We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Petra House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect stay!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Wonderful accommodations. The two of us had a large room that slept 5. It was like we had penthouse accommodations. The breakfasts cooked by Joan were fabulous.
Frank was a gracious host and even posted and mailed out postcards for us....talk about going the extra mile.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    49
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
105
420
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We loved this place. Petra House was one of my favorite, and Galway was my favorite city in all of Ireland! Frank was a great host, and served the best breakfast. He was also extremely helpful in telling us where to go and what to see. The room was spacious, and couldn't have asked for a better stay! We only stayed one night, but we wish we would have stayed longer! Some people mention that the B&B is far away from the action, but I thought the distance was just perfect- far enough away that we could get enough sleep without being interrupted, but close enough to walk to everything!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALD0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
203 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have stayed here on numerous occasions and Petra House certainly warrants a 5star review. I work with a tour operator and we bring a substantial amount of guests through this guesthouse and we are yet to receive a complaint and are delighted to receive so many good reviews from our guests.

The house is immaculate and has a lovely plush feel to it. It is a 5 minute walk from the town centre so the location is perfect but still offers peaceful surroundings for a good nights sleep. The breakfast is freshly prepared with a great selection available and real coffee!

Frank & Joan are the epitome of Irish hospitality and are as efficient as they are hospitable. If you want luxury at the right price in Galway - Look no further.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent two nights at the Petra House in Galway Ireland. The husband and wife certainly made us feel like family from the moment we came in until we boarded our bus two days later. The room on the second floor was a good size and the bathroom updated and very clean. Once we settle in we asked for a restaurant for that night's dinner. The host asked if we liked pizza and of course we both answered yes. He got a map and gave us directions to a contemporary pizza restaurant near the old town center. He said his son worked there and said to say hello. Understand that the Petra house is a good walk from downtown. I guess we could have figured out the bus system but the walk was not unpleasant and piqued our appetite even more. We arrived at the restaurant and were seated immediately. The B&B owner was right on about a great pizza. we then walked around the downtown area and stopped for a pint and some music. We walked back and arrived to find our room turned down. The next morning breakfast was served in a great sunny room on the first floor. Several options to choose from. We did some area touring the next day and we we checked out we were personally thanked by the owners and made to feel that we were welcome to come back and spend another vacation with them.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the back, road noise could be a problem for light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I came to Petra House after my uncle recommended it to me after his stay several years ago. The house is lovely and our room was spacious and well-appointed. Frank is an excellent host and his wife Joan makes wonderful breakfast (try the porridge with raisins, brown sugar and Bailey's). Frank is very helpful in setting up tours and recommending ways to see the Aran Islands and the Cliffs of Moher. Wonderful stay. I've already recommended him to some friends who are coming to Ireland in a few weeks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were welcomed very warmly by our host Frank, on our arrival. Our bedroom was excellently appointed with everything we could need. It was spotless and the heating level was such that it was comfortable with no hint of the stuffiness of the air that is so often experienced. We were being collected by a friend who was shown into a living room to wait.
We had a wonderful nights sleep and our breakfast next morning was delicious with the coffee coming without being asked for. In fact, the breakfast was so substantial that neither my husband nor myself was able to finish. Frank attended to us without being intrusive but he managed to discover our interests and very generously gave us contacts for other regions in Ireland.
As we were leaving Joan emerged from the kitchen and proved to be just as hospitable as Frank.
We thoroughly recommend Petra House which is enhanced by being so close to the centre of Galway City but remains a very quiet, relaxing location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My family and I traveled across Ireland a few years ago, and one of our last stops was at the Petra House in Galway, where we spent 2 nights. This was the most elegant B&B we stayed at- the owners clearly take a lot of pride (as they should) in the cleanliness, order, and elegant style that the B&B has. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and well-equipped. I love the tea/biscuits available prior to breakfast. The breakfasts are tasty and quickly-prepared.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,712 reviews
2.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 185 in Galway
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Petra House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Petra 29 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free high-speed internet; free breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Petra House Hotel Galway
Petra House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing