We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top class!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just back from 2 nights in the G. Highly recommended. Staff are fantastic. Atmosphere is relaxed. Sweet treats are fantastic. Room was big and free bottled water every morning. Just wish we had stayed for a third night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback from your recent visit to the g on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read that you found our ladies and gentlemen working in the g to be fantastic. It was so rewarding to read that you wished you could have extended your stay.
Please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure that your next visit to the g is as memorable a stay.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,548
    584
    338
    138
    75
See reviews for
279
1,585
36
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I loved my stay here in the lovely city of Galway. The g Hotel is about a fifteen minute walk from the centre of Galway or five minutes in a taxi. My stay was amazing and I could have stayed in the hotel room all day. The bed was so big and comfy and the bathroom was just amazing with the best bath ever.

We stayed for four nights and ate there quite regularly. I loved the funky reception rooms. Food in these is nice and not nearly expensive as the restaurant. The restaurant was lovely also but was very expensive, we only went once! The breakfasts were lovely with a great selection and the staff were friendly. Cocktails at the bar are excellent but very expensive also.

Only real bad thing is the location and we had no view of the bay from our room, just of the big Pets at Home across the car park. If you are wanting luxury and not a view go here. Also I had a facial in the spa which was very nice.

Room Tip: Try and see if you can get one at the front with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. We were delighted to read that you had an amazing stay and that you enjoyed the comfort of your bedroom and bathroom. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed the unique décor of our Signature Lounges. We have recently launched a brand new menu in our Restaurant. The new menu offers a four course a la carte option for a total of €55 per person. We feel that this is fantastic value for the menu and level of service we provide. We also have a dining at dusk or early dinning option available for €36.50 for three courses. This option offers superb value between the hours of 6pm and 7pm throughout the week.
Lastly, Many of our Deluxe bedrooms and all of our Suites boast views of Lough Atalia which forms part of Galway Bay. We really do hope to get to welcome you back to us again soon so you can sample our new menu and of course visit ESPA at the g once again.
Thank you for your review we greatly appreciate your time.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I Stayed here for our honeymoon and was blown away.

Rooms are beautiful, hotel decor is quirky and fun, food delicious, service friendly yet professional and the spa is luxurious.

Looking forward to celebrating an anniversary here hopefully soon!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank corrinaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon with us here in the g. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed the décor and ambiance of the hotel as well as our bedrooms and menu offerings. ESPA at the g is an experience not to be missed and it was fantastic to read that you both found time to visit our award winning Spa.
Congratulations on your recent wedding and we look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I recently attended a wedding at the G Hotel, having travelled from Boston. On the day of the wedding, I became violently ill and had to return to my room.

The staff constantly checked with the guests as to how I was doing. They sent Tea, Toast and Water to my room. They offered to recreate the wedding meal for me. They took my clothes, washed, folded and returned them to me within an hour.

Due to my work, I travel a lot and have stayed at many hotels. I cannot say enough good things about the service and hospitality I received at the G Hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody.

Elizabeth

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EILIS1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the g on Trip Advisor. Naturally we were upset to read that you became ill prior to your arrival at the hotel. It was most rewarding to read how well our team took care of your during your stay. We greatly appreciate the time and effort you put into writing this review.
We hope that you have had a quick recovery and we look forward to welcoming you back to the g again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have stayed in the g several times but have never written a review until now as someone who does really enjoy a ''staycation'' I think it is important to to let businesses know when they are getting thing right.
I always love staying here the staff are professional without being standoffish the food is very nice and and the compitant bar service is something I always appreciate .
Keep it up .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to the g. It is so rewarding for us to read that you have stayed many times and that you will continue to stay with us. Our ladies and gentlemen working in the hotel were delighted to be considered professional and we have also shared your kind comments about our menu offerings with our Head Chef, Pauline, and her team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel looks fantastic but is not child friendly.
We drove for 3 hours to get there and the kids slept for most of the journey. After checking 8.30pm we went to the lobby for awhile to have a look around. We didn't go to the bar as it was busy and we had our kids with us. The waiter refused to serve us some minerals as we had our kids with us. We told him we were residents but that made no difference. So 10 minutes after arriving we had to go back to our room. I can understand not serving us in the bar but we were in the lobby and were the only people there.
Next day we went to go to what we thought was a swimming pool but turned out it was just a splash pool and no children allowed.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank nbjewellerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Naturally we were disappointed to read that you did not find the hotel to be family friendly. We really do look after our younger guests here. We have special interconnecting family bedrooms and every child receives a welcome amenity. We even have little surprises left in the bedroom for our younger guests.
We do not have a swimming pool in the hotel and we do not advertise that we do. We are very clear about this at the reservation stage as well in the subsequent confirmation emails that we send.
We will look into your feedback regarding not been able to get service in the lounge. As a resident of the hotel you can still enjoy a meal with your family. We will look through our booking sheets to see when your reservation was entered.
Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings you experienced but we do need to stress that we really do look after our younger guests and families here in the g.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenderry, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I booked a stay in the hotel as a xmas present for my girlfriend. We had to change the date and dealt with a manager called molly jordan. This woman is a credit to the hospitality industry and made everything so easy and stress free. Our stay in the hotel was top class from the food to the cocktails to the room. Can't wait to go back for a longer visit.
David Reynolds

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing a stay at the g as a Christmas gift for your partner. Molly was delighted to assist you and to be mentioned in your review. It was also lovely to read that you found the hotel to be top class and that you enjoyed our Cocktail selection.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the g again soon. Please let us know if there is anything that we can do to ensure your next visit is as flawless an experience.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,701 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,166 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,921 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing