We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Petra House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it! The Petra House is very clean and nicely furnished. Frank and Joan are the nicest folks! The breakfast that Joan prepares is AWESOME and her scones are most delicious! You can even get a copy of the recipe. The Petra House is an easy walk into town and we were encouraged to leave our car there, as parking in town is at a premium. Frank was great with helping us with directions when we went on a day trip to the Cliffs of Mohr. This is a very nice place, don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We selected Petra House on the basis of the Tripadvisor reviews and it sounded too good to be true. It wasn't. The room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean with good facilities. The breakfast room was equally immaculate and every breakfast item was beautifully prepared and presented with the full breakfast too good to refuse. Frank, our host, was tremendous. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he provided excellent help and guidance including booking a coach tour which picked us up at the door rather than us having to walk a few hundred yards to the bus station! The Petra is well located only a few minutes walk from the town centre. It is an absolute gem of a B&B.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BigDaveWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We recently enjoyed a great series of lodgings in Ireland and England that were recommended by Trip Advisor and Rick Steves, but we think that Petra House tops the list. It's just s short walk from the downtown area in a quiet and safe neighborhood, an easy walk even for a guy who just had a hip replacement eight months ago. Frank and Joan offer a comfortably elegant lodging with a kind but playful atmosphere, as well as an encyclopedic knowledge of both history and current visitor information about Galway and the area. Their breakfasts are the best! Delicious, generous and artfully presented. We can especially recommend the smoked salmon bagel and the porridge with Bayley's. But, save room for the fruit plate! Rooms are not large but with space to move, beds are very comfortable, and the entire B&B is very well-maintained.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs in the back, with a pleasant view of the garden and a slice of the greyhound t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Wonderful accommodations. The two of us had a large room that slept 5. It was like we had penthouse accommodations. The breakfasts cooked by Joan were fabulous.
Frank was a gracious host and even posted and mailed out postcards for us....talk about going the extra mile.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We loved this place. Petra House was one of my favorite, and Galway was my favorite city in all of Ireland! Frank was a great host, and served the best breakfast. He was also extremely helpful in telling us where to go and what to see. The room was spacious, and couldn't have asked for a better stay! We only stayed one night, but we wish we would have stayed longer! Some people mention that the B&B is far away from the action, but I thought the distance was just perfect- far enough away that we could get enough sleep without being interrupted, but close enough to walk to everything!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALD0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have stayed here on numerous occasions and Petra House certainly warrants a 5star review. I work with a tour operator and we bring a substantial amount of guests through this guesthouse and we are yet to receive a complaint and are delighted to receive so many good reviews from our guests.

The house is immaculate and has a lovely plush feel to it. It is a 5 minute walk from the town centre so the location is perfect but still offers peaceful surroundings for a good nights sleep. The breakfast is freshly prepared with a great selection available and real coffee!

Frank & Joan are the epitome of Irish hospitality and are as efficient as they are hospitable. If you want luxury at the right price in Galway - Look no further.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent two nights at the Petra House in Galway Ireland. The husband and wife certainly made us feel like family from the moment we came in until we boarded our bus two days later. The room on the second floor was a good size and the bathroom updated and very clean. Once we settle in we asked for a restaurant for that night's dinner. The host asked if we liked pizza and of course we both answered yes. He got a map and gave us directions to a contemporary pizza restaurant near the old town center. He said his son worked there and said to say hello. Understand that the Petra house is a good walk from downtown. I guess we could have figured out the bus system but the walk was not unpleasant and piqued our appetite even more. We arrived at the restaurant and were seated immediately. The B&B owner was right on about a great pizza. we then walked around the downtown area and stopped for a pint and some music. We walked back and arrived to find our room turned down. The next morning breakfast was served in a great sunny room on the first floor. Several options to choose from. We did some area touring the next day and we we checked out we were personally thanked by the owners and made to feel that we were welcome to come back and spend another vacation with them.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the back, road noise could be a problem for light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,859 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,039 reviews
2.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,750 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
725 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Petra 29 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free high-speed internet; free breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Petra House Hotel Galway
Petra House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing