We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful part of Ireland”

Connemara National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.12*
and up
Connemara National Park Nature Trails Self-Guided Day Tour including Lunch
Ranked #2 of 136 things to do in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful part of Ireland”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

You must go~ scenery breathtaking and history abundant. Do not miss!!! Its hard to describe the beauty, mountains, rivers and castles. But its delightful and educational ~ you shall be amazed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SparkleMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,010
    598
    80
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hiking”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

On a cloudy day we pulled into the National Park lot and set off to hike the mountain. The up hill is very steep in some parts, but not too challenging, none the less. It is beautiful to walk above the fog and clouds! The down hill is a bit more challenging. I got a little scared, but eventually made it down. There are no rails and it is a straight, rocky, fall off of the mountain when the wind blows. we had a great time!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely Park”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

After so much time spent traveling, we thoroughly enjoyed our morning walk in the park. This is not a park that you drive through. If you do not walk in the park, there is not much to see. Be advised, there is limited parking. You walk down a path leading to the visitors center where you can visit their bog display and view a short movie. Restrooms are located at the visitors center. The path starts behind the center. We mistakenly thought the path started in front of the center and so ended up walking the path counter clockwise. As a result, we walked up the steepest part. Had we gone counter clockwise the climb wouldn't have been so steep a climb. This wasn't a problem for us, just giving you a heads up. The views of the country side were very pretty and while walking saw few other people. Entrance to the park, the movie and visitors center are all free.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gottagetupandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not an off-season stop”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Many of the West country's sights are better seen without crowds; this isn't one. Without an open visitor center and with trails that are poorly signposted, it is probably best to simply take in the views from the road.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Donn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We weren't even going to do this but after missing our tour because of our delayed flight, our b&b host suggested we do this with our extra time and we could not have been happier that we did. Not only did we love the sweeping hills and natural beauty, but my wife particularly enjoyed the fact that we actually had to stop for sheep in the road on a few occasions. Definitely worth the trip - and do try to stop by Kylemore Abbey - picturesque!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Connemara National Park also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Connemara National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing