We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“G = Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“G = Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Amazing stay at this lovely hotel for our mini-honeymoon! Service, food, rooms, everything was perfect. It's a little bit out from the main city centre, but not far if you don't mind the walk in, and a taxi back is only about €8 depending on where you are coming from! The cocktails in the bar are a bit pricey, but you're paying for the decor surrounding you and the atmosphere! Lovely stay here and would love to go back (when I can afford it!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanMcArCu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your mini-honeymoon with us here in the g! It was fantastic to read that you found our service, food offerings and bedrooms to be perfect.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you both back to the g again soon. Congratulations to you both and best wishes from the entire team here at the g.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,482
    558
    323
    132
    71
See reviews for
259
1,515
34
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here as part of a Sceptre 5 star package. It wasn't 5 star on our scale. We had a party of 5 and had 3 rooms. The lobby areas were interesting in a 2005 kind of way, and the staff was wonderful. They offered great recommendations for restaurants and day trips. There is a fine aquarium in the lobby that can soothe the soul. Hallways are very dim, as part of the ambiance. Unfortunately it felt as if the hotel uses dim lighting in halls and rooms to cover worn furnishings and a light rug filled with the experiences of prior guests. We are usually pretty flexible on this stuff, but rugs and chairs were seriously stained.

If you get a bargain rate it would be OK, but I would not recommend it at premium prices. It is a 15 min walk to downtown, and we weren't sure about the neighborhood; taxies will run 12-15 Euros a ride. Free parking. Hotel overlooks a shopping mall and community college, seems to be near industrial parks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytraveler2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the g during your recent visit to Ireland. Naturally we were disappointed to read that you were not entirely impressed with the décor of the hotel. However we appreciate that your review is based on personal preference. It was lovely to read how impressed you were with our team working in the hotel. In relation to your comments regarding the maintenance of the hotel, we do have a rolling maintenance programme here in the hotel and the lounge areas of the hotel will be refurbished in the coming months. We do hope that you will consider staying in the g the next time you are visiting Ireland.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at the G in Galway for business and everything about it was great. The room was very large, with everything one could need. The breakfast was excellent, definitely get the Eggs Benedict, one of my favorites. The staff at the desk, the restaurant, and the bar were all extremely friendly and helpful. And it's close enough to walk into town when you want, but far enough that you're not staying in the city. Definitely would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbellomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you found everything to be perfect during your recent stay at the g. Our large and spacious bedrooms combined with our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s make an overnight stay at the g extra special. We have shared your wonderful comments with the entire team here in the hotel. We were all so pleased to read your wonderful review and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is an amazing hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The bedrooms are very luxurious and comfortable. The staff could not have been more friendly, efficient and helpful. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hotel and one meal was nicer than the next! The lounge area is fabulous and the interiour is amazing. We visited the thermae suite which was absolutely lovely and very relaxing. The location of the hotel is good in terms of proximity to Galway city, it's about a 20 minute walk in. However, there was no nice view from the hotel which is a pity, our room was overlooking the carpark. This is a fabulous hotel that I would definately recommend! We had a wonderful time here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh_012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We were all delighted to read the wonderful review you posted on Trip Advisor. It was fantastic to read that you found our bedrooms to be luxurious and comfortable. The entire team were thrilled to be considered friendly, efficient and helpful. It was also lovely to read that you enjoyed our menu offerings in Restaurant Gigi’s and in our Signature Lounges.
Lastly, we were so pleased you found time to visit ESPA at the g. We really do appreciate your lovely feedback and we hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the g again soon.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I love the G hotel and have stayed here many times. The interior in the hotel is beautiful, worth going to see. Service in the hotel is excellent as is the food. It is very luxurious, the breakfast is amazing. Only fault I have with it is the location there is no great view from the hotel and it is a taxi drive from town.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyM8420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for your loyal and continued custom to the g. We were all delighted to read how much you enjoyed the unique décor of the hotel as well as the level of service our ladies and gentlemen working here in the hotel provide. In relation to the location of the hotel, we are a five to ten minute journey to the city centre by car or else a fifteen to twenty minute walk.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We spent a night at the G Hotel on a girly spa break, we were so impressed with the hotel and the staff. Upon arrival they upgraded us to a fabulous suite and a short while later they sent up champagne and fresh fruit to apologise for a delay at check in.
Our suite had a huge bed, view of the lough and a wide screen tv with a comfy sofa. The bathroom was like great too, there was a stand alone bath and separate wet room.

We headed straight to the Spa, very happy with our treatments (Facial and massage) and our time in the thermal suite, very relaxing hot stone beds and pool.

That night we had a delicious meal and cocktails in the lobby people watching!
We arranged to have our breakfast served in our room which was lovely eating on our sofa, We were very impressed with Fiona at reception and Mairead and Triona many thanks for the special treat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Ave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Let us begin by thanking you for posting such a fantastic review of your recent visit to the g on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read how impressed you were with the hotel and the facilities we provide. We were also pleased to read how much you enjoyed one of our superb suites. It was lovely to read that you found time to visit ESPA at the g!
Your review really is amazing and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the g again soon. Thank you once again for such a fantastic review.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We arrived at the G after being on the road in Ireland for 5 days. We had changed hotels each day, and we didn't even think anything about this hotel other then a bed to sleep in. Boy were we pleasantly surprised!! We arrived and check in was quick and efficient. Upon checking in, we went up to our room and WOW what a great surprise. It was such a great room. My husband laid down on the bed for a second and proclaimed he didn't think he could get up it was so comfortable. I went to take a shower before heading out for dinner and I have to say it was the best shower in all of Ireland!! So spacious, and the water pressure and temp of water....I could have literally stayed in there forever. We eventually made it downstairs for a FANTASTIC meal in the restaurant which had great service. My only "complaint" if you will is the lighting in the hallways. I found it VERY hard to see and was a little uncomfortable when walking alone in the hallway. This hotel was a great place to stop if you are in Galway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g whilst touring Ireland. We were delighted to read how surprised you were by the hotel and how much you enjoyed your time with us. It really was fantastic to read how impressed you were with the bedroom. We have shared your feedback with the entire team here in the hotel and we all hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Ireland.
We genuinely do appreciate your feedback. Thank you and we hope that you had a safe trip home.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#7 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#14 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing