We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 Star Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Dublin Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not 5 Star Quality”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had a pleasant two night stay in September. Room was bright and Spotless . Shower excellent. Cupcakes in room upon arrival was a lovely touch. The 3 Lounges on Ground Floor were unique and pleasant on the eye.. Restaurant food was nice , however it was standard fare Seabass, Steak, Chicken etc. Hot Breakfast menu was better, with quality presentation (Pancakes, eggs Benedict, amongst menu.We got a Special Offer Package of E110 per night. Staff were very helpful and it was a pleasant 15minute walk to Eyre Square. Definitely a Lovely venue , but missing those 5 star elements especially on the Dinner Menu.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish-ed44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the g earlier on this month. It was lovely to read that you found your bedroom to be bright and spotlessly clean. Our showers, arrival cupcakes and Signature Lounges receive constant praise and we were so glad that you enjoyed them.
It was disappointing to read that you were not entirely impressed with your experience in Restaurant Gigis, we will be sharing your feedback with our Food & Beverage Manager, Sharon Waldron, for her to look into further. Thank you once again for your review. We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the g again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,549
    585
    338
    138
    75
See reviews for
279
1,585
37
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

i recently stayed in the G hotel for my 25th wedding ann,what a fantastic hotel to stay in.beautiful rooms comfy beds that i was actually able to sleep in.the decor of the hotel was amazing,so relaxing.brilliant staff,nothing was to much trouble.as for the food excellent.so if your in galway its the place to stay.rosanna dublin.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosanna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary with us here in the g. We were delighted to read your 5 star review of the g and to read how much you enjoyed our beds, food offerings, fantastic team and of course the décor of our Philip Treacy designed hotel.
We hope to get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the g again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night for a treat from my boyfriend. For what he paid for the deluxe room I really don't think it was worth it. The room was fine but there was hardly any toiletries and for a deluxe room where two people were staying was surprising. We went for dinner to the restaurant where the food can not be faulted but the service was terrible. They forgot about our main course so there was a long delay from the starter to the main course and then took us ages to get someone to get our bill. Overall a disappointing service and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to the g. Naturally we were upset to learn you were not entirely impressed with the bedroom you had been allocated. We do provide ample toiletries and will deliver any additional amenities required on request. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered in Restaurant Gigi’s. We will be looking into your feedback. Please let us know if you are returning to the g so we can ensure that a far superior experience awaits. Thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Had lunch with a couple of friends. A fantastic lunch venue with beautiful surroundings. Food was gorgeous, especially the carrot cake!!! But have to say. Service was quite poor. Staff not very attentive. Had to call staff for orders, desserts, bill and to pay. You would expect a hotel like the G, to have very attentive staff. But will be back, hopefully it was a once off.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ChasWestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to have lunch with us here in the g. It was lovely to read your comments about the g being a fantastic venue with beautiful surroundings. We have passed your comments about the level of service provided in our Signature Lounges onto our Food and Beverage Manager, Sharon Waldron, for her to look into further.
We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the g for lunch again soon.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Located alongside a retail park it doesnt look like an upmarket hotel as you drive towards it. Free parking is available in the basement car park and the lift is controlled by the room key to prevent non guests from wandering in off the street.

Checkin was quick and efficient. The decor was a little colourful for our tastes. The lighting in the bedroom cooridoors is projected from the base of the walls and was a little gloomy. Get rid of the emergency exit signs and and a few cobwebs and you're set for halloween.

The room was spacious and clean. Water had been placed in the mini fridge to chill and a pair of cupcakes were waiting on the table in the room. A turn down service offered additional bottles of water each evening. The wifi was fast and the connection strong on several devices from the room. The bed was large but slightly softer than I am used to.

We ate one evening meal in the restaurant. We found the staff friendly and professional but the service was on the slow slide - there were a lot of guests in the restaurant that evening. After a mediocre starter the mains were excellent as were the desserts.

Breakfast in the morning was a continental buffet with several cooked to order options. I found the full irish breakfasts to be good but my wife, a vegetarian, was less impressed. A flat and uninspiring veggie omlette was found to have some ham in it and the pancakes on the second day were very sweet to her tastes.

Location wise, it is about a 2km walk into the city centre from the hotel which we made and didnt find a problem distance wise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medic143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the g on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read that you found the hotel to be secure and our check-in to be efficient. Our Philip Treacy hotel is very special to us all here and we were pleased you enjoyed the décor of the hotel.
We were also pleased to read that you enjoyed the comfort and amenities of your bedroom. It was also lovely to read that you found the team to be professional. We will be sharing your feedback regarding your dining experience with our Food and Beverage Manager, Sharon Waldron, for her to look into further.
We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure that your next stay is a superior experience.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Amazing stay at this lovely hotel for our mini-honeymoon! Service, food, rooms, everything was perfect. It's a little bit out from the main city centre, but not far if you don't mind the walk in, and a taxi back is only about €8 depending on where you are coming from! The cocktails in the bar are a bit pricey, but you're paying for the decor surrounding you and the atmosphere! Lovely stay here and would love to go back (when I can afford it!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanMcArCu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your mini-honeymoon with us here in the g! It was fantastic to read that you found our service, food offerings and bedrooms to be perfect.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you both back to the g again soon. Congratulations to you both and best wishes from the entire team here at the g.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here as part of a Sceptre 5 star package. It wasn't 5 star on our scale. We had a party of 5 and had 3 rooms. The lobby areas were interesting in a 2005 kind of way, and the staff was wonderful. They offered great recommendations for restaurants and day trips. There is a fine aquarium in the lobby that can soothe the soul. Hallways are very dim, as part of the ambiance. Unfortunately it felt as if the hotel uses dim lighting in halls and rooms to cover worn furnishings and a light rug filled with the experiences of prior guests. We are usually pretty flexible on this stuff, but rugs and chairs were seriously stained.

If you get a bargain rate it would be OK, but I would not recommend it at premium prices. It is a 15 min walk to downtown, and we weren't sure about the neighborhood; taxies will run 12-15 Euros a ride. Free parking. Hotel overlooks a shopping mall and community college, seems to be near industrial parks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytraveler2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the g during your recent visit to Ireland. Naturally we were disappointed to read that you were not entirely impressed with the décor of the hotel. However we appreciate that your review is based on personal preference. It was lovely to read how impressed you were with our team working in the hotel. In relation to your comments regarding the maintenance of the hotel, we do have a rolling maintenance programme here in the hotel and the lounge areas of the hotel will be refurbished in the coming months. We do hope that you will consider staying in the g the next time you are visiting Ireland.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,922 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing