We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveller rating
296
150
50
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
150
50
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor jacuzzi leisure facilities hot tub top class lovely hotel bar food lovely pool pool and gym steam room family break triple room bus service enjoyed our stay booked this hotel would highly recommend this hotel food was lovely breakfast each morning
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 526 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Leisure centre was small but grand.
Main course only dinner was grand but needed protein e.g..peas,beans or nuts.
Breakfast was sooooo the high-light..usual fruits, juices etc.of continental breakfast and cooked meats,eggs,mushrooms, beans etc....... Breda checked with chef re. vegan options ...I got hash browns oven-cooked (regular ones done with meat in fryer), mushrooms had been pan fried in oil , and Jean the8 chef made me a pancake with soya milk,had with jam ...... Lovely staff here

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank Saysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClybaunHotel1, Manager at Clybaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Our breakfast offering was certainly the major positive of your recent trip to the Clybau Hotel.
Your review really conveys how we always try our utmost to cater for all dietary requirements.
Our staff made a huge impression and Breda and Jean in particular will be delighted with your kind comments.
We hope that this was the first of many more visits to our hotel!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

This hotel had excellent ratings on another site, which it does not deserve. This is a moderate/ average hotel. It was worth the price but not exceptional. There seem to be a lot of tours staying here. When we arrived there was no parking above ground and we had to go to the desk and be told to park in the underground. Fine, but a tour group came in the meantime and we had to wait for the tour director to check in. The bathroom fan was very loud. Also, apparently we were in Ireland for the 2 days of summer and when we opened the windows for some air, our room was next to the park where kids were screaming unitl 10 pm. The room was clean and functional. The front desk staff were excellent until I asked them for a local restaurant recommendation, where the locals eat and all they could offer was the hotel bistro. Wrong. There is a convenience store very close and a supermarket a 2 minute drive away. Salthill is 5 to 10 minutes away. TV was too small and not very many channels.

Room Tip: dont get the end room by the park in summer
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank robinsnestto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClybaunHotel1, Manager at Clybaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for staying at the Clybaun Hotel and for taking the time to post this review.
We're glad to hear that you thought our front desk staff were excellent and that our bedrooms were of a high quality.
Unfortunately some points you've raised are very disappointing to have received.
Many other reviewers have highlighted in the past how informative and helpful our reception team are with recommendations for places to eat and things to do in the local area so your claims in relation to this are very surprising.
Equally your mention of hearing kids screaming in a park is hard to understand considering the hotel is not located beside a park so there may be some confusion with this.
The fact that we offer additional complimentary parking in a secure underground car park is normally another positive not a hindrance but this doesn't appear to be the case on this occasion.
We really hope that you would consider returning again for another visit in the future and hopefully then all those other excellent reviews that we get which you alluded to, will be proven true for you also!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We are a large family group just back from a short break.
The hotel was excellent in all areas.
The staff, rooms, leisure facilities and food were first class.
Having transport would be an advantage as it is a good walk into Salthill.
This is a well run hotel which is spotless in all areas.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClybaunHotel1, Manager at Clybaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
We were delighted to host you and your family here at the Clybaun Hotel recently.
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review.
All aspects of our facilities and services impressed throughout your visit.
We hope to host you all again in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

I was very dissapointed that children were allowed to run around unsupervised until after midnight. We were away for a family occasion and were constantly disturbed by the noise. The staff were aware of this.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClybaunHotel1, Manager at Clybaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
The hotel has strict policies and rules both in terms of noise levels and children supervision in place so your experience is very disappointing.
We always try our utmost to ensure that these are constantly implemented but on rare occasions some individual guests also need to examine their own personal responsibilities when it comes to their younger guests.
We hope that you will consider a return visit in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

The best thing about this hotel was the receptionist. She was very friendly and made you feel welcome.

Unfortunately the room we were allocated (in the front of the hotel) must have won the best cobweb competition. When we complained we were given the option to change rooms which we did. The cleanliness of the rooms leaves a lot to be desired. During our stay the room was never cleaned properly and despite Brian ing this to the attention of the manager it didn’t improve.

The foood in O’ Gormans Bistro is good but the manager was not so good, interupting our conversation 4 times during the main course just to see if we were still enjoying the foood - maybe he was quite shocked when we said yes at the first time of asking.

The hotel would not be a 4 star hotel if it didnt have the health / fitness day club attached to it. This also means it is difficult to park at Serra in times of the day.

There is quite a large area of decking in the courtyard for guests and health club members to relax. In three days this area was never cleaned!

The hotel is quite a way out of the city (10/15 minute drive).

I wouldn’t stay at the hotel again and I would recommend that if you are reading this stay in the city center.

Room Tip: Rooms in city center hotels are much better
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kenfarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClybaunHotel1, Manager at Clybaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
All feedback is welcomed by the hotel to ensure our usual high standards are continuously maintained so thank you for taking the time to share your opinions about your recent stay.
We are pleased with your comments about our reception team but we're very disappointed with some of the other issues raised.
We are regularly complimented for the cleanliness and high standards of our accommodation so this experience is certainly not the norm and comes as a major surprise.
Similarly your feelings that some of our staff were over-bearing and unhelpful is even more of a shock as so many other reviews on TripAdvisor are full of praise for our helpful and professional team in every department throughout the hotel.
It would be great to host you again in the future for another stay and maybe then you could also see for yourself why usually we receive such positive reviews and ratings.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews