We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW...!!!!! By far the Best...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW...!!!!! By far the Best...”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This was my first time staying at the gHotel in Galway and I have to say what an experience.
We booked in for 3 nights in May 2011 and on arrival Thnigs were looking good as the decor was certainly nothing I had seen before in hotel but it looked great.
We were shown to our room and I must say everything was perfect and going well so far.
The room was fantastic and just what you would expect from a 5 star hotel.
Free Wifi access in the room and as a frequent traveller this is something I always treasure.
Back to the hotel itself, we reserved dinner at the hotel and following full on 5 star service by the waiting staff the dinner was the best tasting food I have ever had in a hotel in Ireland. We've stayed in a number of 5 star hotels throughout Ireland and I must say the dinner at the gHotel is one of the best.
The following morning we had our fist breakfast and again the best breakfast in a hotel in Ireland we've had.
The hotel was so good we only left the hotel once in our 3 days...
We had lunch drinks and food served by I must say well trained excellent staff who it is clear from their manner and service to guest take pride in their 5 star service to you and I must say must be recommended as the hotel staff of the year.
In conclusion, this hotel is by far the best 5 star hotel in Ireland and we will certainly be returning.
If you want the best stay at the g...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sixfoottennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,501
    564
    325
    132
    74
See reviews for
266
1,531
35
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Stayed at the G hotel for my boyfriends birthday weekend. From the moment we arrived and checked in the service, staff and everything was just wonderful. The interior is stunning both in main areas of the hotel and in the bedrooms. The air conditioning didnt work in our room but the staff handled it brilliantly and the next day upgraded us to a fantastic room. The atmosphere is warm and friendly not pretentious. The restaurant and drinks in the bar are pricey but worth enjoying for the treat. Across the road is the Huntsmun pub serves good pints and pub food. A bit of a walk into town but i managed it in heels no problem! Cant wait to go back by far the best hotel in Galway.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyJaneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

I’m not sure where to start. The good part, The staff was great, very helpful. Now for the bad. Whoever designed this place must have been smoking crack. The outside looks like some sort of industrial building, and the inside, I’m not sure what the hell is going on. Long dark hallways, and I do mean dark, you feel like you are in a theater looking for a seat after the movie has started. The rooms are fairly small, the shower was a pain in the rear, getting the water temperature correct was a bit of a mystery. I could get temp just right and then it would change to cold or hot on its own. The location of the G isn’t the best. The hotel is located on the outskirts of town, about a mile or so from any shops or pubs. This hotel doesn’t belong in Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DHL26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Myself and my partner are just home from a nights stay at the G and we have had such an amazing time.

We booked it pretty much last minute and got a great deal including a meal and a cocktail. The staff here are lovely, the hotels decor is AMAZING, the thermal spa a real treat, in fact everything was perfect!

We will definately be back!

Please dont be put off by the location, the hotel is in a built up area and you acess it through a car park, you forget all this the minute you step into the lift!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pj-micheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I was delighted to receive a voucher for the G hotel as a recent wedding present. My friend had called the hotel to see how much it would cost for 2 nights stay, B&B and 1 evening meal. She bought us a voucher for almost 500 euro. When i was on the hotel website i saw that there was a special offer on for stay 2 nights get 1 night free so i immediately called to book. I was very disappointed to be told that I couldn’t use 2 offers together. I tried to explain that my voucher wasn’t a special offer and was just a voucher but they didn’t want to know. I thought vouchers were as good as cash but obviously not.
We were both horrified on our initial arrival to see it wasn’t a purpose built hotel and that there was a furniture store on the side and a huge Woodys DIY sign on the other side?? The hotel is overlooking a busy road and the drive into the industrial park past a woodys, PC World and pet shop looking for the underground communal car park was such a let down.
We had afternoon tea on arrival which was lovely but at 59 euro I got more for less in the Westbury.
The lounge areas were lovely and worth a see but just drop in sometime and don’t bother staying. -Cocktails start at 11 euro and go up to 19.
As it was our first treat since the wedding I decided to upgrade the room with cost 80 euro – I was glad I did as the upgraded rooms had walk in showers – I would have expected these in every room in a 5 star hotel. As other reviewers have stated there is no tea/coffee facilities and the mini bar is empty. I see that the hotel has advise that these can be requested but seriously they should be there as standard – especially the tea/coffee.
Our room was decorated lovely, our bed was very comfortable and i thought the cupcakes on arrival was a nice touch. But overlooking a main road we could barely see the lough that the website says it over looks. I cant fault the staff they were lovely.
Our room did not have an iron, we did call down to see about getting one but was told my husband’s shirt could be ironed for a 15 euro fee??? We just wanted our own one.
We had dinner at the matz, but seriously don’t go in hungry..i paid a 5 euro supplement for a steak the size of my palm with 4 sugar snap peas and 4 rasberrys, plus if im honest the chairs were grubby with old food stains/splatters and the chair legs were all scuffed.

When we were checking out I advised the staff that our air con was broken and so was the radio volume knob in the bathroom but I was just told sorry about that and you should have reported it sooner. I still received my full bill including the upgrade charge.
I was horrified that in total the weekend cost us over 750 euro.
Incase the G hotel didn’t noticed Ireland is in a recession and people want value for money, nothing in my room should have been broken and I should not be charged to use the thermal lounges. Fair enough don’t let me in if its full but don’t charge when I have spent enough money.
This is not a 5 start hotel and it IS NOT value for money, the G insist of squeezing every single penny out of you…I will not recommend to anyone for a stay there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hempo186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I stayed at the G Hotel for a weekend with my sister earlier this month and it was possibly the best weekend break I have ever had. We booked the trip because both of us were sorely in need of proper rest and relaxation and having stayed at the hotel before we felt we'd get a decent break. We drove down from Dublin on Friday night and had dinner in the restaurant. The next day we had spa treatments booked and used the thermal suite before hand. The decor is both quirky and gorgeous but the real 5 star part of staying here is the staff. They are warm, friendly and can't do enough for you no matter what the request or the hour and you get the feeling that it matters to them that you enjoy your stay. This is an experience in short supply in many other hotels. The only negative about the hotel for me is that the restaurant is good but not great. Dinner was fine but in my opinion the food doesn't quite live up to the decor and servie. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoggsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the G earlier this month - we had 2 rooms - one for Granny and Grandad and one for my husband and I and our 8 month old baby. The hotel is beautiful, supremely comfortable, the food delicious and the staff excellent from accomodating our babies needs, to the front desk to the concierge helping us plan our days of sightseeing. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay and we would recommend you without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,637 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,862 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
1,690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing