We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Longford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have stayed in the g several times but have never written a review until now as someone who does really enjoy a ''staycation'' I think it is important to to let businesses know when they are getting thing right.
I always love staying here the staff are professional without being standoffish the food is very nice and and the compitant bar service is something I always appreciate .
Keep it up .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to the g. It is so rewarding for us to read that you have stayed many times and that you will continue to stay with us. Our ladies and gentlemen working in the hotel were delighted to be considered professional and we have also shared your kind comments about our menu offerings with our Head Chef, Pauline, and her team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,510
    568
    329
    133
    74
See reviews for
266
1,543
35
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel looks fantastic but is not child friendly.
We drove for 3 hours to get there and the kids slept for most of the journey. After checking 8.30pm we went to the lobby for awhile to have a look around. We didn't go to the bar as it was busy and we had our kids with us. The waiter refused to serve us some minerals as we had our kids with us. We told him we were residents but that made no difference. So 10 minutes after arriving we had to go back to our room. I can understand not serving us in the bar but we were in the lobby and were the only people there.
Next day we went to go to what we thought was a swimming pool but turned out it was just a splash pool and no children allowed.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank nbjewellerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Naturally we were disappointed to read that you did not find the hotel to be family friendly. We really do look after our younger guests here. We have special interconnecting family bedrooms and every child receives a welcome amenity. We even have little surprises left in the bedroom for our younger guests.
We do not have a swimming pool in the hotel and we do not advertise that we do. We are very clear about this at the reservation stage as well in the subsequent confirmation emails that we send.
We will look into your feedback regarding not been able to get service in the lounge. As a resident of the hotel you can still enjoy a meal with your family. We will look through our booking sheets to see when your reservation was entered.
Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings you experienced but we do need to stress that we really do look after our younger guests and families here in the g.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenderry, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I booked a stay in the hotel as a xmas present for my girlfriend. We had to change the date and dealt with a manager called molly jordan. This woman is a credit to the hospitality industry and made everything so easy and stress free. Our stay in the hotel was top class from the food to the cocktails to the room. Can't wait to go back for a longer visit.
David Reynolds

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing a stay at the g as a Christmas gift for your partner. Molly was delighted to assist you and to be mentioned in your review. It was also lovely to read that you found the hotel to be top class and that you enjoyed our Cocktail selection.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the g again soon. Please let us know if there is anything that we can do to ensure your next visit is as flawless an experience.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in the G for a weekend recently. We had received a voucher as a Christmas present. The room was lovely and the staff very helpful and pleasant. We had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday night which was a bit of a disappointment. The restaurant was packed and the food was slow, with long delays between courses. The food quality was OK, but not good value for the prices charged.
One point of note that we were disappointed with, was the €10 extra charge to use the thermal suite in the spa. There is no swimming pool in the hotel and I would have expected that use of the sauna/spa would be free to guests.I felt that this was an unneccessary charge and it felt like a bit of a rip off.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel with a view of the hotel boiler. Ask for room facing the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent stay at the g on Trip Advisor. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed the bedroom you were allocated and found our team to be helpful and pleasant. It was disappointing to read that you were not impressed with your dining experience in Restaurant Gigi’s. We will be sharing this feedback with our Food & Beverage team to look into further.
Many of our packages and vouchers include thermal suite access. If this service is not included in your package a charge of €10 per resident per visit applies. We keep numbers to a minimum in the thermal suite so our guests can enjoy the facility in comfort and privacy. Due to this a supplement applies when thermal suite access is not included in the package.
We hope that we have addressed your concerns and that you will consider staying in the g the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gort
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

This is the coolest and most glamorous hotel in galway, the staff treat you like royalty, the food is gorgeous and so are the cocktails. Our room was fab we booked a junior suite and it had a gas fire, a big velvet comfy couch and a huge bed. The bathroom had a massive double shower that was so powerful it felt like a massage and the bath omg! Free standing bath with a tv on the wall right in front of it and big fluffy bathrobes waiting when you get it. The decor in the hotel is stunning all around and it is so relaxing, can't recommend it enough, will def be back, 5 stars all the way.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,
It was fantastic to read that you found the g to be both cool and glamorous. Our ladies and gentlemen working here in the g were so pleased to be mentioned in your review. Our menu offerings and cocktails receive constant praise and we were so pleased to read that you enjoyed them both. Our Junior Suites make any stay at the g extra special and the features which you have mentioned make them excellent value for money.
Thank you for recommending the g and most importantly we are looking forward to welcoming you back to us again soon.
Please let us know if we can do anything to make your next stay as memorable an occasion.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last year for his birthday. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to hear that we had been upgraded to a junior suite which was spacious and fabulous. I had mentioned in an email that it was my husbands birthday and he received a birthday card and complimentary buns which we're waiting for him in the room.

We decided to eat in the hotel that night and we weren't disappointed with the standard and quality of the food and service. The hotel is extremely modern and the facilities within the room were finished to a very high standard. In fact I felt it was the best shower that I had ever been in. Unfortunately we didn't get to use the spa area as I was pregnant at the time and did not feel like it. We will definitely be going again. The only thing I can fault was the cost of the stay. It was definitely a treat for us and not something we could afford to do on a more regular basis unfortunately. Although since staying there I now receive regular emails with great offers and deals which we intend to use when we can find a babysitter.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Redjed66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the g as the destination to celebrate your partner’s birthday. We always endeavor to make a special occasion as memorable as possible and it was lovely to read that we were able to look after you both so well. It was also lovely to read how much you enjoyed our bedrooms and menu offerings and level of service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the g again so you can experience our wonderful Spa, ESPA at the g, firsthand. Please let us know if we can assist in making your next stay as special as the last one.
Best wishes to you and your family,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I have luckily stayed in the G four times since they opened 8 years ago. However it has been 3 years since we were there last and we were nervous that standards might have slipped. That was not the case. Hotel is well maintained, staff were friendly and the spa was beautiful. One of the best 5 star hotels in Ireland.

We stayed in a Junior suite this time but wouldn't bother upgrading next time, the standard rooms are lovely. We weren't impressed with the food, especially the desserts and pastries. It was all very average, not 5 star standard. Luckily Galway has loads of restaurants! Loved the spa, Espa treatments are worth the money and the staff are very professional.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jencal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for becoming a loyal and return guest to the g. It was lovely to read that you have visited us four times since 2008. We were so pleased to see that you consider the g to be one of the best five star hotels in Ireland. We have a broad range of bedroom categories and as you have mentioned our standard rooms, the Superior category, are still beautiful. Naturally we were disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with our desserts and pastry offerings and we have shared this feedback with our Head Chef, Pauline.
Thank you once again for such a lovely review and we hope to welcome you back for the fifth time again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,923 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing