We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petra House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Petra House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were welcomed very warmly by our host Frank, on our arrival. Our bedroom was excellently appointed with everything we could need. It was spotless and the heating level was such that it was comfortable with no hint of the stuffiness of the air that is so often experienced. We were being collected by a friend who was shown into a living room to wait.
We had a wonderful nights sleep and our breakfast next morning was delicious with the coffee coming without being asked for. In fact, the breakfast was so substantial that neither my husband nor myself was able to finish. Frank attended to us without being intrusive but he managed to discover our interests and very generously gave us contacts for other regions in Ireland.
As we were leaving Joan emerged from the kitchen and proved to be just as hospitable as Frank.
We thoroughly recommend Petra House which is enhanced by being so close to the centre of Galway City but remains a very quiet, relaxing location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    47
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
98
407
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My family and I traveled across Ireland a few years ago, and one of our last stops was at the Petra House in Galway, where we spent 2 nights. This was the most elegant B&B we stayed at- the owners clearly take a lot of pride (as they should) in the cleanliness, order, and elegant style that the B&B has. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and well-equipped. I love the tea/biscuits available prior to breakfast. The breakfasts are tasty and quickly-prepared.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were on a roundtrip through Ireland, and Petra B&B was our last accomodation before going home - and for sure the absolute best one !!! Frank and Joan du da great job !!! We'll return, for sure !!!! VERY RECOMMENDABLE !!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halligallikrappen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived early on our one night at Petra House, jet-lagged and just hoping to drop off our bags. Frank, the owner, greeted us warmly, like we were family stopping by to visit. He showed us into the beautiful living room and spoke to us about Galway, gave us a map, and carefully marked off all the important areas like shopping & restaurants. Frank then showed us to our lovely third floor room. We were very comfortable there - it had three comfy beds and an en suite. Just perfect for three generations of family traveling through Ireland! (The shower was a bit small, but we were able to work with it - my daughter felt like it was made just for her!)

Galway was charming, Frank's directions were great. Petra House is just about a 10 minute walk from Eyre Square and great places to explore.

The next day we ate an amazing breakfast in a spotless dining room, homemade by Joan. Then, unfortunately, we had to catch our cab and Frank & Joan wished us well. My mom, daughter and I all remarked how much we enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed longer! I would recommend Petra House B & B highly to anyone visiting Galway!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bellabuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at Petra house for 2 nights and had a marvellous time.

We arrived in the afternoon to a large drive with ample parking then were quickly greeted and shown to our room. On heading out to town (10 minutes walk) Frank provided us with all types of supporting information for travelling around Galway (maps, best places etc)

The room was clean and comfortable with the usual tea and coffee making facilities, large flat screen TV and all in good condition but as detailed elsewhere, the shower pressure was a little weak but probably not much you can do about that and not a show stopper.

The breakfast should keep you going all day with plenty of choice and options.

We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I just returned from a week-end visit to Galway where I had the pleasure of returning to Petra House. Frank and Joan are truly special people who create an atmosphere of welcome and ease. The accommodation is a perfect balance between impeccable and home-like with well-appointed guest rooms and lovely common spaces. The breakfast is bountiful, delicious, and graciously served by Frank while Joan does her magic in the kitchen. Together they create an oasis of calm conveniently located near the tourist office, bus station and Galway sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at Petra House for two nights. The place is lovely, quiet, spotless, beautifully maintained. Frank was so helpful with recommendations. Breakfast was outstanding -- best we had in Ireland. Joan is an amazing baker. Free parking. Easy walk to all the sights. I spent some quiet time reading in the lounge. It was a vacation within a vacation. I would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: We faced the backyard. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
2.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Petra House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Petra 29 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free high-speed internet; free breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Petra House Hotel Galway
Petra House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing