We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern with class and style. Great rooms, good spa. Pitty it's so expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very modern with class and style. Great rooms, good spa. Pitty it's so expensive.”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We get almost the exact same hotel in Wexford for 50% less at least and the spa there is twice as big. You will need a car or a taxi to get to it and it's very easy to miss, understated I suppose is what they where going for. Having said all that it is a very nice hotel and probably the best in Galway but boy do they know it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    584
    338
    136
    75
See reviews for
278
1,584
36
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed in the hotel in July 2012, myself, my husband and two kids. The decor is lovely as is the rooms, food and bar service. We had a relaxing stay and I believe in the best hotel in the city. The foyer has three lovely themed areas to relax, have a snack or a drink and this is one of the key features of the hotel. There is no swimming pool however this did not really put us off. The front desk staff were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. Rooms were clean and well maintained. En suites were clean, spacious and modern.

There were two minor problems, one the location (2km outside main centre) and the service in the resturaunt. We had a meal which was beautifully prepared and tasted delicious, but the service was just a bit below standard. (Plates left on tables, wine not topped up).

The spa was beautiful although I felt a little shortchanged with the timings of my treatments, they were shorter than advertised in the brochure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I recently stayed in the excellent g hotel in Galway. Although it was only a one night stay it has recharged my batteries for the next 12 months. Staff, room, food -everything was top class. Cannot recommend this hotel enough. The room ws air conditioned and the quality of the sleep was surperb. First time every I did not hear a peep from the corridors. It felt like we had the whole hotel to ourself. Not usually a big eater in the morning but the breakfast - OMG never knew breakfast could taste that good. Hope any person who stays in the g has the same wonderful stay as I did.

Room Tip: When I return again I will book a delux room for sure. Lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Some of the other reviews are correct about this hotel. It is definitely quite posh and a tad out there, but if you have a slightly open mind you will fall in love immediately. I have no idea what the other complaints about the breakfast were because we thought it was delicious. The rooms are extremely quiet and cozy along with the beds. It is centrally located in the city so it doesn't make it hard to get around to spots in the city. The service was top notch and they were extremely courteous. I hope we can go back and visit again. Almost forgot to mention the shower! Wow, it got very hot and had a very high pressure that it felt like someone was massaging you. That's all we have to say. We had the room upgraded 1 above the standard and would definitely say its worth the money. We did some heavy research trying to find the best hotel in Galway and based on seeing some of the options once we got there we were really pleased with our decision to choose the G. Highly highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This is our second time to stay here and we were equally impressed on this occasion. The hotel is beautiful, everywhere is spotless, the bedrooms are really bright and wonderfully comfortable. It is a 20 minute walk to cith centre which we enjoyed, expect to pay 8-9 euro for a taxi. Our only gripe was the breakfast, the tea on both mornings was warm at best, and although we asked for relacements it was no better, it seems the water had just not reached boiling point.The choice of cereal, juices etc was impressive, the cooked Irish breakfast also could do with a little work as it dosen't seemed to be made to order, which it was the last time we stayed here. The staff are friendly, professional and very attentive. No problem to reccommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbt.ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed here at the end of August and could not fault our stay at all, the hotel is clean, the staff are attentive and our room was amazing. On the first night we ate in the restaurant, my only negative comment was that I had hoped they would have reserved us a better table given it was our wedding anniversary. Other than that, the food was excellent and the service second to none. The next morning we ordered breakfast in bed, we got everything we asked for and at the time we requested. My wife used the SPA on this day also and said it was fantastic, my only gripe would be that we went for a drink in the bar that night before we headed into the city and we didn’t like the way they make you sit down and wait for service, I would have preferred to just go to the bar and get my drinks as we waited so long for service. We stopped in the bar again on our way home and again it took ages to get served, if it hadn’t taken so long we would have stopped for more as it was nice and relaxing. So if I could make one recommendation about the hotel it would simply be create a bar area where you can just walk up and order a drink because if I walk into a bar I obviously want a drink then, not 20 minutes later.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirimido, Lombardia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is a very modern hotel...one can say 2 things...or you like or you dont. The interior decoration is beautiful, but this is a personal opinion as the "colors" are a bit shocking, but absolutely not kitch, everything seems to blend together perfectly! Breakfast is really wonderful, staff specially at the reception is very helpful and go out of their way to help. Rooms are beautifully, very clean, bathroom is something I would "copy" in my own house if I had the space! We spent 4 nights in a Junior Suite overlooking the sea. Really a treat and something to look for after a days trotting around. We didnt have the time to go to the SPA unfortunately but Im sure it was up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. Drinks are a bit "over priced" but a bar menu that has just about anything you wish! Car park is done either by a valet for a very small fee, or there is a huge parking place behind the hotel.Location: its not in the city, about a 15 minute walk, but thats ok too, at least for us. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Junior suites are gorgeous with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IMLeonTerzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,701 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing