We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab, stylish hotel for a perfect weekend break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fab, stylish hotel for a perfect weekend break!”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Loved every minute of my trip to the G as unlike many other hotels, this really had something different. The interiors were fab, what can you expect from anyone other than Phillip Treacy.
The staff were extremely friendly, we were accommodated in a room early as had to get changed for the races which was great. The room was just gorgeous, very calm and relaxing and a great contrast to the rest of the hotel. A few tips, it is expensive, but if you are looking for a getaway, its the place to go. Get the valet parking, saves a lot of hassle and only 10 Euro for your stay. Do the Spa circuit, it really is great, I didn't want to leave and they only allow in 8 at a time so its very relaxing yet modern. Have dinner in Matz, the food is lovely and the atmosphere great and then book a table in one of the lounges for cocktails, its a MUST. I loved the pink lounge! The cocktails were gorgeous! From the moment we arrived we didn't want to leave the hotel as it really is a great experience. The different lounges are so relaxing to sit in. Breakfast was great also, the usual, except you could order from the a la carte which was great. The room was so stylish and spacious, I loved the fact that they had a little sofa or armchairs, although the bed was so comfortable too. It really is worth the trip and we had a fabulous time because Galway is such a charming place. Location is great too as not too far but not right in the centre which is good for this sort of hotel. The only negative point I have, was that because of the cinema and dinner offer, nearly all the lounge tables were taken up by people eating which really isn't suitable for a 5 star hotel and meant that we couldnt sit and have a drink. Just something to note but apart from that wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshO11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,501
    564
    325
    132
    74
See reviews for
266
1,531
35
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here with two good friends. This hotel was the best place I've ever stayed.!!Room was soooo great, beds really comfy, shower really good! cupcakes when we arrived! amazing!!!

Staff very nice, very helpful!! Best I've seen! All the lounges were amazing, so relaxing!!

Went to the Spa, had a great visit! So Good


Over all, great hotel ,great staff and if you ask, you can get a good bargain for your room!!!

I'll definitely be going back!!

Room Tip: ask when booking. They are very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Hooded_Neon_Ion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Myself & my husband stayed in the G Hotel for 2 night after Christmas 2010. Having had a very quiet Christmas due to the extremely bad weather (snow, temperatures of -13 degrees), we were really looking forward to relaxing for a few days in the G Hotel as we'd heard very good reviews of it from friends of ours.

We were not disappointed, from check in to the rooms to the breakfast, everything was perfect. The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in and the room was perfect.

Breakfast was fab, there's a great choice of hot and cold dishes and complimentary newspapers to sit over when breakfast is finished.

The different themed lounges just add to a perfect atmosphere! We'll definitely be back to the G Hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrslynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
470 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Elegant, efficient, stylish and professional.
I had feared that this mecca of luxury would be a case of style over substance...however I was wrong.
The lobby is very impressive; lots of glass and subdued lighting and something you'd be more likely to see in Miami Beach than in Galway. Staff were well-informed, courteous - nothing seemed to be any trouble to them.
The rooms are super luxurious; great comfortable beds, huge wardrobes, comfy sofas and stylish fittings. The bathroom was top class with a great bath and fantastic shower.
I also had dinner; an exquisite affair...an inventive menu, extensive wine list and friendly, professional service.
Breakfast the next day was a relaxed affair.
Great value and a fantastic top-end experience in Galway; there's nothing else like it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Lough Atalia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreshEire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hotel is impressive, loved the decor.
For the price I was a little let down by restaurant, expected more. Food was nice but not mind blowing. Service was good but not what I would expect of a 5 star.
All in all really enjoyed our stay. The price is the only thing that would stop me going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela07Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and three month old baby decided to holiday in Ireland this year and the first stop was the g hotel for two nights. Our first impression was good as the staff were very welcoming and it certainly seemed to be a lovely place. Although one member did say 'I suppose this is your first stay in a five star hotel', I thought well that is quite the supposition to make and whilst I could have taken offence I chose not to as it may have just been a bad attempt at conversation. I have however plenty of 5* experience with which to compare. I had planned after our 3 hour drive that we would book in for the spa. The hotel also offered a baby sitting service which we thought we would use. As this was the first time having an unknown babysitter look after our first baby, we were a little nervous however the lady reassured that she looks after a lot of children at the hotel. After sitting in the very nice thermal spa for 20min however we got our first call that the sitter could not settle our baby. After some instruction she managed to get her back to sleep. Then just before we were due for our massage(facial for wife) we got the next call that the baby would not settle. Disappointed we had to cancel the spa and go back to take over. The thing is our baby is so easy to put down, and 2 days later in the Europe hotel in Killarney our 15 year old baby sitter had no such issues! This was the first problem; the second was minor and everyone makes mistakes, but after signing for our pre dinner drinks they were also charged on our dinner bill. Like I say a minor problem but when added to everything else, one wonders! Dinner was the next let down. Again the staff were excellent and very courteous. However I noticed another review complaining about the cleanliness about cutlery or flatware. Unfortunately I had to ask for my knife to be changed, which really ought to be a bit easier to clean than forks. My steak was cooked as requested - med/rare, however it was not really a taste sensation and was a little tough. Again not something to get too upset about but things do accumulate. We both ordered chocolate fondant for dessert and were informed it would take 15min to prepare. this was not a bother because we were glad of the break. after 15min they brought us a complimentary dessert as they had made a mess of the fondants and asked to wait another 15min. Not a problem. however of the second set of fondants, one was overcooked to a sponge. Mine was perfect and delicious, so I was unsure how one could be perfect and the other not. Anyway we complained and he said he would take it off the bill and he was disappointed as it was consdered their signature dish. Instead of removing it from our bill, (which was included in a dinner bed breakfast rate) he added the well made one onto the bill! so we were essentially charged twice for one dessert and dont foreget the predinner drinks, and the poor dessert was not removed from our bill. To be fair they removed the supplemetary charges from our bill in the end and were very apologetic.

So we look back on our visit to the 'g' as enjoyable enough but I do expect more for 5 star!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishdentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We couldn't decide whether to stay here or the Hotel Meyrick, and I'm really glad we stayed here. Yes, the colors are crazy, but it's not the kind of nutty ambiance that tries to cover up the fact that it's a poor quality hotel. The furnishings are actually far more artistic (it's designed by famous milliner Philip Treacy) than gimmicky, if you are paying attention. The lunch, dinner and bar food at the hotel wasn't the best we had on the trip (although the breakfast was great), but the rooms were so comfortable. Someone recommended that I ask for a room "without a view," facing the back because it's much quieter. That was a great recommendation, and it wasn't as if we didn't have any view at all--it was a peaceful rocks/grass scene with lots of light. I could have stayed here for several more days.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiTraveler305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,638 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,862 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
1,690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing