We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,976)
Filter reviews
2,976 results
Traveller rating
1,717
642
371
161
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,717
642
371
161
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscupcakesthermal suitephilip treacyluxury roomretail parkcup cakespink roomon arrivaldouble showerturn down serviceeggs benedictamazing hotellounge areatop classpublic areasfrom start to finishcar park
Filter
Updating list...
2,769 - 2,774 of 2,976 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2008

I stayed whilst on a business trip but I can't wait to book again for pleasure. This really is a fantastic hotel where the hotel is the destination. It is worth a trip to Galway just to experience the G. The mushroom coloured bedrooms rooms are exceptionally spacious and the iced cup cakes at turn down were exquisite. The public rooms resemble an art gallery and your trip is a little like Alice in Wonderland combined with living through an art installation. The website does not do this hotel justice. It really is one of my favourite hotels in the world. Swarovski crystals, papier mache dog sculpture and Philip Tracey signed original art work not to mention the light installation in one of the public rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CatK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

i was whisked off for a surprise two-night stay in the g at the start of december, and absolutely loved it.

i've wanted to stay there for ages, and it certainly didn't disappoint on arrival. the decor is really funky in the public areas, but the rooms themselves are opulent!

staff were more than helpful, breakfast is great, and they have live music in the lounge in the evenings (at the weekend at least).

i just loved it, and would go back tomorrow :)

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank maccorq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

This was our second visit to The G and as before, this hotel continues to impress.

Wonderful service from lovely people. Nothing is too much trouble and even though a five star, the place isnt stuffy.

The eggs florentine for breakfast is a must! Try sitting in the main room looking out over Galway Bay on a clear day - perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highpeakhighjinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2007

What an amazing hotel.....!!
Just back from the best relaxing two night stay at the G. Every single detail is so well thought out and fabulous, the bedrooms are gorgeous (including the little "G" cupcakes on arrival). Breakfast was so yum and the staff were great. You have to try some cocktails in the pink salon (any girls dream!) the hotel feels like "Alice in Wonderland",cannot wait to get back up there!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

I read an article on Philip Treacy's involvement in this hotel and thought i'd treat myself for my birthday. I phoned reception in advance to say we would check in at 4pm sat. On arrival we drove up to the entrance and waited 20mins for the valet to come park the car. At reception we were greeted by a receptionist who seemed to be quite stressed. She said our room was not ready and told us that this was a very busy weekend for the hotel. She asked us would we like tea or coffee while we waited. We took a seat and admired the decor. There is no other hotel like it in terms of interior design. Our tea and coffee came along in silver pots which were very hot. Then a little later another waitress came along and left a bill on the table! Was quite annoyed by their mistake. However boyfriend insisted we just pay the ridiculuous price for the tea and coffee. Eventually got keys for room. Room was very comfortable- big bed, white fluffy towels and two cupcakes. We couldn't believe the extortionate prices for example 1 bowl of kellogs corn flakes served with fresh milk = 9 euro. Like cop yourselves on. We were quite upset that they would not permit us to go visit the Zen garden as they said it was only for customers of the salon. We could not eat in the restaurant as it was booked out. Yet they advertised these "facilities". To sum it up the g hotel is basically some sort of art gallery (that's the g) but it doesn't have the basics to be a hotel. There are no facilities that you can actually use!! It has no soul or atmosphere - staff are like zombies and full of "yes madam, thank you madam" falseness. Prices are very high just to attract exclusive snobby clientele. And finally the lasting impression is that you feel you are being shortchanged and the staff just don't care about your stay. Won't be back :(

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DubAsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews