no vacancies during our three night stay in Galway. It was quickly obvious that Frank and Joan run an impressive guest house. From Frank's warm welcome and helpful travel tips to Joan's exquisite breakfasts, we were charmed and pampered. The location is quiet and a convenient walk into town for beautiful, historical sites and great restaurants and pubs. We enjoyed the impeccable and comfortable room. Breakfast was a highlight. We were happy to have sampled three days of eggs, smoked salmon, Irish brown bread and scones. If you love orange marmalade as much as my husband, you will be delighted to taste the rich and thick jam that Petra House serves. We also enjoyed our morning conversations with other guests. Petra House is a fabulous place with fabulous people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 144KS38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Petra House like many B&B's has pleasant rooms that offer a good nights rest, so what sets it apart from the others. Simply - the owners! Frank and Joan have turned this into a pleasant island of tranquility. We stayed 2 nights and my only regret is that I didn't have time to talk with Frank more - although as busy as they are I don't know when they get a chance to sleep let alone visit with every guest that wants to know them better. If you are going to Galway I encorage you to make this your first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
2.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Petra House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Petra 29 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free high-speed internet; free breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Petra House Hotel Galway
Petra House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing