We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“g hotel galway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
“g hotel galway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

This was my second time to stay at the g hotel and it just gets better each time, its just perfect.I love its decor its so modern and quirky, and yet it still feels very laid back and relaxing.Its just so lovely to sit in one of the many big lounge chairs and relax with a nice coctail or two,brought by one of the many friendly staff.The room itself was very spacious and the turn down service just makes it feel that little bit more special.
Location wise its very central, it is outside the city but still within walking distance. While it is a bit of a luxury in the current climate,it is worth it. So roll on my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patsy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,483
    559
    323
    132
    71
See reviews for
259
1,517
34
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

My Mum and I recently went for a much needed mid week break to the G Hotel in Galway City. I have to say it was the most fabulous hotel i have ever stayed at in Ireland, well deserving of its five stars!! From the moment we checked in the staff could not have more helpful or friendly.

A lovely hospitable touch were the cupcakes awaiting us in our room which was clean, comfortable, and spacious. I absolutely loved the ultra modern and chic decor of both our room and the wonderful lounges, designed by Galways very own milliner to the stars Philip Treacey.

The spa facilities were astounding and as it was mid week we had the thermal suite to ourselves for a short time which was most enjoyable!!

i would definitely reccommend the pink chanpagne afternoon tea, absolutely delicious and a real treat.

we found both breakfast and dinner exceptional, again finding the staff most helpful and courtious.

hope to return sooon!!
we could even walk in and out to the city/pubs/restaurants!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeansheil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Decided to stay here on a staycation as part of our 1st anniversary.
Disaster start to finish.
Checked in on a Sunday at 4:15(pm) and our room was not available.
Told to go sit in the lounge and wait. Not offered to leave our bags and they would be brought up or refreshments.
When our room was 'ready' we were handed our keys and my pregnant wife and I dragged our bags up. No orientation of the hotel or an offer to assist with bags. (5* service???)
Our room had a strong smell of vinegar. We rang down and were told that it was just the cleaning products. We asked to be moved anyway. The cream carpet was full of stains and just looked dirty.
Keys for our new room were brought up eventually and the guy there offered to help with bags and was very nice. Our next room was an improvement - no vinegar smell.
We thought lets relax in spa but were told that would be an extra e15 each which is ridiculous for a guest of the hotel (never had to in any other hotel)
The public areas are very funky, very clean and comfortable.
We dined in the restaurant. The mains were 10/10 but the desert was shocking. It resembled a gone off muffin which we sent back. It was taken off the bill. Peppermint tea is e5 (its a tea bag not fresh peppermint). Beer is nearly cheaper!!
When we went down for breakfast we received our 1st bit of 5* treatment I thought. The duty manager greeted us, asked had we stayed before, brought us to our table and pracctically spoon fed us. Breakfast was lovely.
On check out we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay / was everything alright? We got our bill, paid and then handed in a comment card. Not heard a peep since.

The hotel is on the outskirts of galway backed on to a shopping centre and cinema.
There are no views. As a visitor to Galway I would not reccommend. There are better cheaper places to stay.
We have stayed in 5* places in Ireland and abroad, this falls well short of the mark. Its 4* at a push

Room Tip: Check the Radisson
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Most memorable hotel experience thanks to the Operations Manager Rene. Initially, my daughter and I were not impressed by Galway. The hotel is quirky, in a ugly mall, far from the city center... But, our stay at The G Hotel changed our opinion. the food is fantastic, and the service impeccable. The hotel decor will keep your eyes dashing from one sparkling fixture to another, its one of kind decor. The restaurant should have a Michelin star (there are no comparable restaurants in town). The staff -- especially Irving who is very courteous and professional. Best of all, the manager Rene Hendriks, made our stay extremely memorable and the G Hotel a place we recommend.

Room Tip: We had room 215 a water view suite, its big and recently renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shimbubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

The spa is certainly under rated and is super, intimate and stylish. The rooms and hotel are modern and very retro. ( which will date however) . The parking service is a good idea considering the location which is very strange, attached to a retail park and cinema. The staff however are vague and not very friendly. Very nice touches in the room on arrival cake etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicmedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrykeel, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed for our 30th wedding annvesary,we were up graded straight away,when we landed in our room we were giving chocolates & lovely card,the staff was brillent,our evening meal was presented with high class,had a lovely time in the spa.The decor in the hotel is so different every room is different,would go back again,really enjoyed it.Its only a walk into the city,or a short taxi drive which the hotel will order for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Rooms very disappointing for a four star, often stayed in a three star with better rooms. Breakfast was cold and was very cramped when eating, right beside two other couples. I like my space in the morning. Too far from town too. Over all very disappointed and expected more

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowdover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,820 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing